We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!”

Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens have undergone a spectacular transformation and are being restored to their former glory. First laid out in 1804 in the 'picturesque' style of Humphrey Repton, the famous Victorian landscape designer, the gardens had become derelict by 1996. There are 10 acres of gardens, included a 2 acre Walled Garden, fantastic valley gardens packed with unusual and interesting plants, flowering shrubs and trees; river and waterfalls. Home made cakes are served in the traditional Tea Room. Visitor Centre describing the history and restoration of the gardens. In 2015 open 12noon-5pm on Weds/Thurs/Suns in April; Tues/Weds/Thurs/Suns May-Sep; Weds/Suns in October. Pre-booked private group tours by appointment.
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This really is a hidden gem... For garden lovers this is a delight, offering beautiful vistas and gorgeous banks of plants. There is an amazing collection of multicoloured hydrangea set on the slopes of steep valleys and interspersed with many other varieties of plants including many lovely ferns. The whole garden is well planned with good paths giving access for all, though it could be strenuous for those who may be wheelchair bound. But that shouldn't stop the adventurous! The whole setting is breath-taking and the visitors centre and tea rooms make for a welcome break. There are some cottages available on the estate for those wishing to stay awhile, though I have not sampled these delights

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AHSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay L, Guest Relations Manager at Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hello and thank you for your kind comments. We're glad you liked the planting in particular as a lot of care and thought has gone into planting for a long season of interest. We were proud to win the award for Best Place to Stay in Wales last year, for our self-catering cottages in the Gardens. Hope to see you again, perhaps for the Spring display.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    48
    3
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A pretty break in the day”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Not a massive garden, but a beautiful split between a manicured lawn and a "wilderness" area that was very charming.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dlanods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay L, Guest Relations Manager at Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hello, we're glad you enjoyed your time in the Hidden Gardens. The area currently open to the public extends to about 10 acres, however you may have noticed that we are currently restoring a new section of the lower valley. We hope that this will be open for the 2015 season. Thanks for taking the time to let us have your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Discovered this garden after picking up a leaflet at the hotel we were staying at in Porthmadog. We were out on a trip to Caernarfon Castle but this visit didn't last long and found we were only about 20 minutes away from Plas Cadnandt. As a gardening enthusiast all I can say is wow! What a find this was. It's a shame it doesn't offer longer opening times as it doesn't open until 1pm'til 5pm and only a few days a week. Lots of hydrangeas in flower when we visited and the lower garden with the waterfalls/woodland was wonderful. There's a nice tea room offering varied homemade cakes and scones which were delicious. Will definitely visit again if we return to this part of Wales, it's not to be missed!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nanniemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay L, Guest Relations Manager at Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the Hydrangeas, they are so beautiful at the moment and in such a fantastic range of colours and forms. Now its September we are open on Wednesday, Thursday and Sunday afternoons from 1-5pm. At other times we offer private visits for groups of 25 or more people, hence we don't open every day. However we are currently considering how often we will be opening next year. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Visited with family. The children enjoyed the freedom of the gardens and especially the river. Superb cakes and fabulous scones! Money well spent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay L, Guest Relations Manager at Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you, we're especially glad the children enjoyed their visit. Most of our young visitors enjoy being 'in charge' of the garden map and a river and waterfalls are always special - even as grown-ups we remember such lovely places. Let's hope your children remember the Hidden Gardens in years to come. Maybe come and stay in one of the cottages some time, then they can really get to know the place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Exquisite garden.”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Just off the road from Menai Bridge to Beaumaris you must not miss the sign to this hidden gem. Recently restored garden with formal and informal areas including woodland & waterfall cascade.
Newly built cafe and facilities at entrance do not detract from the magic atmosphere as you enter the garden. Double planted boarders enclosed in box hedge frames in the style popularised by Gertrude Jekyl, a small enchanting Elizabethan inspired knot garden and pyramid topiary on the huge formal lawn. Individual holiday cottages add charm to the site.
Then the woodland walk to the waterfall with amazing hydrangeas in some colours I'd not seen except at Chelsea! We visited in mid August and can't wait to return next June. Anglesey is a treasure itself and this garden enhances it further.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay L, Guest Relations Manager at Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello, treasured comments from you, thank you. We're happy that you love Anglesey just as we do and especially pleased that Plas Cadnant is adding to your enjoyment of our lovely Island. We look forward to welcoming you back in June, a season when the garden will look different again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing