We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good all round” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oyster Catcher

The Oyster Catcher
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Rhosneigr
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Oyster Catcher is the ultimate beach side venue. With a distinctive character, vibrant atmosphere and fantastic food, it's an iconic Anglesey landmark.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Really good all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

really good. Food well cooked, prepared and presented - excellent all round. Nice heated outdoor seating areas too apart from the idiot [trip advisor wouldn't let me actually use the word I wanted to here] who took issue with being asked not to smoke in a non-smoking area - [dealt with very well by staff]).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teejay12391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    421
    232
    122
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A good place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were slightly worried about all the hype surrounding this place and called in for a drink on Saturday tea time when it was really busy . But staff were very pleasant and the place has a great vibe . We booked to come back for a meal on the Tuesday night . It was a lot quieter but still had a good atmosphere . There is a regular menu and a specials board . Slightly disappointed that 3 of the specials were unavailable but we still had plenty of choice and enjoyed our food which was well cooked and well presented. Portion size was good as was the service. Cost was £60 for 2 people for 2 courses and drinks. Well worth a visit and we would go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zebra60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cleaning needs attention”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Called in the oyster catcher one lunchtime to check out new decor and to have a snack. Love the beach huts but found it a little crowded with plant pots etc. The seating in the huts had lots of food stains, napkins blowing around the floor and people had put dirty napkins in the plant pots. Inside we found the decor ok not keen on carpets in restaurants, went to sit down on two different tables both dirty one with sticky ring marks the other had crumbs. The food was ok, just put us of with these simple things which should be kept on top of.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pauline e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Visited twice in one week. The first time was a lovely experience with the food being very tasty and of good quality. However the second time was disappointing. We both ordered a steak sandwich which was so tough we were unable to chew it. However after informing the friendly waiter he made sure that the chef was told and our bill adjusted accordingly. Shame that there wasn't consistency in the quality of the food. The tables seating 2 or 4 persons also seem to be on top of each other with not enough space between them to remain private. Well worth a visit though as the building has fantastic views of Anglesey and the Snowdonia mountains. Nice to see so many young waiters with impeccable manners in this day and age. Well done!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boxerWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Saturday night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had a very pleasant evening with 6 friends. Small starter of black pudding fritters,but lovely lobster with potato salad reasonably priced,quite noisy at times

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank happygoluckyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oyster Catcher also viewed

Rhosneigr, Anglesey
 
Menai Bridge, Anglesey
Trearddur Bay, Anglesey
 

Been to The Oyster Catcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing