We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay in the 'soft' rain of Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B
Ranked #5 of 15 Ruthin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The welcome, hospitality and local knowledge of our hosts Dave & Marilyn made our 3 day stay in North Wales so enjoyable despite the intermittent rain. Comfortable bedroom and excellent breakfast. Nearby Ruthin is a gem of a small Welsh hill top town with excellent food shops, a good restaurant and the oldest townhouse in Wales to explore. A really good base to visit many of the points of interest in North Wales. Would certainly recommend for anyone looking for a B&B in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 174 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

Plas Efenechtyd is a beautiful farm house tucked away in the welsh countryside.
Our hosts, Dave and Marilyn couldn't of been more friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was beautifully presented and immaculatly clean, with great attention to detail which gave a luxurious feel. And as for the breakfast? What could be better then the freshest of eggs kindly produced by the resident hens!
The views were outstanding and you really felt like you were miles from anywhere, though the pretty town of Ruthin was a short 5-10min drive away.
I would, without doubt recommend this B&B, and hope to visit again in the not too distant future. Thank you Dave and Marilyn!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire_Marlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Dave and Marilyn's warm welcome was the beginning of a thoroughly enjoyable three days. Plas Efenechtyd is tucked away on a peaceful hillside with lovely views of the Clwydian range. It's a small period house with lots of charm, decorated in restful colours, with comfortable bedrooms and smart en-suite bathrooms. Although utterly quiet, it's only two miles from Ruthin, a historic small town with excellent facilities, including two restaurants which we would also recommend: Manorhaus and On the Hill. There's plenty to do in the area. After a day out and about, it was lovely to return to the garden with its chuckling chickens and rest on comfortable sofas in the summer house. The perfect peace was only broken by the sudden arrival of Kevin the pheasant and his entourage. Breakfasts are excellent, with everything you could wish for, and the dining room looks out on the garden, where, just a few yards away, a woodpecker was breakfasting too on the bird feeder. A little piece of utter tranquillity to which we look forward to returning. Thank you, Marilyn and Dave, for sharing this lovely place with us.

Room Tip: We are sure that any of the three rooms would be lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger_and_Rosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This lovely B&B feels perfectly secluded and is surrounded by beautiful rolling hills but is also only 5-10 minutes drive away from Ruthin with several choices for a good dinner.

Our hosts were friendly, made us feel at ease and provided suggestions of places we could visit that were spot-on. They were happy to help in any way they could and it was a real pleasure chatting with them.

The room and bathroom were spacious, beautifully decorated and spotless.

The breakfast room had a communal table (which some people may not like) but we loved being able to watch the woodpeckers feed right in front of the window. Breakfast was wonderful with homemade bread and jam, fresh fruits, cereal and full english breakfast.

We loved the charming cottage, the beautiful setting and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flora N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

A warm welcome awaits from Dave and Marylin (and Molly the cat - and assorted chickens). Rooms are comfortable and well equipped. Mein hosts were quite happy to recommend places to eat or visit - useful if you don't know the area. Breakfasts include freshly laid eggs and home made jams. Not easy to find but worth the effort. The Cross Keys does good standard pub food, even if the portions are a bit challenging. For a (pricey) blowout try the restaurant meals in the Ruthin Castel hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanb2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

From the moment we arrived Dave and Marilyn ensured that our stay in their home was everything we could want. Our room with lovely views of the garden and the Welsh hills beyond was very comfortable with a good bathroom . We were woken from a peaceful night's sleep by the smell of homemade bread drifting up the stairs. Breakfast was excellent with a good range of fresh and homemade local produce. We wished we could have stayed longer but will certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My partner and I have just spent a wonderful weekend at Plas Efenechtyd. The cottage is beautiful and in a fabulous location. Our room was small but well equipped and very clean. The only downside, for us, was the communal breakfasting arrangements. We like to take our time over breakfast in a private, comfortable atmosphere and are not keen on being 'thrust' upon strangers first thing in the morning. Although our fellow guests were chatty, we prefer to be on our own at breakfast. Had we known in advance about the breakfast arrangements, we would have booked alternative accommodation. The dining room is easily large enough to accommodate 4 or 5 smaller tables.

On the plus side, Dave and Marilyn were the perfect hosts - warm and welcoming and very knowledgeable with regard to the local area and facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaynor139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruthin hotels
1.6 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Manorhaus Ruthin
Manorhaus Ruthin
#4 of 15 in Ruthin
389 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
393 reviews
0 mi away
Ty Derw Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B

Address: Efenechtyd, Ruthin LL15 2LP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ruthin
Price Range: $101 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Vale of Clwyd, this 4 star B&B lies in the heart of rural North East Wales. We are proud of our hearty breakfasts which feature homemade bread, homemade jams and award winning marmalades and locally sourced produce. There are two en-suite rooms with views over the local countryside and beyond. One room can be made up with twin beds or as a double. The other is a double. Each room has TV, tea and coffee making facilities and really comfy beds. There is also free WIFI throughout the house. We are tucked away down a narrow lane just two miles from the medieval town of Ruthin. There you’ll find a wide choice of great pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Tranquility, great views and great value: you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B Ruthin, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing