We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent offer, but DIRTY CUTLERY AND CROCKERY! again and again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Valley Anglesey
Ranked #1 of 4 Valley B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Yes, we stayed on a KGB Deal and everything was looking good, the room WAS clean, the staff WERE friendly and helpful, the menu being limited for the Deal was reasonable and the staff were more than happy to extend the choice for very little extra cost! We had a pleasant stay, the Beer and Wine was good. On arrival there were many families dining at Lunchtime, seems a popular place. Overall the Hotel looked clean and tidy and quite well maintained. HOWEVER, I have returned home and fell quite unwell, I didn't eat anywhere else in the last 48 hours prior to my departure, therefore, I am quite certain that the UPSET STOMACH and nausia I am suffering maybe due to food poisoning or at least the DIRTY UTENSILS and CROCKERY which awaited us each meal time. We could hardly believe our eyes when we unwrapped the serviettes containing our knives and forks, also the Dishes provided at breakfast were covered in GRIME! We obviously attempted to change these for other wrapped utensils from around the breakfast room and AGAIN discovered to our astonishment the REMAINS OF LEFT OVER FOOD stuck quite firmly to the implements. HOW could anyone wrap the clean serviettes around these - is beyond all reason. We complained over and over again and were then provided with cleaner cutlery and crockery, but this happened every meal time?? I stay on business at many Hotels and B&B's and have never witnessed this degree of sloppy cleanliness. How clean is the kitchen? We would be very interested to know.
The reviews from others are very good and this was undoubtedly attractive to us especially for the price. BUT WOULD WE RETURN?? ONLY IF WE WERE ASSURED OF A BETTER CLEANER EXPERIENCE.
Sorry but this wasn't a case of a faulty dish washer, you can be sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarsugarUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlewis1965, General Manager at The Valley Anglesey, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

I am sorry to hear that you felt ill after leaving our hotel. I can assure you that we are pleased in the fact that the illness had been reported to the environmental health authority and that we have been completely cleared of the cause of your illness. We maintain the highest of standards throughout the business and the EHO inspection has only verified this. We wish you a speedy recovery and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 248 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Major point - we stayed on a KGB deal -£99 for two people - 2 days bed, breakfast AND dinner! What's not to like???? Do the maths people - less than £50 each for two days dinner B&B. I notice that the majority of the moaners on this review site are on KGB deals of similar price. If you are so used to high-class accommodation and service - why are you staying here on a very cheap deal??? I have just left having stayed in the NOTORIOUS ROOM 11 for two days with my teenage son. Room was clean. Single beds and towels were clean. Bathroom was a bitty snug - the area around the toilet is VERY snug - my 6 foot chunky hubbie would have had issued to be fair. We were fine. I was able to put my washbag and bottles on the bathroom shelf - can't understand why others couldn't. There was a wedding on in the hotel the evening we arrived - Saturday - we heard no noise or had any problems with noisy neighbours in the evening. It was raining - but that's not the Hotel's fault!! We were able to order from the KGB menu each evening (and I am wheat intolerant) and the breakfast was excellent. Yes the room is a bit tired and it was obvious they had just moved the beds over to make a twin room as the light switches were behind the headboard. Yes there is a total lack of spare plugs for laptops and phone chargers (BTW the hotel wifi works well in Room 11 - remember this if you ask to be moved elsewhere - it's not available in all of the external accommodation apparently). Yes the carpet in the bathroom of my room was a bit yucky - wear flip flops! For value for money and a warm welcome you can't beat it. However - I did find a packet of lemon drops behind the bedside table when I went hunting for my dropped sunspecs - Valley Hotel - need to up your game in the hovering department!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LolabelleScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The food served here was fantastic home cooked, even my daughter who is very fussy ate the spinach and mushroom lasagne. Lovely beer garden with a park for children and extremely friendly staff, will visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemma19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I think the staff really make this hotel, lovely friendly people who can't do enough for you, we were made to feel very welcome from the minute we walked through the door, the room was nice with everything you need, the only slight downside was the shower that seemed to leak from various points along the shower head and chord (room 1) Food was lovely really couldn’t complain at all, over all a great stay and great value for money would defiantly return, well done Valley Hotel. I just hope the management know what a great team they have there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Two_wandering_nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Was bought a 2 night stay on the kgb deal as a gift and had a really nice stay at the valley hotel. We found staff to be extremely friendly and welcoming. The room was nice (room 5), had a nice powerful shower- though did have some problems keeping the temperature consistent. The food was really great, home cooked and delicious, particularly the creamy mushrooms from the starter menu, we did find that as we were staying for two nights that we didn't want to eat off the main menu on the second evening, though i would put this down to personal preference- were both pretty fussy eaters- rather than a lack of choice and the staff were very accommodating of this, definitely more vegetarian options than im used to! Breakfast was also really nice with a good cooked breakfast and was brought veggie sausages even though they weren't on the menu which was a really nice addition. pub below has some good real ales and wines at really good value. The only downside to our stay was that we didn't find much to do in valley and didn't find it to be overly accessible to other places (though im sure those with cars wouldn't have this issue), however this is certainly not a downfall of the hotel itself and would definitely recommend this hotel to someone planning to visit valley as its great value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here on 7/8th August, having booked using a kgb deal, and found it to be great value for money. We had a lovely, friendly welcome when we booked in.
Our room, number 18, overlooking the rear parking area of the hotel, was spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable. There was a tea and coffee tray with plenty of milk and a generous supply of biscuits, which were replenished each day.
The ensuite bathroom was excellent with instant hot water and a powerful shower. One slight drawback of our room was the noise of people packing their cars and leaving early on our last morning. Unavoidable, I guess.

We had bed, breakfast and evening meal as part of our deal. Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit, juices, cereals, toast and full English (and variations, just ask) available. We found the evening meals -a limited menu choice for those on the deal- to be basic pub food, but adequate. Excellent, friendly service from the staff in the bar. (Bottles of OK wine from £9.95!)

The major disappointment for us was that the wifi did not extend to our room, probably because we were almost the furthest from the main part of the hotel, which meant that when we wanted to use our iPads we had to stay in the bar area.

Outside, there is an excellent play area for children, with better than average play equipment. Someone needs to make sure there are plenty of outdoor ash trays and cigarette bins there as the path through to the car park, and the area around the picnic tables is littered with cigarette ends. Ok, that's very inconsiderate patrons! But, as that is clearly the case, someone needs to be sent out there regularly to clean it up! It's a lovely garden area and a shame to see it like that.

Lots of tourist information available at the hotel. Staff always willing to help with directions and/or suggestions.

This was out first visit to Anglesey. We loved the island and will definitely come back. In this very short visit - a two night stay, which meant only one full day - we managed to visit Rhosneigr beach, Cemaes, which has a beautiful, picturesque harbour, Amlwch (disappointing), Red Wharfe Bay, Beaumaris, Menai Bridge and South Stack.
Beaumaris was our favourite place, situated on the Menai Straits with a stunning view across the water to the mountains of Snowdonia. South Stack is a must for its stunning location. Easy to get around, lots of interesting things to do.

We will look forward to a return visit to this lovely island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the main areas if you want to use wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsJPitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed two nights on a KGB deal similar to others who have reviewed this hotel. In our opinion, after having read good and bad reviews, the hotel is fine for a couple of nights but if you intend to stay longer then don't book an all inclusive stay because the food choice isn't brilliant. We are by no means fussy but feel the hotel could give a lot more choice especially when you look at the normal menu and see plenty of other meals priced the same as those on the deal menu. Perhaps an allowance would be better? The room was relatively clean (no. 15) apart from some cobwebs (and yes they had been there for some time), and was very quiet even though there was a wedding party in and kids were running around the beer garden at 11pm. Staff in the main were friendly and helpful. All in all, an enjoyable couple of days.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the beer garden seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimnpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valley
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
317 reviews
2.6 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#2 of 3 in Valley
130 reviews
17.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,063 reviews
10.1 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Valley Anglesey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valley Anglesey

Address: London Road, Valley LL65 3DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Valley
Price Range: $91 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anglesey, welcome to The Valley. Ynys Môn, Mother of Wales, Môn Mam Cymru. The Valley is a family-run, traditional pub and inn that prides itself on providing a great value, authentic Anglesey experience. Our belief is simple: We are proud of our island and want you to experience its charms as much as we do. We believe that a quality experience with warm, attentive and friendly service doesn't have to break the bank. Our commitment to serving our local community is also part of our heritage. The Valley dates back to the 1800s, beginning as a traditional coaching house on the historic Holyhead to London route. Back then, The Valley played a key role in the community and that commitment is unwavering today. We're proud to welcome a diverse range of visitors every year. The Valley has everything you might need: cosy rooms, homemade cooking sourced from local suppliers, real ales, quality wines, log fires and hearty breakfasts. Plus one of the largest beer gardens on the island. So, whether you're looking for a family holiday, a weekend getaway, or if you're away on business and want a home from home, we will always go the extra mile to make sure you have a wonderful stay. We are proud to be part of Anglesey and look forward to welcoming you to The Valley soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Valley Anglesey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing