We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minor disappointment”
Review of Dylan's

Dylan's
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $44
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Minor disappointment”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Previously visited once at lunchtime and was really impressed with the building, fantastic views and buzzy atmosphere so decided to return one evening for a "proper" meal.

Slightly disappointed. The quality of the food did not match the quality of the restaurant itself. Overpriced for what it is.

Having said that, we are returning this Saturday to see if we were unfortunate in our choice of food.

The outlook cannot be beaten though, which is probably why a little expensive.

They need to spend more time concentrating on the quality of the food as I got the impression that the view was over compensating for what appeared on the plate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane E, Owner at Dylan's, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for your honest appraisal of the restaurant and the food Richard. Your comments have been passed on to the kitchen. With regards our pricing, sourcing locally the very best ingredients we can does come at a premium – one which most customers understand and fully appreciate. I can also assure you that we do not rest on our laurels – you’re right that the location and views are stunning, but we would never allow that to take precedent over what comes out of the kitchen. I hope you enjoyed your second visit to the restaurant.
Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,312
    589
    251
    111
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great atmosphere!!!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

we visited this place bank holiday and have done a few times before.. we love the place!! think the menu is a bit short on choice is the only down fall.. i would like to see the menu improve as i like to struggle to decide to picking from a menu because there are usually to many things i like.. on the other hand we have a fantastic time when we go as there is a top bar man 'barry' who certainly knows his drinks and looks after you, and worth his weight in gold...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickjonesjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane E, Owner at Dylan's, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for the positive feedback Nick. Barry the barman is becoming increasingly popular these days! With a pizza section, salads, mains, seafood and burger section; vegetarian options, an extensive kiddies menu and daily specials we think we’ve got the bases pretty well covered – but if you think we’re missing anything please let us know.
Thanks for review and hope to see you again soon at Dylan’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangefni, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent restaurant all round”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have visited Dylans many times now and feel its time to share on our experiences, the service is always impecable, as is the food. We have got talking to Barry on several occasions and enjoy every visit. The views are to die for and feels so relaxing while there. if you havent been yet then your missing out. Thank you to everyone at Dylans

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not happy”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I love trying new places, we went for a walk and came across this place, I went in to see if we could book for another time, I stood there waiting for ten mins (I know this as I timed it) I was waiting for someone to come and help to book, staff walked past me constantly, no one acknowledged me at all, I can understand they were busy but courtesy doesn't cost them anything. I would have loved to have made a booking and enjoyed the food but I wasn't going to wait any longer, I would have been served quicker in macdonalds

  • Visited September 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane E, Owner at Dylan's, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Ruggers,
I thank you for your feedback, which we take very seriously. My only concern here is that you waited 8 months before choosing to review the restaurant – making it very difficult for us to comment on the particular experience you describe. Suffice it say, we work really hard with staff to deliver a warm and friendly welcome to all visitors and if, as you say, you really enjoy trying new places, why not get in touch and arrange to give us another try – I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely, tasty, calming!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited Dylans on a beautiful, sunny day. All the windows and doors were open, unvailing the beautiful afon Menai, over to Bangor, Felin and Caernarfon abd back to Llandudno the otherside. Our 4 year old was thrilled that she had 'had lunch on a boat!' The staff were excellent, and very attentive with a young, proffesional vibe to their service. Nearly all were bilingual, which is heartwarming. The food was very nice, sticking with the marine theme, presented casually in a wooden box- nice touch! I had an Aphrodite pizza which was nice, but I do think it coud of been better, with only the slightest tweaks. Pizzas can look impressively artisan with a bit more attention to detail presentation wise, and maybe a few more toppings wouldnt go amiss,but the content was fab- goats cheese, figs and honey- mmm! We left feeling happy to have visited this local and stunning gem. Will def return to this wonderfly child friendly establishment, with colouring crayons and papers bought out to both our 4 and 1 year old. Da iawn Dylan's, Diolch yn fawr!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PiliPala30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane E, Owner at Dylan's, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Diolch yn fawr, Twmfleur. Glad the family had such a nice time. We had a wonderful few days in the sun last week – and being able to open up the doors onto the terraces is really quite special. Especially pleasing to hear your daughter’s description of lunching on a boat! gweld chi cyn bo hir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dylan's also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Dylan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing