We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Different, Very Amazing”
Review of Chateau Rhianfa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau Rhianfa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Different, Very Amazing”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed for 1 night as a surprise for a 30th Birthday present, chose to upgrade to the Duchess Suite, which is apparently the best room they have and it did not disappoint!!!
As soon as we walked in we found the staff very friendly and professional and wow the actual building is something else, you can spend the whole afternoon exploring the random and amazing rooms they have to offer, often hidden and where you wouldn't expect to find a 'room'
The grounds were equally impressive, we enjoyed a lovely walk around, took turns on the swing in the garden and paddled in the water on the private beach, it really gave a very romantic feeling!
The Duchess Suite was something else, beautifully decorated, the most comfortable and huge bed but the free standing bath in the bay window overlooking the water and Snowdonia was beautiful, no finer way to spend midnight under the stars with a bottle of bubbly!
Communication in advance of the trip was excellent and mainly because of one of us being coeliac (strict gluten free diet) and this was accommodated brilliantly, the whole evening meal (apart from desert) was gluten free and so was breakfast, such a pleasant surprise and the staff were so attentive.
We'll definitely be coming back....

Room Tip: upgrade to Duchess Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ste_Raw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Ste_Raw,

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Duchess room and relaxed so much during your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    212
    106
    39
    18
See reviews for
117
629
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Porthmadog
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

It was a travelzoo deal and well worth it. We were gifted with a glorious day and the views were to die for. Snowdonia mountians across the straits towering into a deep blue sky... romantic. We were upgraded to the Gate lodge which was their self catering cottage. two bedrooms (Double and Kingsize bed) and two shower rooms and a small lounge area and fully fitted kitchen. Although our pet dog wasn't allowed in this cottage, she was allowed to walk around the grounds and she loved it. The gardens go all the way down to the foreshore and the waters of the Menai strait lap on the ancient slipway.
We joined our fellow guests for prosecco and canapés and we all went down the 2 floors to the banqueting hall. I was secretly pleased that we then had our own table and we enjoyed a 5 course well balanced meal. A very enjoyable evening. We got up early and had another walk with the dog and sat at the mirror like waters, looking at the sunrise, Bangor pier and the great Orme beyond. Breakfast was good although I am not sure about the style of piling everything on top of everything else it was tasty and filling. WE enjoyed our 30th Wedding anniversary and will book to come and do it all again - soon.

Room Tip: I doubt if there are any bad rooms. Suggest rooms at the front of the hotel will be quieter as a roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowdonia_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Snowdonia_Holid...

Many thanks for writing such a lovely review of your stay at the Chateau, it was fantastic to read that you enjoyed celebrating your 30th anniversary with us in such style!

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed for 1 night on secret escape package. We had a lovely afternoon tea in the music room on arrival. We explored the hotels rooms and grounds which were beautiful. We played croquet, tennis and ended up in the hot tub which overlooks the garden. The dining experience was second to none and made our evening an enjoyable one. All the staff were helpful and friendly. I would definitely return again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wozzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Wozzers,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of your stay, it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed all aspects.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in due course.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the chateau two days ago via a secret escapes luxury 'romantic' break as a birthday treat for him. Sadly, we both felt very let down as what we experienced was neither romantic or luxury. We found the staff to be less than engaging, perhaps down to poor training, and the accommodation was definitely not luxurious The chateau certainly has potential but it would seem is in need of some urgent TLC and atmosphere. The main disappointment was the fact that whilst expecting a lovely quiet romantic experience including dinner for two, we were seated at dinner with other 20 people, all of whom I'm sure we're equally surprised! There was a distinct lack of atmosphere, not even any gentle background music.

The food was at best average!

The gardens, whilst encompassing a lovely view across the strait, were scruffy and again in need of urgent TLC. Parking can be tricky if one arrives after others have already parked outside the chateau. Further parking is down an adjacent very rough track and we would advise anyone with a low to the ground decent car to avoid this as you might acquire a few dints!

All in all, I would not recommend this venue based in our first and last experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Joanne O,

Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly to discuss your points further.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

My mother, sister and I spent 3 nights at this beautiful hotel full of character. The staff were lovely, very friendly and attentive. Victor was especially helpful from the moment we arrived and all the other young staff. Our suite was spacious, comfortable with lovely views. We were surprised however at the lack of amenities in our room (soaps, hairdryer etc) for a hotel of that calibre and we had to ask for another cup and tea bags etc on the first 2 days. We also thought that everything rather centred round the evening "dining experience" and if you were eating out as we were there were no staff available at that time to serve drinks as they were all busy. Also, although as I said, the staff were only too happy to help when asked, it seemed as if the manager (or deputy manager as the manager was away) did not look round and pick up on things and there was a certain lack of observation from him. When I came out of the lift with all my luggage when we were leaving he walked past and just glanced over - I would have expected him to say he would get someone to help with the luggage but he didn't. I think he only smiled and actually said hello once while we were there.
Having said that I would definitely return and hope to do so, perhaps indulging in the dining experience although it is slightly offputting that there is no choice in the menu. There were so many different nooks and crannies and sitting areas that the hotel at no time seemed crowded. In fact it was almost like having your own stately home!

Room Tip: Our suite was on the top floor and very quiet with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karencrad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear KarenCrad2014,

Thank you for rating your stay so highly at Chateau Rhianfa.

It is a pleasure to read so many positive comments and I shall certainly congratulate Victor for his assistance offered.

I am very sorry that you struggled with your luggage as we do try to help our guests with all aspects when required.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We took advantage of a bargain Secret Escapes which gave us afternoon tea, prosecco and canapés, 5 course dining experience and a breakfast for a very competitive price. The hotel is magical with many little rooms and secret places and has a lovely garden which goes right down to the sea. Our room was wonderful with a view of the Menai Straits and Sowdonia hills in the background. The bathroom was huge with two wash basins and a lovely shower and there was a 6 foot bed. I would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Room 3 , The Orme bedroom is on top floor with fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hicaz446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear hicaz446,

Many thanks for your kind review of your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Nearly excellent, the hotel is extraordinary and is quite wonderful. So many nooks and crannies, real luxury, lavish, sumptious yet with a modern twist. (Kate and William interconnecting, gorgeous). The staff were all great, friendly and helpful. Grounds and view beautiful, even from the lower floors. The food wasn't the same quality in our opinion. The dining experience was a bit 'hit and miss', why only set menu. It's just a bit odd and at odds with the rest of the experience. Yes to the sparkly wine and the mingling at the beginning of evening, great, yes to the starters, but why not give some element of choice, even if restricted? Aside from choosing/ not choosing the meal, it wasn't the michelin star level others have suggested on the evenings we were there. We would definitely go back. We weren't on a deal and didn't mind (too much!). Don't miss the wine cellar and the funky cork seats and the 'no peeking' sign. The gym wasn't firing on all cylinders when we were there. We didn't try the hot tub but others loved it. There are so many areas to explore, we went from room to room to soak up the atmosphere but didn't have enough time! Lovely lovely. Ah! One suggestion, black out curtains in the rooms? The black out blinds didn't fit the very large windows so there were large gaps at the side.

Room Tip: Lovely facing the menai straight, great for kids on the ground floor as the monitor just about coped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Realtravelling,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we shall certainly endeavour to work on the points raised. In the mean time, delighted that you enjoyed the overall stay.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
8.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
22.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
14.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
14.6 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Rhianfa

Property: Chateau Rhianfa
Address: Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Rhianfa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private home until 1955, the Château Rhianfa estate in North Anglesey has undergone an extensive revamp in recent months. The Grand Hall, wood-panelled sitting rooms, Music Room, Drawing Room and Dining Room have all been carefully refurbished complete with Lady Sarah Hay-Williams' meticulously renovated painted ceilings. The opulent 42-foot Banqueting Hall at Château Rhianfa is a superb setting for lavish events and weddings in North Wales with wooden flooring, panelled walls, and breathtaking views are sure to impress. Enjoy gourmet dining with a view of the Menai Strait and Snowdonia in our award winning restaurant, Le Dragon Rouge. Elsewhere, wine cellars and tasting rooms, vaulted spa rooms, a games room, and lounge bar, as well as a private beach and tennis court is all available. The whole house has the feel of a regal hideaway making it an ideal location for weddings, business conferences, events, or your next product launch.There are also a number of cottages in the grounds, luxuriously furnished and available for hire on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Rhianfa Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing