We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly disappointed!”
Review of Liverpool Arms

Liverpool Arms
Ranked #12 of 36 Restaurants in Menai Bridge
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Welsh, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We've been a frequent visitor for Sunday Lunch at the Liverpool Arms whenever we visit Bangor. Visited last Sunday and was slightly disappointed as previously we'd always had an excellent good value meal. We had the Sunday Lunch - lamb was a bit fatty and beef not up to it's usual standard. Service was good as usual so not bad but our expectations had been raised following earlier visits. Hopefully, by the time of our next visit "normal service" will have been restored unless we find somewhere else to try!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    53
    18
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
158 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Well Kept Watering hole”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This welcoming and well kept watering hole had friendly, talkative and knowledgeable locals gathered at the bar giving a good bustling atmosphere. The meal areas were all clean, tidy and well laid out, being a mix of open areas plus cosy corners, all looking recently redecorated with attentive, friendly bar and waiting staff.

The evening menu had a wide range of choices for each course so catering for all palates including genuine vegetarian meal choices on offer. There was also a good range of daily specials on the blackboard including locally caught seafood, all offered at competitive prices. The good sized tasty Sea Bass eaten was served promptly and presented hot with an ample array of complementing vegetables. The desert was equally attractive and filling.

In addition, a good range of well kept real ales was stocked as well as a range of wines to complement the meal too…

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Brassed_Off_Jynxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Ordinary pub grub. Average. Nothing special.
Very disappointing after having read the previous reviews. We were expecting something special.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MGO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant watering hole”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I haven't eaten here but have been drinking and playing pool. Lovely and clean and fresh since the refurb. The pool table area is quirky but fun.
The toilets must be a heritage site since they didn't change them!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thoroughly dissapointing visit, we didn't even get to taste the food as they were unable to serve us, despite giving us a table ”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We researched where to eat on our first night in Menai bridge and the reviews on here lead us to the Liverpool arms. We arrived at 7.50pm on friday evening an checked at the bar that food was bring served, to which we were told it was until 8.30pm. Finding a table was no problem and the waitress came straight to our table to take the order, but we asked a few minutes as we hadn't even looked at the menu yet.
After 15 mins the waitress had not returned despite passing our table several times. We were then approached by the bar man who started to say 'I'm very sorry...' to which I assumed he was going to apologise for the delay, I couldn't have been more surprised when he finished his sentence with '... I'm afraid that we are unable to serve you this evening as we have a large party due'. I explained that the waitress had already been to our table once but we had only just sat down, so how could we now be turned away?

Sadly, we were refused service and the cost of our drinks refunded. It's a shame as we were so looking forward to the meal and the food around us looked good (well except the cOmplimentary caterpillar in the salad of the gent on the next table). The young man was very apologetic and embarassed, but it just left us totally appalled to actually be turned away from an establishment that had offered to serve us just ten minutes prior.

Perhaps the above scores are a little unfair, but as we were unable to taste the food, assess the value and were left with a very unwelcoming atmosphere we simply left our drinks in search of an alternative venue.

Overall a very disappointing experience that could have been handled so much better by at least offering us the option to order but with a wait for food. As we left the bar man called 'thank you - see you again' - unfortunately that's probably not going to happen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Midgetgem77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liverpool Arms also viewed

Menai Bridge, Anglesey
 
Menai Bridge, Anglesey
 

Been to Liverpool Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing