We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“satisfactory”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhosneigr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambleside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Rhosneigr B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“satisfactory”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a very warm welcome from Cathy and it was lovely to be so near the sea. The room was very clean but quite small. We felt that although it was all quite nice, it was very over-priced at £80 for one night. We stay in many B&Bs and have stayed in plusher accommodation for £65.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Noelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhosneigr, Owner at Ambleside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thankyou for choosing Ambleside for your recent stay and posting your review. The location here is great for a seaside b&b and it is lovely to be so near to all of the restaurants and amenities that the village has to offer.

My bed and breakfast is situated in an Edwardian seaside house and as such the double rooms are a little larger than those built in more recent times, although the en-suites now occupy the place that the washstand used to occupy.

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as expected. All information re facilities, pricing structure, special offers etc is advertised on my website etc and again summarised in my email sent to confirm the enquiry. Pictures of my rooms are also available. The booking is only made once all of this information has been made available and is acceptable to the prospective guest.

My tariff is in line with other bed and breakfasts in Rhosneigr and in addition I provide extra features and facilities, which are all provided free of charge thus providing additional value. I appreciate however that those who stay for just one night might not have time to take full advantage of any additional facilities. As yet, I do not have a one-night policy here at Ambleside.

I have taken note of your comments and will make adjustments accordingly.

Kind regards, Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    31
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
30
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a very plesant stay at Ambleside which is ideally situated on the main street. Cathy was cheerful, friendly, made us feel very welcome and cooked a lovely breakfast. Comfortable bedroom with a small but perfectly adequate en suite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 832Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhosneigr, Owner at Ambleside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thankyou for your review. It was a pleasure to have you and your wedding party to stay and I am glad that the weekend weather kept good for the occasion. Hope to see you again in the future, Best regards Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Lovely to be back again at Ambleside. It really is a wonderful place to stay with a very big welcome. Its so lovely to get a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed, and enjoy a great breakfast cheerfully served by a very friendly and charming hostess. See you again Cathy. Thank you for everything.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank RosemaryBonnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhosneigr, Owner at Ambleside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thankyou for posting your review. It was lovely to see you here again at Ambleside. Your visits are very much appreciated and it is good to know that you look forward to returning time and time again. A warm welcome always awaits. Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay in Ambleside B&B. Cathy was very welcoming and friendly.
She made a lovely breakfast and also made delicious fresh cakes.
She was also happy to help and give guidance about what to see and what to do around the Island.
I had a small single room, very tidy and clean.
I only missed an ensuit bathroom, that's all.Otherwise I would rate it with five star.

Thank you very much Cathy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7729Moss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhosneigr, Owner at Ambleside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
It was lovely to have you to stay for here at Ambleside. Thankyou for choosing my bed and breakfast for your base to explore this side of the island and I am glad that my advice and guidance on places to visit was appreciated.

I hope to see you again and I will make a note to cook more cranberry, walnut and orange cake for that time. It is certainly a favourite with my guests.

Regards, Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very welcoming. Cathy absolutely great, she cooks a wonderful breakfast and is charming and friendly. The position of Ambleside is ideal, right in the centre of Rhosneigr and very near to lots of amenities. We would have liked a TV in the room. The only other down side was the size of the en suite, but other than than that our stay was very pleasant indeed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My experience and that of all the other reviewers is that Cathy makes the place. The B & B is an adapted family house which means the ensuites are small and there are a few creaky floorboards. BUT the 'real fire' in the guest TV lounge, which was opened up for us, is marvelous on a dark, damp Anglesey evening. Don't be put off by some of the rules Cathy has (eg book in after 6.30pm and be out by 9.30am) because she is someone who would do anything to make your stay enjoyable. My friend and I arrived a little after 3pm on a drizzly afternoon and were welcomed with a smile and a chat. Nothing was too much trouble.

However, there are a couple of things that confused me. 1) No TV in the room. The option to relax and watch the news or not is a must for any B&B today. Cathy says she is considering this upgrade - I hope she makes it a priority. 2) This is the first B&B I have stayed in with a coded door lock to the bedroom. It is like the ones that protect locker rooms or changing rooms and require a memory greater than mine. Cathy - change them for keys! I have to look after the front door key, so two keys is no more of a problem. (I forgot to take that post it note with the key code out, so I am glad I left the door on the latch.)

Bottom line is that Ambleside is a standard B&B with an outstanding hostess.

( Two over 50males. Stayed for one night whilst walking part of the Anglesey Coastal Path. Single room supplements. 50% deposit required to secure. )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Ambleside was a very nice little b/b Cathy was very friendly and a good help, the only thing we could fault was no tv in the rooms, i think there should be tv's in rooms so you have the choice to watch it or not..but everything else was wonderful..the gang from merseyside xx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueward511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhosneigr
5.6 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
9.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
14.8 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
11.8 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ambleside Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ynys For High Street | High Street,, Rhosneigr LL64 5UQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Rhosneigr
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rhosneigr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just minutes away from a number of clean, sandy beaches and within walking distance of local restaurants we offer you a home from home during your stay. Our comfortable accommodation is of the highest standard with en suites and private bathrooms. Start each day with your choice of breakfast - prepared using local produce wherever possible. We do our best to cater for special dietary needs - just let us know in advance about your requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ambleside Bed And Breakfast Rhosneigr, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing