We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Valley Anglesey
Ranked #1 of 4 Valley B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We booked the Valley Hotel based on other traveller reviews but were sorely disappointed! Our room was small, tired and a little dirty. There was peeling wallpaper, dirty old carpet, tired tatty bathroom and a funny smell. Cobwebs and mould growing in the bathroom. Reception was shabby with a funny smell and dirty carpet. The outside of the hotel was really run down and dirty.
We were torn between having the window open for some fresh air to counteract the smell and hearing all the noise from the road and passers by. Two small pluses - shower was hot and powerful and the staff were friendly but that's about it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JP2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 250 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

nice hotel. We stayed there for 1 night before we were sailing to The Republic of Ireland. We were with two kids, 13/14 years and we had a nice room for four. The staf was friendly, the price was good and we had a drink in de nice pub in the evening. So, if we need a place to sleep again in the seroundings of the ferry, we will book again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estherdevisser32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed for three nights and found the food and service attitude of the staff to be excellent. They really just have it right and all seem very happy to help even if it's just offering you a cup of tea whilst waiting for your partner in the morning. The food is really good value for money and is hard to fault. We had a curry one night which they delivered spicy as requested, another was scampi and chips plus a rack of lamb - all done well for the money you pay. We had one minor issue with a food order / bill and they went out of their way to apologise. The breakfast is served promptly and if you want two eggs, then just ask. Our room was fine and for the money good value. They are updating the hotel presently so it can only get better.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Had a one night stop at the Valley Hotel.Nothing spectacular, but a good honest hotel/pub. Very friendly staff, and a reasonable size room with en suite. We were a late booking and so had a twin beds. There was a noisy fan system right outside our window and due to the unusual hot weather, the window had to be open. We asked whether the fan would run all night and were told that it would stop at 10.00pm and it did. The restaurant was quite busy in the evening, seems to be a popular local eatery.
Good nights sleep. Good breakfast in the morning, usual cereal, fruit juice etc followed by whatever you wanted in the traditional "English" breakfast. So good value when compared to a Travelodge.
No problems in recommending this hotel. It would be an excellent place to stop going to and from the ferry.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doughnut-Jimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were welcomed at reception by a lovely girl who couldn't be more helpful which was appreciated after a long drive. We chose to stay here as we had an early ferry to catch the following morning. The hotel is quiet old but the rooms are clean and comfortable. After getting settled in our room we decided to go to the bar for a drink which was reasonably priced. Once we found a table we noticed that we were been watched constantly by the locals which was quiet uncomfortable so we decided to leave and return to our room. We weren't long in bed when the noise levels increased downstairs with shouting, screaming and loud music. We are a young couple who enjoy a sociable drink so we are not unfamiliar with the pub scene but this was beyond sociable as the noise level continued well on in to the night and early morning after the bar had closed. There were older guests staying that night also who I pitied as they probably thought there was a war going on outside. However the hotel itself and its staff are very welcoming and the breakfast was lovely but if we were told in advance that the the clientele who frequent this premises are not as welcoming to tourists we would not have stayed here.

Room Tip: Room by the traffic lights is one to avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The room wasn't massive but we was big enough but it was an en-suite family room and had everything we needed. It was clean had a good shower and comfortable beds too. The staff couldn't do enough for you and made you feel very very welcome indeed, the pub had guest ales and ok prices and once again was very friendly. The highlight had to be (although the breakfast was very good too!) the evening meals that were around £7.50ish, they were so incredibly tasty it was untrue!! We had the lamb cutlets, the steak and ale pie and the fish and chips and all were fabulous. The only slight downside I can even think of was that in the Friday night they had a disco and there were a lot of buffoons shouting outside the window until they filtered off to there taxis and homes but that wasn’t The Valley's fault, just try and stay at the front of the pub side. All in all give The Valley top marks!

Room Tip: Stay near front car park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

You'll get a friendly welcome at this hotel just a few miles out of Holyhead on the old A5. There are en-suite rooms but the best bit is the food. Most of it home cooked and at very resonable prices.
The location is very good if you are catching a ferry at Holyhead. If you are not staying overnight perhaps just a meal stop. Food is served from midday through to about 9pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beer garden if you like quiet. The hotel is on a crossroads so a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valley
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
17.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,075 reviews
2.6 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
317 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Beach Motel
The Beach Motel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
229 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seacroft
Seacroft
#2 of 5 in Trearddur Bay
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Valley Anglesey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valley Anglesey

Address: London Road, Valley LL65 3DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Valley
Price Range: $92 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Anglesey, welcome to The Valley. Ynys Môn, Mother of Wales, Môn Mam Cymru. The Valley is a family-run, traditional pub and inn that prides itself on providing a great value, authentic Anglesey experience. Our belief is simple: We are proud of our island and want you to experience its charms as much as we do. We believe that a quality experience with warm, attentive and friendly service doesn't have to break the bank. Our commitment to serving our local community is also part of our heritage. The Valley dates back to the 1800s, beginning as a traditional coaching house on the historic Holyhead to London route. Back then, The Valley played a key role in the community and that commitment is unwavering today. We're proud to welcome a diverse range of visitors every year. The Valley has everything you might need: cosy rooms, homemade cooking sourced from local suppliers, real ales, quality wines, log fires and hearty breakfasts. Plus one of the largest beer gardens on the island. So, whether you're looking for a family holiday, a weekend getaway, or if you're away on business and want a home from home, we will always go the extra mile to make sure you have a wonderful stay. We are proud to be part of Anglesey and look forward to welcoming you to The Valley soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Valley Anglesey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing