We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Hotel”
Review of Holt Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holt Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holt
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mediocre Hotel”
Reviewed February 22, 2008

This hotel was alright for one night but i wouldn't want to stay here for any longer. The room was alright but not as nice as i thought they should be compared to the elegant restaurant and nice lobby. The hotel did have a computer so we were able to send out e-mails which was nice. The juice from the juice bar was so bitter i almost gagged.

  • Liked — internet access
  • Disliked — rooms were a little run down
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank troopergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    97
    59
    17
    26
See reviews for
104
105
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2005

Myself and my husband had originally booked to stay at Llwynn Onn Hall Hotel on the outskirts of Wrexham, this Hotel is a former manor house with the character that goes along with it. We had stayed there previously and really liked the Hotel and the grounds and setting. Unfortunately, the Hotel contacted us prior to our stay to inform us that as they had building work going on, it would be best if we re-located elsewhere. So we ended up at Holt Lodge Hotel.
On the plus side the food was excellent - reasonably priced for a Hotel, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Compared to the hotel we had originally booked, Holt Lodge was (at least to us) a very modern hotel but reasonably clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a romantic setting with fabulous grounds and period features, this hotel would not be for you. It was, however, clean and comfortable - our room was, however, a little dated in decor for such a modern hotel.
Now the big question - would we go again - NO. This is not a reflection on the Hotel itself, merely a personal view, because we felt for the price we paid to stay Holt Lodge we could have had a much more luxurious Hotel, in a better setting.
In our opinion we would have had a similiar room/service if we had stayed in a Travellodge (no disrespect to them)! The only other negative comment - NO ROOM SERVICE - despite brochure in room stating otherwise. OK for an overnight stay - but wouldn't recommend for a weekend away - sorry!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumphrey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2005

Had a one night stay here recently and found it very pleasant. Situated just outside the market town of Wrexham and very well located for trips around the Cheshire countryside and City of Chester. Very helpful and attentive staff, who were well trained in their jobs. The hotel has a great atmosphere with log fires, pleasant lounges and a well stocked bar. The contemporary restaurant is pleasing to the eye and there was plenty of choice. We did not dine, but the full Welsh breakfast was one of the best we have had. Rooms were a little disappointing, we chose a luxury room with spa bath and a four poster. The room was small and the bed looked out of place, bathroom needed a bit of touching up here and there and the spa bath was not as you would expect in a Luxury room! Suffice to say there were no luxury extras, such as bathrobes etc. Would definately stay there again, but would not go to the expense of the luxury room. In a countryside location with ample parking, close to golf and horseriding, with many delightful country pubs to visit.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEEMILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 14, 2005

My partner and I recently stayed at the holt lodge, and had a fantastic stay. The food was very excellent a wide variety of choice, and very reasonable on price.

The room was very comfortable and clean, a very high standard.

The restaurant staff very were attentive and met our needs, and the hospitality was fantastic.

Its a good location, with lots of great days out nearby.

We would definitely return and recommend our friends.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2004

We stay here regularly when we come up to Wrexham to visit my grandparents. It is really friendly and everyone is helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean (although the rooms in the newly refurbished part of the hotel at the back seem to be of a slightly higher standard).

It is not far from Wrexham itself but at the same time you are surrounded by rural views. The food is lovely - only had one incident when my grandparents found the lamb too tough, but the waitress was lovely and very understanding, the chef prepared them something else in double quick time and they didnt charge us for their meals.

You will need transport to get to and from the hotel, although you can always call a taxi. There are many places to see and i would recommend Llangollen and the Horse Shoe Pass. If you get the chance and dont mind a couple of hours in a car - Anglesey is lovely too.

Helpful?
4 Thank Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 18, 2004

I recently had a graduation party at the Holt Lodge Hotel. Firstly a meal in the restaurant (rafters) and then we all (24) stopped in the accommodation. The meal was superb, the rooms extremely comfortable and the hospitality and service excellent. My guests and I will remember that night for years. It is so unusual to find a hotel that can provide an alround superb facility!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2003

My husband and I went to the Holt Lodge for our wedding anniversary as I had heard that the food was excellent. They do a special weekend break - £70 per person for a two night stay with dinner, bed and breakfast.The food did not disappoint! There was an excellent choice, superbly cooked and served. The decor is very tasteful and there is a comfortable lounge you can relax in after.All in all this is fantastic value for the standard of the food. The public areas of the hotel are very tastefully done and the rooms are fine - pretty standard for that class of hotel. There is also much more to do in and around Wrexham than you might think.I would definately recommend this hotel for the food and the relaxed, welcoming and individual atmosphere.

Helpful?
3 Thank asg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holt
3.3 mi away
The Lemon Tree Restaurant with Rooms
4.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
Ramada Plaza Wrexham
#3 of 10 in Wrexham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rossett Hall Hotel
Rossett Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham Town Centre Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Wrexham North (A483) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holt Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holt Lodge Hotel

Property: Holt Lodge Hotel
Address: Wrexham Road, Holt, Wrexham LL13 9SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham > Holt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holt Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into our world, where everything we do revolves around you..... Attentive from the moment of first contact; we strive to ensure your every need is met and make it our business to see you are happy and comfortable and it's this attention to detail; our willingness to do just that little bit more, that makes us so different to other hotels in the Wrexham area. Make Holt Lodge your sanctuary to return to after a busy day's work; shopping or sightseeing; take the weight off your feet and snuggle into our big comfy sofas. Perhaps enjoy a refreshing pick-me-up, whilst pondering later dining plans. Whether for business or pleasure; for the day; one night or several, our brief remains constant - it's all about you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holt Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Holt
Holt Lodge Hotel Wrexham County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing