We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical woods”
other travelers have booked this property
The Owl barn and entrance porch leading to the courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Owl barn and entrance porch leading to the courtyard
Sunset at House in the Yard Newborough Beach looking over to Llanddwyn Island
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The Owl barn and entrance porch leading to the courtyard
Sunset at House in the Yard
Newborough Beach looking over to Llanddwyn Island
The Owl Barn!
Owl Barn - Lounge
Owl Barn - Lounge
Owl Barn - kitchen dresser
Owl Barn - Kitchen diner
Owl Barn - kitchen diner
The Owl Barn - double bedroom
Owl Barn - family bathroom
Owl Barn - bedded room
Owl Barn - twin bedded room
View from outside The Owl Barn overlooking the marshes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newborough, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marvmary
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Magical woods”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We enjoyed our weekend at the cottages very much- fabulous location, beautiful cottages and warm welcoming hosts! My grandsons thoroughly enjoyed playing on the woods among the bluebells and wild garlic. I have stayed in many cottages and villas in this country and abroad and never seen such a high standard of decor and attention to detail. We were all very comfortable in our beds and slept well in this peaceful location! Thank you Libby and Mark for our enjoyable family weekend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2017
Thank you for your review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your family weekend with us - it was a pleasure to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny S
1 review
“A beautiful, cosy yet spacious, welcoming home from home”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our second visit to Owl Barn and it was as lovely as we'd remembered it. Mark and Libby are so welcoming and can't do enough for you - a delicious lemon cake was awaiting us on our arrival with fresh eggs and milk. Needless to say we put on a few pounds during our visit!! The location is great, close to Newborough beach and other visitor attractions and close to Llangefni which has all your supermarkets and a beautiful nature reserve we discovered this time. It is also only about 15 minutes away from Waitrose and some lovely restaurants in Menai Bridge so it was really handy. Owl barn itself is such a lovely property, we were quite happy to come back early in the day to relax in the massive lounge with the log burner on. It is so cosy and although we were only there 4 nights we really felt like we'd had a good break in a home from home. Thanks you Mark and Libby for making us so welcome, we look forward to our next visit. Jen :)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again! Delighted you found and enjoyed the nature reserve - it is worth visiting. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2017
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Henbury
Manchester UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“People Friendly, Dog Friendly, Cake Friendly!”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week at Owl Barn - the weather was kind to us, but it wouldn't have mattered. Such was the quality of the accomodation. It could have rained all week and we would have been happy in this quiet little haven of luxury, eating Libby's home made cake, croissants and jam!
The outside area was large and thoughtfully designed. Our dogs loved the wooded area and the grass lawn and we loved the views of the bay and the spectacular sunsets. There were private areas by the cottages and Owl Barn had a little courtyard by the kitchen that Mark thoughtfully fenced in for the dogs.
The location was spot on, quiet and peaceful, but an easy drive to some great restaurants in Menai and 5 minutes from Newborough beach.
But the difference between a nice holiday and a great one was really down to the owners, Mark & Libby, who couldn't have been more helpful. It seemed genuinely important to them that you had the best holiday you could at the house in the yard, and we certainly did.
We will definitely be returning!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2017
Your review title did make us smile! We are so pleased you enjoyed your week with us and your lovely comments and hope we will see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage perfect for a relaxing break”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Our second stay at Owl Barn as a family, and it was just as perfect as the first time! Mark & Libby gave us a very warm welcome, and were always on-hand when we needed more logs or to discuss our plans for the week. Owl Barn is the perfect retreat for us; great for staying-in on the wet days and great as a base when visiting all the beautiful beaches on Angelsey. We can't wait for our next stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2017
It was lovely to welcome you all again to HITY and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us! Take care and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D
Cheshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food Glorious Food weekend!”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had an excellent weekend at the House in the Yard, The Owl Barn. Mark and Libby looked after us extremely well and we had the wonderful experience of dining at both the Marram Grass restaurant (as featured by Michel Roux Jr) and the Michelin star Sosban restaurant. But it was the little details that made the difference, the homemade cake and the thoughtful breakfast platters !
This is a great vantage point to get some Isle of Angelsey culture. I hope to go back for some more one day

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2017
Mike we're so pleased to hear you enjoyed the foodie weekend at HITY. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we do hope that we may see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faye7657
Manchester
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This place is amazing. The cottage is spotless and everything from the towels to the bedding to the general feel of the place is very much high-end. This was our second visit and we are very much looking forward to a third. It's perfect for a family get together or a romantic break - we've done both. Dogs are very much welcome - our cocker spaniel loved it. And the private acres of garden and woodland are great for kids and dogs. It's also not far from some beautiful beaches. The fact that you can rent a cottage either side of this one as part of a package for a larger get together also make it perfect for special occasions for extended family. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2017
Thank you Faye for taking the time to write your review. It was lovely to see you and Matt again and meet your friends. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime in th future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing