We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location and accommodation for South...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Beach Retreat

The house sits just above the beach in a collection of pretty cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house sits just above the beach in a collection of pretty cottages
Parking area in front of the cottage and front patio overlooking the beautiful scenery Welcome to the Beach Retreat!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The house sits just above the beach in a collection of pretty cottages
Parking area in front of the cottage and front patio overlooking the beautiful scenery
Welcome to the Beach Retreat!
Porthdafarch Beach just 200m away -Have the beach to yourself on quiet days - the cottage sits above
Living / Dining area
Popular and beautiful Porthdafarch Blue Flag Beach
Living space with steps up to second mezzanine bedroom
Looking down from the mezzanine bedroom over the stunning living area
Kingsize bed for cosy lie ins with great views
Sunny conservatory - soak up the wonderful views out to Sea and Snowdonia / Llyn Peninsula
Relaxing bathroom with shower / bath combination.
Sunny private rear patio with lounger chairs, views over rear garden to fields - great for BBQs
Front patio for a relaxing coffee or breakfast - sunny in mornings
Beautiful design detail throughout
Living / kitchen area all to the highest standard
Bedroom with wardrobe leading onto the bathroom
Fully equipped kitchen with all modern conveniences
The cottage
Mezzanine bedroom with double futon bed
Your retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Trearddur Bay, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
globetrek...
staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect location and accommodation for South Stack and coast.”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

You will not be disappointed staying at this well appointed self catering cottage. The Beach Retreat is in a tranquil area with stunning views and Portfadach Beach is a minutes walk away. The Beach Retreat is functionable for self catering needs and is tastefull decorated and spottlesslt clean. The living space has comfortable sofas and has wifi and bluetooth dab radio which we found useful. The bed was comfortable, the best nights slepp I have had in ages and the bathroom has a great shower and bath. The conservatory area at the front was great to relax and for watching the great outdoors! Thank you very much for the welcome pack of milk, juice and cereals. The bottle of wine was a lovely touch, especially as it was my birthday!
We took our dog and have to say the area is ideal as there is a small garden to the rear. The coastal path starts across the road from the cottage and South Stack is walkable although we took the 5 minute journey by car as we had a lot of eqquipment to take. The area has some stunning coast line, we saw seals and puffins. The flora in this area is stunning. We will most definately return later in the year. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samuelsWr...
wrexham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another great cottage by sue”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, just across the road from the beach, 2 minutes from the coastal path. Lovely view, all amenities, lovely patio at the rear getting the afternoon sun, sun lounge at the front to sit and watch the resident kestrel catching his dinner.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor5Ma...
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful location”
Reviewed January 9, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely stay in beautiful cottage.
The fittings and furnishings are of a high standard and there is a lovely view across fields opposite. The beach is a 3 minute walk away and there is an easy walk along the cliff.
Sue was very helpful with restaurant recommendations.
A great spot to explore the island.

Date of stay: January 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iluvkol
Beechwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow! Fantastic views, beautifully furnished and a top location for coastal walks”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from an amazing stay at 'The Beach Retreat' and really wish we had booked for longer! From the moment we walked through the door it felt so homely and cosy! Sue greeted us and showed us around...we were kindly given a complimentary bottle of wine too which was a lovely touch. It was furnished to a very high standard and has everything you would need! It even had a Tassimo machine which my other half was really happy about! There is space in front of the property to park your car and the views are absolutely amazing...sheep and horses in the fields in front and scenic views of the bay to the right. It was so quiet and close to the bay for walks on the beach. We walked along the coastal path which led to several hidden bays, the views were beautiful! We took our dog and she loved it!

There have been comments about the limited use of space to the back of the property, however this wasn't an issue for us at all! You are surrounded by so much land that I wouldn't let it put you off! Also, we were led to believe by reviews on here that dogs are not allowed on the beach in front however this rule only applies from May to September. We absolutely LOVED our time there and are looking forward to returning next year. Thank you to Sue and Trin for making us feel so welcome :)

Date of stay: December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stepheng1...
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC !!!!!”
Reviewed November 9, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cant say enough good things about the Beech Retreat ,really well looked after views spectacular lots of walks to do not enough time to do them all but we will defiantly be returning next year. fantastic cottage very modern and contemporary brilliant our dog loved it as well , Thank you very much great place to stay see you next year ,also Trin who looks after the cottage very very helpful and extremely well kept cottage

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauraelwi...
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I had booked a few nights away in the cottage for my husbands birthday.. Sue was very quick in responding to questions/bookings via email, we were greeted at the cottage by trin who was lovely and showed us all we needed to know! The cottage itself was spotless and decorated to a very high standard and the breakfast pack and wine was a very nice touch! The beach nearby is lovely and the lighthouse is a must see, our 6yr old son loved seeing the helicopter and planes over head! The only thing the place is missing is a pub within walking distance, however we had been recommended a very nice pub about 20min drive away which is well worth a visit.. The food was gorgeous and they are dog friendly! All in all we had a very relaxing short break away! I would definitely recommend this place!!

Date of stay: October 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelwit...
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in scenic peaceful location”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights for my birthday, with partner and teenage daughter, and 2 dogs the cottage is very modern, it stands quite high with lovely views of the coast and countryside.It is a very short walk down to the beach, the beach unfortunately does not allow dogs though if you walk about another 10 minutes towards Trearddur there is another one with no restrictions.
The cottage is very well equipped, the wine and starter pack are a nice thought.My daughter was very grateful of the good wifi in the cottage, the mezzanine bedroom is not really practical for larger children.We were fighting for space as there is nowhere to put clothes in that room and she had to crawl about in there.
This is a very nice cottage, the lady that greets you is very nice and too are the neighbours, they made a fuss of our dogs.
Can recommend a trip (5 min drive) out to South Stack Lighthouse, lovely tea shop and stunning views
I personally think it would be better if when you book ,the terms and conditions letter and the sign in the bathroom was worded abit friendlier, it comes across slightly threatening,particularly the one in bathroom, I understand that occasionally damage must happen, but most abiding people would be happy to sort that with owners if it were to arise.Ive never experienced this before in other rentals, so it did make me wary that your deposit might get kept for the slightest thing, but I MUST point out that we have received an email this morning that we are getting the deposit back, i would hate to think it might put anyone off booking so thought it was worth mentioning.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wi-fi
Liked least: more suitable for 2 people, not large enough for 3
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing