We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely little B&B. fine for an overnight stop, especially if racing at local circuit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhosneigr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambleside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Rhosneigr B&B and Inns
London, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“lovely little B&B. fine for an overnight stop, especially if racing at local circuit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very friendly welcome from Cathy. Eager to please and very attentive.
room was compact, TV is downstairs only. Pub opposite can be noisy if windows are open.
OK breakfast standard with a reasonable choice and average quality ingredients. Available on request, made to order. No newspapers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NICKMLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    31
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
30
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Cathy's Ambleside B & B in Rhosneigr was a great place to escape to. It is centrally located, close to the beach.

Cathy provides a warm welcome and is more than happy to answer questions about the area and provides information on where to eat and things to do on Anglesey.

I look forward to a return visit.

Blaise(Canada)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chester03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhosneigr, Owner at Ambleside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thankyou for choosing to stay here at Ambleside and taking the time to write your lovely review. I am glad that you found that I lived up to the complimentary and enthusiastic reviews that I have received already. As you say, Rhosneigr is the perfect location for exploring all that Anglesey and Snowdonia has to offer and I was pleased to be able to provide information and help you in choosing where to make the most of your time during your visit from Canada. I look forward to seeing you again when you next visit. With best regards, Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently along with our son and his wife who were over from Poland . Our main reason for being there was to see Rhosneigr where our son had spent the first 4 years of his life. Cathy was so friendly and welcoming and really surprised to realise that we had lived in the house next door. The place was immaculate, the rooms very comfortable and the breakfasts tasty and substantial. Rhosneigr is a good base from which to see Anglesey with 2 of the best beaches on the island, it only rained when we went to Snowdonia and Portmeirion, although we did manage to see Caernarfon and Beaumaris Castles in the sunshine. We were also pleasantly surprised to find some good and interesting restaurants in the village.

Room Tip: There are only 2 double rooms and one single, the front double gives you a lovely view of the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ambleside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Many thanks for your review of myself and my b&b. It is good to hear that all of my efforts to make Ambleside a place to remember for all the best reasons have proved so worthwhile. The front bedroom is just as you said - the big bay window does give ample opportunity to see our famed Rhosneigr sunsets. Hope to see you all again in the future. It is so nice to have a family group in what is after all, a true family home. Warm regards Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Wonderful location right by the beach and the perfect home from home. Cathy the owner is wonderfully friendly and treats you in such a way it makes it hard to leave!
Really good rates and lovely rooms, once you have stayed here you will never want to stay anywhere else

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhosneigr, Owner at Ambleside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thankyou Helen for your lovely review. I am so glad that you had a good time at Ambleside and your comments were very welcome. It is good to know that I am providing such an excellent service and that it is appreciated by my guests. Warm regards, Cathy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

My mum and 2 friends stayed at Ambleside during the Diamond Jubilee / my birthday celebrations [I have a caravan and stayed on a local site]. I picked it for it's central location so my mum wouldn't have too much walking but would be part of everthing. Cathy is the perfect hostess, she seems to instantly know her guests, is friendly and an excellent cook. All guests were impressed with the choice for breakfast.
The rooms are wonderful, light and airy, well laid out - although the youngest guest was disappointed there was no TV in the room, however my mum thought this a bonus. My mum has mobility problems and found the front steps a bit awkward, but not too off putting.
I would have no hesitation recommending Cathy and Ambleside to anyone visiting Anglsey. You will have an amazing stay and be in the perfect location for all Rhosneigr has to offer and the rest of Anglesey easily accessible.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a good view of the village and you can see the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhosneigr, Owner at Ambleside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thanks for your message - it was good to hear your feedback about my b&b and Rhosneigr. Once you have visited Rhosneigr you are easily hooked and it is a hard place to topple from first choice in Anglesey. The Jubilee celebrations were something we were all are quite rightly very proud of and we have much the same sort of celebration during the August Bank Holiday period.
Regarding the televisions in the rooms, it is not my policy at present to have them in each room as I have a guest lounge where you can relax in comfy chairs with the tv and I make up a cosy log fire in the winter. There is a guest information sheet in each room which details this arrangement and it must have been missed during the changeover of guests. I have taken your comments on board and will review things over the season so thankyou for mentioning it - I like to make my b&b as suitable as I can for every taste so that every guest has a holiday to remember in the most pleasant of ways.
Thankyou again for your custom and I hope to see you in Rhosneigr over the summer for the Quiz Night at the Bistro. Best regards Cathy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at Ambleside for the Jubilee weekend and had the privilege of being looked after by the equally lovely Cathy in her lovely bed and breakfast in Rhosneigr.Could not fault it,shame about the weather we had one lovely day of sun though on the Monday and spent it at the beach at Porth Dafarch.I would have no hesitation in recommending Ambleside.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catied44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhosneigr, Owner at Ambleside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thankyou for your review. It was a delight to have you both to stay at Ambleside - rather untypical weather for June but I was glad to hear that you made the most of things and it did not spoil all of your days out during your stay. Our breakfast time chats made things so special. Anglesey has a lot to offer and I am glad that you agreed that we certainly put on a good show for the Jubilee holiday. Hope to see you again, Best wishes Cathy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I, together with my parents, spent a very enjoyable time as Cathy's guests. The location is perfect, not only for Rhosneigr, but as a base for exploring Anglesey and North Wales. Ambleside is exactly what a true British B&B should be - warm and friendly, with a great breakfast :-) We would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhosneigr, Owner at Ambleside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thankyou so much for your lovely review. As you know, I really enjoyed having your family group to stay with me here at Ambleside and to be made a part of your trip down memory lane from the days that you lived next door at Bronnant in the 1960s. Looking forward to the next time we all meet up. Best wishes from Cathy..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhosneigr
5.6 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
9.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
14.8 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
11.8 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ambleside Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ynys For High Street | High Street,, Rhosneigr LL64 5UQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Rhosneigr
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rhosneigr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just minutes away from a number of clean, sandy beaches and within walking distance of local restaurants we offer you a home from home during your stay. Our comfortable accommodation is of the highest standard with en suites and private bathrooms. Start each day with your choice of breakfast - prepared using local produce wherever possible. We do our best to cater for special dietary needs - just let us know in advance about your requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ambleside Bed And Breakfast Rhosneigr, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing