We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect venue for a large family reunion”
other travelers have booked this property
The Owl barn and entrance porch leading to the courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Owl barn and entrance porch leading to the courtyard
Sunset at House in the Yard Newborough Beach looking over to Llanddwyn Island
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The Owl barn and entrance porch leading to the courtyard
Sunset at House in the Yard
Newborough Beach looking over to Llanddwyn Island
The Owl Barn!
Owl Barn - Lounge
Owl Barn - Lounge
Owl Barn - kitchen dresser
Owl Barn - Kitchen diner
Owl Barn - kitchen diner
The Owl Barn - double bedroom
Owl Barn - family bathroom
Owl Barn - bedded room
Owl Barn - twin bedded room
View from outside The Owl Barn overlooking the marshes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newborough, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chuck_Nug...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for a large family reunion”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We hired all three properties (the Farmhouse, Owl Barn and Woodpecker Cottage) for a large family reunion involving young children and granny and granddad. This is a perfect venue for this - the Owl Barn has a very large kitchen and living room which are both more than capable of including the whole party for a large meal etc. This facility is quite unusual: it worked perfectly for us to have three separate dwellings but be able to convene every evening. The large field at the back provided ample space for the children to play in and the woods provided added interest. The three properties are all in very good condition and kitted out to a high specification. The hosts live next door but, because of the thoughtful way the place is set out, this is not at all intrusive. They were very welcoming but left us in peace. Pretty faultless really and very good value. Highly commended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were so pleased to be able to welcome you all and to know that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with everything you need including location.”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We visited in August with our granddaughter for a few days and had a wonderful time. Libby and Mark are lovely people and provide home made cake and eggs from there own chickens on arrival. The Owl Barn was very spacious, well appointed and very clean, all you could want. In fact it was 5 star standard. It is located in a peaceful rural location so well away from traffic.The grounds are extensive and included a large lawned area and wood with laid out paths ideal for children. The local beach at Newborough was 5 minutes drive away and was ideal for our granddaughter with a gentle slope into the sea.
Would highly recommend this property and probably will be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality of property and location near beach
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djshenton
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really clean,quiet, comfortable and relaxing space ideal for a holiday.”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Owl Barn together with by wife and two daughters in August 2016. We were blessed with great weather but whatever the weather this was a real find. It looked nice on the internet which was why I booked it but seeing really is believing as on arrival it exceeded our expectations. A great place for the kids to play and the adults to relax. Ideally situated with quick access to lovely beaches. Downstairs is a very spacious living area with lots of space to unwind. So quiet even the sheep seemed noisy! The owners Libby and Mark were very welcoming, friendly and accommodating and not at all intrusive. We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious living area and quiet location.
Liked least: Found nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
We're so pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us and hope that we will see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carnot76
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at The Owl Barn and Woodpecker Cottage (3 couples and 2 children). They are both beautiful properties. Extremely comfortable and peaceful. So relaxing to be in. The gardens and grounds are also stunning. We couldn't have asked for anything else. Libby and Mark are incredibly welcoming, wonderful hosts. We had our young children with us and the set up was fantastic for them with plenty of space downstairs and outside. The design of The Owl Barn made it very easy to keep an eye on them. A beautiful place to stay in a beautiful part of the world. We highly recommend it and will be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2016
Thank you for you lovely review - we are so pleased that you had a happy stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwendacla...
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation wonderful hosts”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just returned home after a weeks stay in the owl barn. Wow what a lovely surprise. We were greeted by Libby with a big smile who told us she had baked us a cake and left 1/2 doz eggs from their chickens and of course some milk for a much needed cup of tea. Nothing was too much trouble for either Libby or Mark. The accommodation is ideally placed for visiting lots of great beaches, well equipped with a garden area to relax in that has sunshine all day long and we were lucky enough to get wall to wall sunshine. Will definitely be going back (if you will have us?)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2016
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the weather was, as you say, perfect (it still is!). We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed here at Owl Barn earlier this month for a long weekend, having already stayed in the Farmhouse (next door) in February 2016. We really enjoyed the peaceful setting in lovely grounds, ideally placed for visiting some wonderful beaches at Newborough, Landdwyn Island, Aberffraw, etc. Both cottages are super comfortable inside - in fact on the one rainy day we had, we really enjoyed just hunkering down and chilling out inside the cottage. Perfect for a relaxing break.

Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2016
It was really good to see you back at House in the Yard and we were so pleased you enjoyed your time here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckyL10
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Cottage in super spot”
Reviewed May 26, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed in Owl Barn for three nights over Easter and it was super. The photos do not do the property justice, it is beautiful and very well equipped. The little extras such as lovely toiletries in the bathrooms, flowers in the kitchen and Libby's lemon drizzle cake upon arrival make you feel very welcome . The cottage is in lovely grounds and located near the amazing Newborough beach. Mark and Libby were extremely helpful throughout the booking process and during our stay and they should be extremely proud of their achievements at The House in the Yard. It truly is a hidden gem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of accomodation
Liked least: Nothing everything was great
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2016
Hi We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing such a lovely review. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing