We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe the good reviews!”
Review of Ty Dderw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ty Dderw
Ranked #2 of 6 Moelfre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Can't believe the good reviews!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in December; my boyfriend booked 2 nights here as a surprise romantic weekend. Nice place on arrival, friendly staff however room was pokey; how it can be advertised as a 'superior double' is beyond me. The bedroom was clean however the bathroom was filthy - I had to clean the toilet myself, hairs around back of toilet, mouldy shower. Just pure lazy cleaning! The bathroom needs updating - cracked tiles. Had awful nights sleep- lumpy bed, awful pillows with stuffing coming out - how much are pillows!? The bedroom was next to stairs and could hear people moving about the corridor, on the stairs. You feel like you ave to whisper as you can clearly hear people in other rooms! I'm not one to complain but for what we payed I would expect a lot more! Anyway, didn't stay for second night or breakfast and had an enjoyable cheaper night in a premier inn! Wrote a complaint letter to company booked through who said would pass it on, heard nothing to date. Real shame - could be a great place. I wouldn't pay over 40 pounds a night! Wouldn't recommend - sorry!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Oozells_oozells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    106
    36
    28
    12
See reviews for
54
173
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We found this place on the net and after looking at loads of reviews it seemed perfect. We arrived at the place and straight away we were greeted by very friendly staff which was excellent, we were shown to our room, which when we walked into was rather small but still adequate for our stay, once again the staff were very friendly. We slept okay, pillows were a bit lumpy and will probably need changing asap! Breakfast in the morning was lovely and the lady with short gingery/strawberry blonde hair was lovely, didnt catch her name! That night it was new years eve and we were really looking forward to the meal as the menu sounded gorgeous. We arrived downstairs to sit down for the meal, and within about 10 mins of being seated the starters came out. We had ordered the duck terrine and as soon as it was put in front of me looked like cat food that i buy for the cat, which unfortunately put us off straight away. The maincourse then came out and i ordered the chicken in a mustard cream sauce. I started to eat it which tasted lovely, but as i started to cut into the wing of the chicken, i noticed a lot of redness, which definitely didnt looked properly cooked. Im not normally a person that complains, but seeing as its £30 a head i think it was right for me to mention something, i called one of the girls over and she immediately took it away, she then arrived a couple of minutes later to tell me: 'The chef said thats normal for the wing to be a bit red because otherwise the breast will be overdone'. Funny that because ive never had that problem before. I'd felt like i'd been put on the spot with this response but she then said: 'Chef said he can cook it a little bit longer'. By this point it had put me right off the meal and i said is there anything else i can eat? so she went back to check and did offer me the beef option. This then took a further 20 mins to come out which by this time my partner had finished his! Once i had finished mine it was another 30 mins until the plates were cleared, then the puddings came out which i will say was nice so im not being completely negative. It was ages until these were cleared which then at this point we were both feeling deflated and not in the mood for new years at all and just wanted to go to bed, we then had coffee and i asked one of the girls if we could take the cheese and biscuits to the room, it wasnt until another 20 mins that i had to collar a waitress to ask where the cheese was!? My partner had also asked for some water in the meal which never came. Overall, it felt like it was very disorganised, there was never a waitress to call over because they always seemed to be in the kitchen (i went to the toilet at one point and as i walked past the kitchen, the two girls were just chatting) It was a massive let down and paying £30 a head felt like a bit of a kick in the teeth. Fortunately, the breakfast was nice again the following morning. Will i come back? Who knows.

Room Tip: Try a luxury room as the superiors are quite small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshlady953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hirwaun, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here previously when it was the Oak Lodge.
Still the same friendly atmosphere even though it has changed hands since.
Massive improvement on decor. Food good, beer excellent. Astounding views. Nice log fire in the dining room was appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlinaphirwaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stay at Ty Dderw country inn on a small tour of North Wales, the views over the bay from the country inn are stunning. As soon as we arrived we felt relaxed and comfortable.We ate in the restaurant and it was of a very high standard, if we return to this part of the world again i wouldnt hesitate to stay here again. Keep it up tean Ty Dderw

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We found the staff very helpful and friendly. The room was smallish, but adequate and clean. Nice thick towels for bath/basin. The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard, and the full English breakfast was good too. We enjoyed our stay, and would recommend Ty Dderw to others without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Octorog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Staying nearby in Moelfre in September 2012 we walked 10 minutes to Ty DDerw for an evening meal. Although we had no reservation on a busy evening, the staff were very helpful and friendly, and found us a table. We also enjoyed a drink in the comfortable bar area before eating. Our meal was very enjoyable - suitable portions, tasty, and a nice atmosphere. We returned the following evening, .... and the next. Tip: if you walk there or back after dark take a torch, as the inn is about 100 m along a track with no lighting - no problem, but easier if you can see the grass clumps growing in the middle of the track. Overall a great experience and I would readily go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nodrog252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for one night, needed an overnight stay as taking our son back to University in Bangor and all hotels in Bangor were booked so this was recomended. We had a lovely room with superb views over the bay. We arrived late but they had a table for us to eat in the restaurant and it was the so good. The Welsh beef was incredible and lamb just fell off the bone. Lovely desserts and breakfast in the morning very good. We have now found the place to stay when we come up to North Wales.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moelfre
7.0 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
314 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
16.2 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
707 reviews
9.5 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
236 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Dderw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Dderw

Property: Ty Dderw
Address: Llanallgo, Moelfre LL72 8HB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Moelfre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Moelfre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Dderw 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Dderw Country Inn, on the beautiful Isle of Anglesey. It is short walk from the maritime village of Moelfre and The Anglesey Coastal Path. The Inn is a converted farmhouse set among neighbouring farmland with panoramic sea and countryside views. All of our 11 en suite bedrooms have views of either the sea or the countryside and some have views of both. We have single, double, twin and super king bedrooms as well as a family bedroom,each with their own individual character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ty Dderw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Dderw Moelfre, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing