We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go there!”
Review of Miguel's Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

Miguel's Mexican Restaurant
Price range: $13 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At Miguel´s Mexican Restaurant we aim to bring authentic Mexican cuisine to you, to inspire your taste buds and offer a unique insight in to Mexican cuisine.Miguel´s offers an extensive authentic Mexican menu with delicious dishes to tempt every palate. The atmosphere in Miguel´s is friendly, family orientated and children are always welcome. We also offer a takeaway service and a range of cocktails.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not go there!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Where do I start!? The food - Very greasy! Steak fajita's ordered, there were 4 pieces of steak in it, the same story for the duck fajita's! Felt very sickly when eating the food because of the grease! The nachos with cheese, what cheese!? The marinated chicken was not marinated, it only had paprika sprinkled on it! The chef came out when we complained and said that's how they do it in Mexico, which is not true! The people aren't even Mexican! Service - We were the only table there to begin with and it took 45 minutes for the started to come, the chef was strolling in and out of the resteraunt without a care in the world! We then waited an hour for the mains! It was not worth the wait! They only had once choice of beer and they were very warm! No wine menu! Out of the 4 tables that were there, 3 complained and were given a discount off the rediculous prices!! Would never go there again! Our tables weren't cleared so we had to sueeze everything on the table to eat our greasy food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    12
    8
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“No atmosphere, not very mexican and no wine list............”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Decided to try Miguel's with no prior knowledge of the place. Big mistake! When we entered on a friday night the place was empty apart from a table of two. I know this is a bad sign- empty restaurant but we decided to give it a go and support local ventures. Beware- before you get to your seat you have to tread carefully along the slippery sliding floor without falling flat on your face!
I asked for the wine menu only to be told that there was no wine menu just red or white so we tentatively asked for red! I can honestly say that this is probably the worst red wine i have ever tasted and could not drink it. The waitress was very sweet and rather than telling her that the wine was dreadful we decided to say that it was corked. She replied by saying that it had been freshly opened that morning! It be became obvious through the course of the evening that the whole place is a disaster and that the kitchen and front of house staff were clueless. The food was better than the wine but both dishes that we ordered were basically the same.
We were not looking for a fine dining experience but this was a joke. As other reviewers have mentioned it's good to support locally and we do have excellent restaurants in the area but unfortunately Miguel's is not one of those and I will not be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Habela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bland / Terrible Service”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Will never ever return here! I love mexican food and was excited to have a local mexican restaurant.
- Small (very cramped) eating area. You'll be able to hear everyones conversations.
- TERRIBLE service. Waiting on staff were clueless.
- Worst Cocktails Ever. Mine was so weak and watery.
- Food was the worst bit. Goats Cheese Burrito was so dry and bland.

If that hasn't put you off - then you'll have to go there and learn the hard way!

So many nice places to eat in the area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Manon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangefni
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do not go there!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went there last night! A booking of 20 people! It was dreadful- to start with there was no cider, the toilets were dirty! Wine was ordered only had odd bottles, wine glasses were dirty and had to be returned! Nachoes were just some triangles with onions and salad peppers with a bit of cheese. The meal was due at 7.30 but it was late coming out, cold and in dribs and drabs! The lady who organised our party didnt even get a meal! Tacos were flat and dripping in fat, one lady had chilli and it was just mince floating in water! I could go on and on! We had been warned but you like to give everyone a chance but just don't go there!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tailawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“My First Bad Review!!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have never submitted a bad review before! Awful food and service, apparently the chef left last week to go to another country!! I will not go into too many details, best just avoid it.

The sizzling chicken fajitas does not sizzle and is has frozen peas and sweet corn it, which coincidentally are the same fillings in the chicken quesadillas!

My daughters frozen chips were burnt.

Also no beer to drown out the poor food,,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PYB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miguel's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Menai Bridge, Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Anglesey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing