We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Better than the photos”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Milverton Cottage

The Living Room with large French doors into the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Living Room with large French doors into the garden.
The Dining Room with views looking out onto the Menai Straits Views of Menai Bridge and the Straits from the dining Room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The Living Room with large French doors into the garden.
The Dining Room with views looking out onto the Menai Straits
Views of Menai Bridge and the Straits from the dining Room.
View of the bridge and the Menai Straits from the Living Room.
Cosy gas coal effect fire in the Living Room.
Fitted Kitchen units with all Mod Cons!
The fully equipped Kitchen.
View of the Living Room from the Hallway.
Downstairs Bathroom with walk I shower cubicle, wash hand basin and loo.
Double Bedroom view fabulous views onto the Menai Straits and the garden.
View from the Double Bedroom looking out onto the water.
Fantastic views of the bridge and Menai Straits from the other Double Bedroom.
Double Bedroom looking out onto the fabulous view of the Straits.
Upstairs Bathroom with bath, separate walk in shower cubicle, wash hand basin and loo.
Single Bedroom overlooking the road.
Other Single Bedroom overlooking the road.
View of the Menai Bridge from the garden.
Gate and very gentle steps down into the garden of Milverton.
Stunning view of the Straits and a good place to sit and relax and watch the ever changing water.
View of Milverton  from the water (right hand side of the White House in the centre of the picture)
Watching the sailing boats on the Straits from the cottage or the garden.
View of the Menai Bridge from the Wales side.
Back of Milverton  Cottage showing the  gate into the garden and the two single bedroom windows.
View of Milverton showing it's fantastic position so close to the Menai Straits.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Menai Bridge, Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cardiboy
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Better than the photos”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

They say 'location,location, location', well Milverton hits that criteria at AAA+. Located literally on the shore of the Menai Straits under the Telford bridge it is the most stunning of locations.

The cottage has everything, is beautifully decorated and furnished and comfortably caters for 6/7 adults. The main bedrooms are spacious whilst the two twins are adequate space wise although you don't stay at the cottage to spend all day in bed! Both bathrooms have everything you need whilst the kitchen is furnished with all the usual items. The lounge is very comfortable and leads onto a small terrace where you can sit and relax watching life on the strait or just the tide coming in and out. Very therapeutic.

The dining room in keeping with the rest of the cottage is well decorated and looks out over the strait and comfortably sits 7 adults.

The property is a brilliant base to explore both Anglesey and mainland North Wales. On our short visit we went to Beaumaris, Holyhead, South Stack, Caernarfon, Llanberis and the Zip Wire in Bethesda.

Menai Bridge has all the facilities including a Waitrose within 5 minutes, indeed we walked to it once, and has plenty of places to eat. Within a 5 minute walk is the Bridge Inn, Anglesey Arms, Liverpool Arms and Dylan's. Our favourite was the Liverpool Arms, good food and atmosphere.

Upon arrival do not be put off by the apparent lack of parking, the cottage is located on a narrow lane and I was not too happy leaving the car there for fear of damage. However, a quick drive around the one way system and you are bound to find a decent parking spot with 2 minutes of the cottage. Suggest stopping outside the cottage for drop off and pick up.

I cannot speak highly enough of the cottage or indeed Anne the proprietor who is so very helpful and friendly. This is a holiday let of the highest quality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2017
What a lovely review, one of the longest and nicest we've recieved, so thanks so much for taking the time to write it! And totally agree with everything you have said, particularly as regards the car parking, that you can't park immediately outside the cottage, except to load and unload, because just at this point the road is very narrow, but you can always find somewhere to park very close to Milverton! Pleased to hear you thought the cottage was actually better than the photos, as they were taken a few years ago, and we've done quite a bit to the cottage since then, as we are always trying to update and make it the very best that it can be, as it's very important to us that everybody staying at Milverton loves the cottage as much as we do! One thing however that will never change is the absolutely stunning view, and its position so close to the water, which couldn't be nearer, but yet it will never flood, because of its wonderful elevated position above the Straits! Good to hear you thought Milverton was beautifully decorated and furnished, as it was all interior designed and we absolutely love the result! You certainly packed in a lot of places to visit over your relatively short stay at Milverton, but there's still so much of the island still left to be explored! So hope you will come back and stay again to see the rest, as you would be extremely welcome! And good you sampled some of the fine eateries of Menai Bridge as there's so much choice and the town has an excellent reputation for its huge variety of pubs and restaurants, which are all within walking distance of the cottage! We were also very pleased you thought that the cottage was of the highest quality because we've always tried very hard to make it so and also that you thought I was helpful and friendly, which is kind of you to say, as I really enjoy doing and managing all the bookings of the cottage and lovely that so many of our guests come back and stay many times!
Anne and Gerald.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2017
Thanks very much for your lovely review and pleased you enjoyed staying at Milverton Cottage and found it the perfect location to explore both Anglesey and the Snowdonia area of Norh Wales. Good to hear that you had lovely weather the whole time you were staying, and were able to sit out in the garden overlooking the Straits, which is a real sun trap, and nowhere nicer, and there's always something interesting to see, whether it be boats, kayaks, rib rides, fishermen, divers, or an enormous amount of different wildlife etc And like most of our guests you hope to come and stay again soon as you would be extremely welcome and we will look forward to it.
Anne and Gerald.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed March 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2017
Thanks very much for your lovely review and it's always very special to welcome guests back time after time and so pleased you've already booked to come back and stay at Milverton for a 4th time in 2018! Good to hear you all love staying at the cottage and find it all very well equipped because we've always taken on board anything that guests staying there feel we are missing and try and provide that, so hopefully now I think we have probably got everything anyone could possibly need while staying there. And yes agree that the real star of the show is the view, something that I don't think anyone could ever tire of because it's ever changing with always something interesting to look at, either from the comfort of the cottage or when relaxing out in the garden.Will very much look forward to welcoming you back in a years time!
Anne and Gerald.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 3, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review and so pleased to hear you enjoyed staying at Milverton and thought it was the perfect location with the lovely view of the ever changing Menai Straits. Glad you found the cottage spotlessly clean and found everything you needed and thought the kitchen was very well equipped as we've tried hard to think of everything anyone would need while staying there, to make their stay as easy and as comfortable as possible. And yes although it's lovely to sit and have a meal in the dining room looking straight out onto the Straits, it's great to have so many different good places to eat, so if you don't want to cook, you don't have to, and all within a short walk of the cottage which means you are completely spoilt for choice! Pleased you would like to come and stay again as you would be extremely welcome.
Anne and Gerald.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and it's been so nice to welcome you back to Milverton for your 5th visit! You are becoming one of our many regular visitors to the cottage, which is lovely. And pleased to hear that it's the perfect place to relax, unwind and rebalance from busy London life! Good to hear you enjoyed going on a rib ride right past the cottage and loved the lovely views looking straight out onto the Menai Straits! Newborough Beach is definitely my favourite Anglesey beach because you can walk for miles and miles looking at the fabulous views across the water of the Welsh mountains. Pleased you found all the many amenities of Menai Bridge good and very convenient that they are all within walking distance of the cottage, but you also discovered some of the delights of Beaumaris, which has lots to offer and is only a few miles away. Good to hear you would like to come and stay at Milverton again as its always lovely to welcome back past guests to the cottage.
Anne and Gerald
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
Thank you so much for your brilliant review and so pleased to hear you enjoyed your 3rd visit to Milverton and again found everywhere well equipped and spotlessly clean, and a great place to relax, whichever time of year that you go and stay at the cottage. Looking out onto the ever changing and constantly moving water of the Menai Straits is always very therapeutic and a real time waster, which I don't think you would never tire of! Pleased to hear you enjoyed some nice long walks around the island as it's an area of outstanding beauty but also that you enjoyed the walk on your doorstep between the two bridges. As you say, there is still lots of the island left to see, so hope you will be able to return soon to do so, and will be able to enjoy sitting out in our lovely garden in the sunshine overlooking the water!
Anne and Gerald
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patchjess...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Milverton”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at the milverton couldn't of been better. It's in great location only down side was the parking. Anne who owns the cottage is very helpful. Can't wait to return. X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2017
Thanks very much for your very nice review and pleased to hear you enjoyed staying at Milverton, loved the location and thought your stay couldn't have been bettered. Good to hear, like most of our guests that you would like to come back and stay again, as you would be most welcome. I know you came with 3 cars and so sorry to hear the parking wasn't great, as there is no off street parking for Milverton as we prefer to have the beautiful garden we have overlooking the Straits to sit out in, which Is a real gem, and think we are so lucky to have, as most of the houses in the road, don't have gardens, and think is one of the many pluses of the Milverton! If guests come with just one car, parking generally is fine, as there are no parking charges or restrictions in the road. But so pleased you enjoyed staying at the cottage and had a good time and look forward to welcoming you back very soon I hope.
Anne and Gerald
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing