We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peace and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens

Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens have undergone a spectacular transformation and are being restored to their former glory. First laid out in 1804 in the 'picturesque' style of Humphrey Repton, the famous Victorian landscape designer, the gardens had become derelict by 1996. There are 10 acres of gardens, included a 2 acre Walled Garden, fantastic valley gardens packed with unusual and interesting plants, flowering shrubs and trees; river and waterfalls. Home made cakes are served in the traditional Tea Room. Visitor Centre describing the history and restoration of the gardens. In 2015 open 12noon-5pm on Weds/Thurs/Suns in April; Tues/Weds/Thurs/Suns May-Sep; Weds/Suns in October. Pre-booked private group tours by appointment.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“peace and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

stayed in the brewhouse on the 5th july for a week,excellent cottage,everything you needed was there,graham and anthony made us feel really welcome as did humphrey the cat,fantastic gardens and ground to explore,highly recommended,we will be returning next year

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank steve o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay L, Guest Relations Manager at Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Glad you had a lovely time in the Brewhouse, such a lovely cosy cottage for two. The gardens are especially beautiful at the moment and what can be nicer than having them all to yourselves in the quiet of the evening? Come and stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    42
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Have been visiting Angelsey for many years do'nt know how we've missed it,a real jem of a place.At this time of year and on the day we visited,weather perfect it was at it's best allow two hours as a slow meander through the wooded area to the waterfall is a joy.Not a disapointment from anyone we spoke to,why it's not open on more days I do'nt know.Work is on going but not disruptive in any way.My wife is disabled and walks with the aid of an elbow crutch and managed to see all the garden though I would say that if your in a wheelchair whoever is pushing you needs to be Hercules due to the gravel pathways and the general terrain,stepped areas could prove problematic,not suitable for Madge Mobiles (scooters) due to steep inclines and deep gravel in places.On entry in to walled garden watch out for large part Persian cat who mugs you into giving it a fuss by lying across your feet letting you proceed once he's satisfied with your efforts.Tearooms bright and airy all staff pleasant,scones a bit on the dry side but the jam on offer made up for that,other snacks and beverages available.This is a place for non garden people as well as enthusiasts,if your visiting Angelsey this is a must.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin Philip h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay L, Guest Relations Manager at Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank your for your review, we're glad you were able to explore all the garden. This is only the second full year of being open to the public following the restoration of the gardens. It has taken 18 years so far, and as you saw a new area is presently being worked on by Anthony, the owner. At times when we are not open to the public, we welcome private groups such as gardening clubs. Your points about accessibility are well made as the gardens sit within a valley and are steep in places. We usually advise people with mobility scooters to enjoy the 2 acre walled garden and double herbaceous border. We are constantly looking at how we can make the gardens more comfortably accessible and will be working on this further over the coming winter. Now you have found us, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every department”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Reading through other reviews, I was baffled by the comments by Wendy from Barnsley, who marked this as 'poor.' I can only think she went to the wrong address. Everything about the gardens was fantastic. A fascinating lay-out, extraordinary and original planting and superb visitor services. The front-of-house, a woman called Di on the day we went, was charm and helpfulness personified, while the tea shop was absolutely first-class - beautiful light sponge cakes in generous portions, and crockery and cutlery glisteningly clean. The gents toilet, as well as being spotless, even had a vase of fresh sweet peas on the window ledge!

A really great place to visit and a triumph for all concerned.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Toby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlasCadnant2014, Guest Relations Manager at Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks Toby for a lovely review, it has blown away the clouds of disappointment from an uncharacteristically negative one a few weeks ago. We think that our gentlemen visitors are just as deserving of flowers in the loo as the ladies. The sweet peas are flowering their hearts out and we are picking them by the bucketful every week. Di was very pleased with your comments thank you. Come back and see us again next time you come up to Wales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a little piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

A wonderful, peaceful garden. I am an enthusiastic garden visitor and this is one of my favourites. This is a garden of contrasts, from the beautiful cottage gardens and herbaceous borders to the almost wild area reaching down to the waterfall and river. The hydrangeas are in full bloom at this time and in every imaginable colour. Although the garden slopes quite sharply down to the river there are plenty of beautiful rustic benches to sit on to catch your breath and enjoy the views. The tea rooms are very nice with a good amount of outside seating in a charming courtyard. My husband assures me the scones are the best he has tasted in ages. All in all a great place to visit. Helpful, informative staff, clean and pleasant buildings, just lovely. We will be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank justmarried2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlasCadnant2014, Guest Relations Manager at Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
One of our local Anglesey supporters, thank you. It's great that people living in Anglesey are sharing in the discovery of the gardens as they're restored. We have quite a few local people now who have season tickets so they can come along when family and friends come to visit over the summer. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful and peaceful gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Th staff welcomed us and explained the best route round the gardens. The walk took us a relaxed hour and a half, but there was pleanty to see. Huge number of different ferns and hydrangers were in evidence. The colours in the perenial beds were splendid. The shapes of the lawns and formal topiary were interesting and beautifully kept. The tea room was excellent and the cakes yummy. If walking from Menai Bridge be aware of the half mile up hill walk up the drive!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rhianwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlasCadnant2014, Guest Relations Manager at Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the gardens, even with the long walk up the drive. The ferns are looking very lovely at the moment and we have quite a number of different kinds. They especially like the humid micro-climate in the Valley Gardens. Anthony's favourite is Blechnum Chilensis, the hard fern and it grows really well by the stream in the lower valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing