We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty”
Review of Anchorage Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Visited the restaurant a few days ago having been recommended to us by the local campsite owner. The service was excellent and the staff were very helpful! Food was a good price for what it was-tasty and generous portion sizes! And it was piping hot. The menu offers a variety of options to suit all tasteboods from jacket potatoes to rost beef!

If I was back in the area I would visit again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank student987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    44
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
41
28
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Lake, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

A welcome rest after a day's walk on the Anglesey Coastal Path. The room was not large, but it was comfortable and well equipped, and the food was outstanding! The staff were pleasant and friendly. I would recommend this to anyone who needs a convenient place to stay while walking the coastal path, or just for a getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAWolcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here prior to our ferry and we always ask for Room 3 which is very spacious and clean and this time it has had a refurb. Beautiful. We stay with our dog as the hotel is pet friendly. Every possible amenity in this hotel and so clean and welcoming. Breakfast in the morning was first class and the service was very prompt. We loved it so much we didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 3 but we have stayed in the annexe which was just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargoG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I can't imagine many pubs on a Saturday evening over a busy Bank Holiday Weekend managing to serve 26 unexpected and very wet, very hungry people with food. The welcoming staff in the Anchorage took everything in their stride and produced some excellent meals. We reluctantly left the shelter of the Anchorage to return to our soggy campsite well fed, refreshed, and grateful for the hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I used to come here years ago with family and loved it. Today I was really looking forward to our meal but was disappointed. The range on the bar menu has drastically reduced and the food quality is basic pub grub - not reflected in the price we paid!!
On a brighter note the staff were very efficient and friendly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

For Coastal Path walkers, this hotel is a little ways off the path, but within reasonable walking distance. I stayed in room 5 for one evening. The check-in staff was very friendly. The room was decent sized, facing the front towards the road, though there wasn't much traffic noise at night to speak of. The bathroom is fitted decently with good water pressure and temp. Wifi access was simply good, but slow to load at times. Breakfast was well prepared and filling. Would like to stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Get the Welsh Beef burger in the restaurant. Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blushift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Called on speck due to our pre booked accommodation being unsatisfactory, this place saved our holiday. The owner was welcoming and the room in the annexe, t was a good size and comfortable if a little dated but at a fair price! We did not use the a la carte dining room, but were told by other guests that the food was good. We chose to dine in the pub dining area. There was a varied menu, the food was good with decent portions, and the service was really good bearing in mind how busy and vibrant the place was with tourists and locals on a sunny weekend,. Breakfasts in the dining room were very good..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christopher b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valley
1.6 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
616 reviews
13.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
309 reviews
13.2 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
20.5 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
699 reviews
18.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Property: Anchorage Hotel
Address: Four Mile Bridge, Valley, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel Valley, Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing