We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is never quite sure what it wants to be?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trearddur Bay
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have been visiting this hotel for more than 50yrs and always love the idea! Now in later life with the benefit of hindsight I can be objective with the advantage of having this forum.
The location is perfect and the owners have modernised it many times over the years, but I am not sure what they want to achieve. Is it to be a 5* oasis for people wanting to get away for however long or a local pub/restaurant/coffee bar/sports pub or I don't know what! On a recent stay we either froze to death or were overcome with excessive heating. The newly redecorated rooms are good, but others rather sad! They do not ask you when you book or warn you! They also seem rather keen on big parties and conferences rather than attentive service to those seeking harmony in tranquil surroundings.
It is expensive to stay, eat and drink compared to similar establishments. The food is OK, as are some of the staff! Training and the truly professional ethic of management is required in a hurry!
As the flagship of a well known and profitable group I am surprised at the overall very average attitudes that pervade here. Get a grip, invest, and bring in professionals to manage it properly. It is unique on Anglesey and should be loved as such! More porterage is needed and cheerful one's to, as it can be a real hike to many rooms with lots of stairs and fire doors to open.

Room Tip: Choose your room carefully, lots of stairs and long walks to many rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterToft, General Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Many thanks for the review you have posted regarding your stays at The Trearddur Bay Hotel. I can hopefully explain what we are trying to do - and that is to be a high standard three star full service hotel, catering for independant travellers and holidaymakers, with two dining options (a restaurant and a pub food operation), a swimming pool, conference and banqueting facilities and an outdoor family dining area.
There are certainly times when we are very busy and there is overlap between these areas but we do try to manage this sympathetically for all of our guests.
Over the last three years we have invested over £1.5 million in the refurbishment of the hotel and are continuing to invest on a rolling programme, the benefits of which will be seen year on year.
I do not believe we are expensive in comparison to similar establishments and indeed we market our rooms according to demand and what the local market is charging - but we do need to charge a reasonable price in order to continue with the programme of investment we have outlined at the hotel - and we are one of only a handful of companies who are actively investing in the island and providing long term permanent employment to the local community.
We are also investing heavily in the staff we employ to ensure they are hospitable, friendly and welcoming and that their skills continue to improve to provide the professional and couteous service that is our aim.
I do hope you continue to use the hotel and would love the opportunity to meet with you on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 674 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

A great base for exploring the island. The staff are lovely and can't do enough for you. The hotel is very well presented, tasteful and modern. We were in room 17 which while quite compact was newly refurbished and had lots of storage. Lovely bathroom with free standing bath. Breakfast is excellent - great continental buffet as well as full English. We didn't eat in the restaurant but ate twice in the bar as we really liked the menu and the atmosphere. Trearddur bay is ideal for families due to the lovely beach just across the road, the pool and play area but it is very quiet at night. Apart from the hotel there is just one other place to eat and drink - the Seacroft - 10 mins walk away. We paid a third less than the advertised price which was excellent value but think the full rate would be a bit steep.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crabby061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterToft, General Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you - I was very pleased to read your positive comments about your recent stay at the hotel - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Booked a Sunday night away to take advantage of the walking and weather. When we booked we pre paid for an evening meal. What they didn't tell us was that the restaurant was closed that night , and we had to take our meal in the adjoining pub. If you could ignore the foul mouthed contractors also staying in the hotel and the food was pub standard then it was ok. The room was good although small things like the paint peeling from around the patio windows and a large crack in the wash basin did take the gloss off.

Room Tip: A good clean B+B would be better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 994JohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterToft, General Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the hotel. We do have many deals available and our normal Sunday Special for £89 including bed, breakfast and a three course meal in the Inn at the Bay I believe is good value for money, however I was disapointed to read your comments regarding the room. We are in a rolling programme of refurbishment and will continue to work our way through the hotel until all of the bedrooms are brought to the same standard.
Please also accept my apologies for the behaviour of other guests in The Inn - it is not a usual occurrence I ssure you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I have just returned after spending 2 nights, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, beautiful accommodation with the luxury of staying both nights 'delux' style (Room 5 with a fab view and Room 7 a Four Poster suite) both rooms were very spacious, extremely clean and stunning views! Our evening meals both in the Restaurant on Saturday and the Bar on Sunday were delicious, beautifully presented and plenty of it! The staff could not of been any more accommodating. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone and will come back again very soon. The location of the hotel is superb, right on the beach, brilliant coastal walks in both directions with amazing scenery! Wish I was back there now !!!! Fantastic relaxing break :)

Room Tip: Room 5 has a corner view.. window to front and side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whale734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterToft, General Manager at Trearddur Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Many thanks for your review, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff here made an impression on you. We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Came here with my wife to be, for Valentines, in fact we are still here.as I write this review, all I can say is exceptional value for Money, the room we had was absolutely fantastic (room 5) nice clean room, large en-suit, balcony over looking the bay, complimentary bath robes and free wifi, I stay in quite a lot of hotels and this defiantly competes with some 4* city hotels. The area is very quiet and has some breath taking views. Already thinking of coming back here in the summer and we still have another night to go.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gazpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We attended my best friends 50th birthday here on 15th December 2012, we stayed in a standard room (room 23) however it is called standard because it is above the main bar, but if not above the bar it would be classed as a delux room which are a lot more expensive! We never heard anything from the bar area, and we were very close to xmas time with lots of office parties going on. This room had massive bay windows double glazed which over looked the main beach, and the Trearddur Bay Hotels main pool. Our bed was spacious enough, with an ensuite consisting of a deep bath, with over bath shower set at power spray, toilet and sink! The room itself had a wonderful comfy overlarge double bed, and pillows which you just sank into. We had a small tv about 19" but what the hell we were not there to watch it. On arrival we were booked in to receive the complimentary wine, scones and fresh jam and cream! oh boy it was wow! we then got ready to meet our friends for he 50th celebration meal! How could we fault it, we couldnt and we would of been extremely stupid if we had tried! We had a 3 course meal for £12.95 a head, including fruit melody for starter, full xmas dinner with all the trimmings and xmas pud with sauce for afters! the service was phenomenal, hands off to the staff they were the most wonderful people we have come across in years! We retired to the bar and when that closed we moved onto the residents bar and remained until the early hours! If we could thank each and everyone of the staff we would as we fault throughout the night nothing could be faulted! We retired to bed, a bit worse for wear but loved the fact we did not have to be down for breakfast until latest 10am. We got up showered went down and had what we would call hospitality service second to none! I am picky and didnt want full welsh so they asked what I wanted and they fulfilled! my other half had the full welsh and said it was fantastic! apart from this there was coffee, tea, juices, cereals and if you didnt want the full breakfast you had the choice of a fab continental breakfast consisting of lots of meats and cheeses, fresh breads etc! I cant fault the Trearddur Bay, we have never stayed here before but was recommended to us by friends the Jones family who have stayed a few times, and in all fairness what they told us was truth! This place is lovely! treat the staff with the respect they deserve and you are offered the most phenomenal service available! We raise our hats to your service and hospitality offered Trearddur Bay Hotel and will certainly be back. Many thanks xxx

Room Tip: Go for room 23 its a standard double but can only be classed as that because its above the bar, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BowlerClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We popped in for lunch (4) food was just average ,if you want vegetables you have to pay extra and it comes with 3 mang-tue half a carrot a bit of swede and 4 small potatoes already had potatoes with the meal so didn't need more,where do these people get their training. It was very expensive so we will not be returning

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank nadamais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trearddur Bay
12.3 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
20 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,075 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
13.8 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trearddur Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trearddur Bay Hotel

Address: Lon Isallt, Trearddur Bay LL65 2UN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Trearddur Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trearddur Bay
Price Range: $108 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trearddur Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Trearddur Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trearddur Bay Hotel Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing