We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another North Wales Hidden Treasure”

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Another North Wales Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We arrived to a relatively full car park, expecting the beach to be busy. The car park area had numerous picnic tables with an ice cream van and burger van present. Toilet/changing facilities were excellent. The expanse of coastline meant that despite the car park being full, the beach itself appeared empty. The beach was clean and the sea was warm. We ventured up to Llandwyn Island which was around a 15 minute walk, and the views from climbing to the top of the island were truly spectacular.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank trigwynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    28
    4
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We love walking onto a Llanddwyn Island. £3 to gain access into the Forest with a car - this takes you down to the car park which is next to the beach. There is an ice-cream and snack van there all through Summer, and it's there at weekends over the winter (run by a local family). There are stunning views of Snowdonia from the beach. Wander to your right towards the island (an easy twenty minute walk). The island is magical - enjoy it as it is, or read up a bit about it before you go. Don't forget to check the tide table before you go though as you might not be able to get onto (or off) the island. Could the Forestry folk (or Council) install a tide table in the car park? Overall, a big thumbs up from us.

Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beach, walks, views”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We paid £3 to park here all day, and well worth it. Terrific and extensive beach, dunes, rocks, walks in a forest, walks to a lighthouse and ruined chapel, ice-cream van, burger van, clean loos.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank judemgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ynys Llanddwyn”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

A lovely place to go on a sunny day wales is amazing !! I go here with my family alot ive been there about 20 times its amazing i love it and there s a lovely beach with a stunning view. From the beach you can see princess kate and prince william s holiday home it gorgeous. Would recommend it alot.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Stunning...could have been abroad”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

A stunning walk through the forest and along the beach...dunes, views of mountains in the distance...really special.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony and Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newborough Warren & Ynys Llanddwyn also viewed

 
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, Anglesey
Benllech, Anglesey
 

Been to Newborough Warren & Ynys Llanddwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing