We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B
Ranked #3 of 16 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This wonderfully peaceful haven was our home for 3 days. We arrived to a warm welcome and things just got better. Marilyn and David have done their homework and got it right! Top marks for the hospitality, friendliness, beautifully appointed rooms, delicious breakfasts, and attentiveness. We had a very enjoyable stay and will be returning soon. Many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
102
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Fabulous B&B set in a scenic paradise. The rooms were excellent, incredibly comfortable and service was second to none. Our hosts were incredibly friendly and the food was truly wonderful- the homemade jams in particular were outstanding. I would recommend it without hesitation and hope to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatjana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you can find it, this is a very pleasant B&B with friendly owners. The 6 foot bed is a bonus and the breakfast was of high quality. You just hope that you so not meet any other cars on the tiny access roads.

Room Tip: Only two rooms, both the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alders13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We lucked out when we found this B&B. location was fabulous, breakfast was delicious and hosts Dave and Marilyn were tops. We had fresh baked bread all 3 days with a full breakfast including homemade jams and Dave's award winning marmalade.the eggs were fresh from their own chickens. Marilyn and Dave gave us excellent tips on places to visit and to eat. - even loaning us detailed maps. We have stayed at many B&B's in many countries over the years and only a handful are as memorable as Pla Efenechtyd Cottage. Helen & Graeme - Canada

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very happy to write a positive review of this lovely house and it's owners, Dave and Marilyn. We were welcomed on arrival by tea and biscuits while they got our room ready ( slight hiccup with bookings but it didn't spoil anything). We were really pleased with the cosy, elegant and comfortable room, with a well stocked tray, and modern bathroom complete with lovely views of the garden and countryside. They keep their own hens, and the breakfast included eggs from these, and homemade bread and jam. There is plenty of information on the area available and also books,and DVDs to play in your room if you should wish. The area is beautiful, and Ruthin has some nice shops and interesting buildings to explore. We particularly liked Nantclwyd. There is a nice pub locally with good pub food, The Cross Keys, and lots of restaurants in Ruthin. We didn't ty these, but we did try cakes at Annie's teashop which are fabulous!! We would be very happy to return here to explore the area more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodelwyddan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a delightful stay we had at this wonderful B&B run by the extremely hospitable, Dave & Marilyn!!! The cottage was gorgeous in such a beautiful, peaceful area - loved all the decor from so many different countries inside, and outside - not only is the cottage lovely, but the views are stunning! Everything was immaculate and we absolutely loved our room. There was a great variety of books and DVDs to chose from, and a wonderful refreshments tray greeted us as we arrived to our room. Breakfast the next morning was spectacular - such a huge range of amazing foods to choose from, and the portions were very generous (and they were willing to cater to all dietary needs). Dave & Marilyn were extremely friendly, fun, and helpful with suggestions on places to see in northern Wales based on what anyone had interests in or wanted to do. We would definitely recommend this amazing B&B to everyone, and will be telling all of our friends about it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtworkbyJeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Plas Efenechyd is a peaceful cottage in a great location, with fantastic views. Excellent breakfast with homemade bread and jam and the eggs from their own hens. Lovely comfortable, clean, warm rooms. Marilyn and Dave are great hosts and gave us good info on places to visit during our stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
1.7 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
1.8 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
23.9 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
8.8 mi away
Pistyll Farmhouse Country House
11.0 mi away
Cornerstones Guesthouse
Cornerstones Guesthouse
#2 of 28 in Llangollen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B

Property: Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B
Address: Efenechtyd, Ruthin LL15 2LP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the beautiful Vale of Efenechtyd, this 4 star B&B is an ideal base for exploring North Wales. Enjoy a hearty breakfast with homemade bread and locally sourced produce including eggs from our own free range hens. Our two en-suite rooms have stunning views of the Clwydian Range and we are just two miles from the medieval town of Ruthin where you’ll find a wide choice of great pubs, restaurants and independent shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B Ruthin, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing