We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistantly good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anchorage Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valley
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Consistantly good food”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This has been a regular place to eat for my family over the years and again the bar food did not disappoint. It is a well-run, family owned business, who pride themselves on the service.

The service was quick the food was good. There was no problem changing salad or veg options. Unlike many other places where is brought in, portion controlled and only requires heating up, the food in the Anchorage is prepared freshly on the premises with the only exception being a few of the desserts. Portions are a good size and there's something for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazz-1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    44
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
41
27
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

A very tasty meal to be had by all I have not been hear for a long time and was not disappointed food good staff good and a good night out oh yes good beer I had a nice time we all went home full and will be going there soon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Though the people were lovely, the place clean and homely and the resident cats welcoming, I was sadly disappointed with the low standard produced by the kitchen.

Now maybe the issue is that I visited the restaurant side of this place nearly a decade ago, had the meal of my dreams and vowed to return again! Return I did but this time to:

Dry mash potatoes, cheap packet peas, heat in a pot main dishes and a serious lack on imagination. The straw that broke the camels back? Well, that'll be the seafood combo....quite obviously straight out of a packet, quite possibly bought from the local Iceland. There is simply no excuse for a food venue that sits on the coastline of the Isle of Anglesey to serve such shoddy seafood!!

This place has massive potential to be wonderfully quaint and appealing - I hope it stops relying on the good old regulars (and I'm refering to both the customers and dishes) and laminated menus and starts to serve food because it loves to serve quality grub!

Room Tip: Note: this review is based on the food we ate at this hotel. We did not stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex_Eamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorley,lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went up with my son on a motorcycle touring holiday april 2013 was going to stay for 2 nights ended up staying extra night room was very nice slept well room was cleaned every day beds made, tea coffe ect, ate every night in the bar area the crab salad was very good and priced £9.50,big portion i had chips as well side order,hungry lad
a must if you stay on anglsea,every one was warm and welcoming,
thanks again will stay again.
mr A,P lancashire
DID PHONE FIRST FOR ROOM PRICES AND MANAGED TO GET TWO NIGHTS FOR THE PRICE OF ONE,ON OFFER AT THE TIME,GREAT OFFER.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I'm a local and often go for a bar meal,it is lovely and clean great atmosphere and the food is always lovely,nothing is to much trouble for the staff,I have also had some suprise party's for members of my family which we have the al a carte menu
All my family love coming here for a meal,

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank harleyfarley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Staff are very helpful and pleasant. Room could have done with updating although perfectly functional. Overall the hotel is furnished to a reasonable standard with nice bar area. I ate in the restaurant and this was fantastic - good quality and plentiful. Breakfast was of a similar nature. I will be returning to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Checked in on a very windy, rainy day. Receptist suggested a rear room as it was quietier. Good room with view over the fields. Very comfy bed, plenty of different pillows to choose from. Good food in bar/restaurant at good price. Service was quick and pleasent. Good choice for breakfast. All round a very good trip........ Only problem was smallish tv that kept loosing the signal, could of been down to atmos conditions. Room 4 single.

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valley
0.0 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
587 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
676 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Property: Anchorage Hotel
Address: Four Mile Bridge, Valley, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel Valley, Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing