We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Valley Anglesey
Ranked #1 of 4 Valley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A friend had recommended The Valley Hotel to us for an evening meal. We were staying at Trearddur Bay Hotel and found places around quite expensive. These did two meals for £10. I have to say it was faultless. The food was absolutely beautiful, fresh and well cooked with probably the nicest onion rings and garlic ciabatta I have ever eaten! It is great value and worth the 5 minute drive down from the bay. Only one critiscm, no atmosphere, there was no background music or tv and with only 2 other couples dining it made for a strangely quiet pub. I have to add it is probably normally busy but there were blizzard conditions outside when we visited! I have added a photo to show their excellent dishes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    83
    38
    16
    17
See reviews for
68
82
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived by ferry into Holyhead after midnight and made our way straight to the hotel. They had accomodate our late arrival by giving us the code for the door and leaving a key and a welcome not on the reception table.

The hotel was a lot better than I was expecting. If you are getting picky (as lots do) then the room decor could have been better but I wasn't at all bothered. The twin room actually had a seperate bed room for the single bed which you don't see very often. The room had all facilities you would expect and for £25 for each of us what more could you ask for.

Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very nice and very friendly. Helpful with directions and a delight to deal with. Would stay here again any time I am in Holyhead.

Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great food and lovely staff. The prices are great not too expensive at all. Bedrooms need updating but overall great location, huge car park in the back and the menu is good value for money...will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eins143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here 13/10/12, booking two rooms. From the very beginning the staff were very friendly and efficient (Sheila took our booking) and welcomed us upon our arrival. Although the decor may appear a little dated, both rooms were very clean, with the linen being of a high quality, soft and fresh. The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were generally of a good size, with soaps included. Breakfast was lovely, with help yourself cold buffet and a freshly cooked hot traditional breakfast included. Plenty of fresh tea and coffee. Many thanks Sheila and the rest of the staff at the Valley, for a truely welcoming stay. We shall return. 100% recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in November 2012. Although the staff were very friendly, the breakfasts good and the bedroom adequate, the en-suite bathroom was a disgrace. The loo was crammed into a corner and was very difficult to flush, no soap was provided (until subsequently requested) and the shower tray was so small that it was difficult to turn around without dislodging the ill-fitting curtain. There was no shelf of any description within the shower area for placing soap, shampoo etc. The shelf over the washbasin was lop-sided and leant forwards so that everything on it had to be placed flat to prevent it from falling into the washbasin. When I complained about the bathroom on checking-out, no discount was offered and there is no way that the rate paid of £63.00 per night could be justified.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 11!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We ate here on two nights during our stay on Anglesey and on both nights we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. It is not Haute Cuisine , it is home cooked food that is presented well and represents superb value for money. The surroundings are somewhat dated with an old fashioned homely feel.Nonetheless, the dining area is very clean. The service is pleasant and efficient. The hunter's chicken,veggie burgers, chicken burgers and beef pie were all awarded our seal of approval. It is a 10 minute drive from Holyhead ferry port so it is a convenient stop off before or after a ferry trip. This is not a gourmet restaurant but if you enjoy home cuisine at incredibly low prices then it is well worth a visit!.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I was working in the area and needed a single room for one night and popped into this hotel on the off chance of a room which I got, after checking in I had a couple of pints in the bar (which was very nice and the bar staff very friendly) ,it seemed to be a popular eating place even though I chose to have a chinese taheaway from across the road. I am being totally honest when I say this hotel was above expectation for the price which was around £42 including breakfast and a comfy bed, I stayed in room 16 for one night and found it warm and comfortable and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful,

Room Tip: I stayed in room 16 and slept with no interuption but I was very tired, I awoke refreshed ready for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valley
0.1 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#2 of 3 in Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.6 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
17.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
19.4 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Blackthorn Farm
Blackthorn Farm
#1 of 24 in Holyhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Valley Anglesey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valley Anglesey

Property: The Valley Anglesey
Address: London Road, Valley LL65 3DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anglesey, welcome to The Valley. Ynys Môn, Mother of Wales, Môn Mam Cymru. The Valley is a family-run, traditional pub and inn that prides itself on providing a great value, authentic Anglesey experience. Our belief is simple: We are proud of our island and want you to experience its charms as much as we do. We believe that a quality experience with warm, attentive and friendly service doesn't have to break the bank. Our commitment to serving our local community is also part of our heritage. The Valley dates back to the 1800s, beginning as a traditional coaching house on the historic Holyhead to London route. Back then, The Valley played a key role in the community and that commitment is unwavering today. We're proud to welcome a diverse range of visitors every year. The Valley has everything you might need: cosy rooms, homemade cooking sourced from local suppliers, real ales, quality wines, log fires and hearty breakfasts. Plus one of the largest beer gardens on the island. So, whether you're looking for a family holiday, a weekend getaway, or if you're away on business and want a home from home, we will always go the extra mile to make sure you have a wonderful stay. We are proud to be part of Anglesey and look forward to welcoming you to The Valley soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Valley Anglesey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing