We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Distinctly Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holt Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holt Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holt
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Distinctly Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

Stayed at the hotel in June 2009. Overall the hotel was comfortable, and the communal areas and restaurant area were most pleasent; however I found the service to be a little lacking. Whilst I was checking in I found the member of staff slightly rude and arrogant. We waited approx 45/50 minutes for some light snacks to arrive in the lounge/cafe area. Had to wait 10 minutes when checking out as there was noone at the reception desk.

The rooms are slightly dated, bathrooms in particular, but the bed was comfortable. The website claims there is satellite TV in the rooms, but this is not the case. Only freeview channels were available.

Be incredibly careful on the driveway up to the hotel carpark, there are several large potholes that could cause damage to your car.

The hotel website is good, with lots of useful information, and the free wifi (excellent coverage) is a major plus.

I later discovered that I had been charged the standard room rate, rather than the agreed rate discussed on the telephone when booking. I have stayed in many other hotels, with significantly better facilities, .

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amarshall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    92
    56
    16
    25
See reviews for
99
98
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2008

This hotel was alright for one night but i wouldn't want to stay here for any longer. The room was alright but not as nice as i thought they should be compared to the elegant restaurant and nice lobby. The hotel did have a computer so we were able to send out e-mails which was nice. The juice from the juice bar was so bitter i almost gagged.

  • Liked — internet access
  • Disliked — rooms were a little run down
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank troopergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2005

Myself and my husband had originally booked to stay at Llwynn Onn Hall Hotel on the outskirts of Wrexham, this Hotel is a former manor house with the character that goes along with it. We had stayed there previously and really liked the Hotel and the grounds and setting. Unfortunately, the Hotel contacted us prior to our stay to inform us that as they had building work going on, it would be best if we re-located elsewhere. So we ended up at Holt Lodge Hotel.
On the plus side the food was excellent - reasonably priced for a Hotel, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Compared to the hotel we had originally booked, Holt Lodge was (at least to us) a very modern hotel but reasonably clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a romantic setting with fabulous grounds and period features, this hotel would not be for you. It was, however, clean and comfortable - our room was, however, a little dated in decor for such a modern hotel.
Now the big question - would we go again - NO. This is not a reflection on the Hotel itself, merely a personal view, because we felt for the price we paid to stay Holt Lodge we could have had a much more luxurious Hotel, in a better setting.
In our opinion we would have had a similiar room/service if we had stayed in a Travellodge (no disrespect to them)! The only other negative comment - NO ROOM SERVICE - despite brochure in room stating otherwise. OK for an overnight stay - but wouldn't recommend for a weekend away - sorry!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pumphrey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2005

Had a one night stay here recently and found it very pleasant. Situated just outside the market town of Wrexham and very well located for trips around the Cheshire countryside and City of Chester. Very helpful and attentive staff, who were well trained in their jobs. The hotel has a great atmosphere with log fires, pleasant lounges and a well stocked bar. The contemporary restaurant is pleasing to the eye and there was plenty of choice. We did not dine, but the full Welsh breakfast was one of the best we have had. Rooms were a little disappointing, we chose a luxury room with spa bath and a four poster. The room was small and the bed looked out of place, bathroom needed a bit of touching up here and there and the spa bath was not as you would expect in a Luxury room! Suffice to say there were no luxury extras, such as bathrobes etc. Would definately stay there again, but would not go to the expense of the luxury room. In a countryside location with ample parking, close to golf and horseriding, with many delightful country pubs to visit.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEEMILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2005

My partner and I recently stayed at the holt lodge, and had a fantastic stay. The food was very excellent a wide variety of choice, and very reasonable on price.

The room was very comfortable and clean, a very high standard.

The restaurant staff very were attentive and met our needs, and the hospitality was fantastic.

Its a good location, with lots of great days out nearby.

We would definitely return and recommend our friends.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2004

We stay here regularly when we come up to Wrexham to visit my grandparents. It is really friendly and everyone is helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean (although the rooms in the newly refurbished part of the hotel at the back seem to be of a slightly higher standard).

It is not far from Wrexham itself but at the same time you are surrounded by rural views. The food is lovely - only had one incident when my grandparents found the lamb too tough, but the waitress was lovely and very understanding, the chef prepared them something else in double quick time and they didnt charge us for their meals.

You will need transport to get to and from the hotel, although you can always call a taxi. There are many places to see and i would recommend Llangollen and the Horse Shoe Pass. If you get the chance and dont mind a couple of hours in a car - Anglesey is lovely too.

Helpful?
4 Thank Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2004

I recently had a graduation party at the Holt Lodge Hotel. Firstly a meal in the restaurant (rafters) and then we all (24) stopped in the accommodation. The meal was superb, the rooms extremely comfortable and the hospitality and service excellent. My guests and I will remember that night for years. It is so unusual to find a hotel that can provide an alround superb facility!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holt
4.0 mi away
The Lemon Tree Restaurant with Rooms
4.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#3 of 10 in Wrexham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rossett Hall Hotel
Rossett Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham North (A483) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham Town Centre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holt Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holt Lodge Hotel

Property: Holt Lodge Hotel
Address: Wrexham Road, Holt, Wrexham LL13 9SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham > Holt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holt Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into our world, where everything we do revolves around you..... Attentive from the moment of first contact; we strive to ensure your every need is met and make it our business to see you are happy and comfortable and it's this attention to detail; our willingness to do just that little bit more, that makes us so different to other hotels in the Wrexham area. Make Holt Lodge your sanctuary to return to after a busy day's work; shopping or sightseeing; take the weight off your feet and snuggle into our big comfy sofas. Perhaps enjoy a refreshing pick-me-up, whilst pondering later dining plans. Whether for business or pleasure; for the day; one night or several, our brief remains constant - it's all about you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holt Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Holt
Holt Lodge Hotel Wrexham County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing