We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but a bit pricey”
Review of Glan Neigr

Glan Neigr
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhosneigr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glan Neigr
Ranked #4 of 4 Rhosneigr B&B and Inns
liverpool
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, but a bit pricey”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cannot fault the food, the nicest that we've had in a long time in a pub, but it did seem a little pricey. All of the staff where very friendly & helpful. Will definitely go back when we visit Rhosneigr again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KylietheKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnetteB1305, Owner at Glan Neigr, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, our prices are comparable to other family friendly, home cooked food in the area but I appreciate this is maybe of a higher price than other areas. We look forward to welcoming you again and we do try our up most to keep the prices as low as we can but with using all local produce this can be difficult at times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
18
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Arrived early evening after a day at anglesey circuit, we received a warm welcome on arrival and our room was clean and comfortable with a nice hot shower, we sat down for our evening meal next to a log fire burning (lovely after a day outside in the cold) the food was lovely and great value, full breakfast the next morning was also great, we couldn't fault this stay in any way and the staff did everything they could to look after us at all times, we will return without hesitation...

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnetteB1305, Owner at Glan Neigr, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visit Rhosneigr regularly and have visited all of the restaurants. As a party of 5, 2 of which are vegetarians I have to say that the Glan Neigr takes some beating in terms of welcome, service, price and choice of honest home cooked food. We would highly recommend that you give it a visit

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djh&cjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnetteB1305, Owner at Glan Neigr, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and recommending us, we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have been to the Glan Neigr for dinner a few times over the last five years, always with a group during a camping holiday, most recently last week. The food has always been good, satisfying pub grub, and this year was no exception. The lasagne and sticky toffee pudding I had were both obviously homemade, large, and extremely tasty. A let down in past years has always been the poor choice of drinks available, but happily this year there were local real ales, decent continental lagers and a full wine list. We have always found the atmosphere and staff to be very welcoming, and will certainly continue to visit whenever we are back in Rhosneigr.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnetteB1305, Owner at Glan Neigr, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I recently spent 2 nights at the Glan Neiger...it's a lovely quiet location, within easy walking distance to the beach...the hotel is clean and has a warm friendly atmosphere...Andy and Anette were extremely friendly, as were the rest of the staff, and made me feel very at home...the food was excellent and there was plenty of it...my room was very comfortable and clean....I'm going back to Anglesey next week and will be staying at the Glan again...can highly recommend..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darren2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our first time stopping in Anglesey and we chose the Glan Neigr for the location, facilities and price. We were really pleased on all three counts and also with our choice of Rhosneigr as a base to see the "island".
The landlord/lady, Andy and Annette, were really good hosts and helped me through the good selection of beers, the Wrexham lager going down particularly well.
We struck lucky with the bedroom (see the room tip) that was very well furnished and had the picture window. Fabulous!! The other rooms seemed just as well appointed from what I could see. The Snowdon skyline is across the bay and can be seen on a clear day. We were lucky with the weather.
Car parking is ample and being in a cul-de sac there is no through trough traffic so the loudest noise is the seagulls.
The food is a typical pub menu, nicely cooked and presented and seemed very well priced, if you fancy eating in. There are some good restaurants locally but you will obviously pay more.
The sea and good beaches are a five minute walk away. What more could you want!!
Thanks for a lovely informal and relaxed stay.

Room Tip: Schhhhhh. No 3 is the one to go for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hairyhoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnetteB1305, Owner at Glan Neigr, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I recently spent a week in Holyhead with the family and we did a lot of touring around the island. we visited a place called Rhosneigr, beautiful place it is. we came across The Glan Neigr Hotel and stopped in for some food. i must say the food was not very nice and is very pricey. i found one waitress to be quiet common and quiet rude, the smell of "fags" with your food was not nice! the owners did not say much but bar staff were very polite, but apart from all that its a tidy place. Advice is work could be done on the staff, the price of the food and taste of the food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnetteB1305, Owner at Glan Neigr, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal. Our prices are comparable to the prices in Rhosneigr but made to suit the family pocket and £9.95 for scampi or £9.95 for Home made Lasagne all served with salad, chips and other sides included, we feel, is reasonable in a seaside town. Our staff are very welcoming and we are perturbed as to which member of staff would have been rude to you. Had you voiced your concerns at the time of your visit we could have rectified any situation but unfortunately after the fact is a little difficult. We welcome you back any time to give us the full story of your visit where hopefully we can change your view of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhosneigr
2.6 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
306 reviews
14.8 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
309 reviews
5.7 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
17.9 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glan Neigr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glan Neigr

Property: Glan Neigr
Address: Post Office Lane, Rhosneigr LL64 5JA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Rhosneigr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rhosneigr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glan Neigr is a family friendly hotel recently refurbished with high quality rooms. Whether your here to enjoy the water sports or just to enjoy one of Wales best kept secrets, a guaranteed warm welcome awaits you in the Glan Neigr. Our restaurant has fabulous home cooked food using locally sourced produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glan Neigr Rhosneigr, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing