We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Rhianfa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Rhianfa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Northop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Spent two days here in this fabulous and most unusual hotel. The staff were all very attentive and helpful. The evening 'Chateau Experience' meal was lovely and nothing but nothing could spoil the views and unexpected delights that make up this fabulous place to stay. If you are lucky enough to be able to visit Chateau Rhianfa, then please take the advise given to you on arrival and EXPLORE. You will be amazed, thrilled and delighted. It is an ideal spot for a celebration of any kind - just wonderful.

Room Tip: We didn't have a room that overlooked the Straits but can imagine that these are stunning. Do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Judith H,

Thank you so much for writing your superb review of your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    202
    103
    37
    18
See reviews for
113
592
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at the hotel in July 2014. The hotel is beautiful, quirky and very individual. The location is stunning with views across the Menai.
We stayed on a package that included accommodation, afternoon tea, a taster 5 course dinner and breakfast.
We were allocated room 11 - which was nicely appointed, comfortable and spotless. The shower room was beautifully appointed with local slate and a big shower cubicle. The negatives were the room overlooked an inner passage way and had no sea view, the passage was was lit up all night which lit up the bedroom - and it only had a shower, no bath!
The afternoon tea was served in the lounge areas and included a selection of cakes, scones and sweet treats which were delicious.
The taster evening meal was very quirky - guests were asked to meet at 7pm for canapés after which we were all shown to a communal dining room where all guests were seated together. The food was very nice, well presented and the ambience was pleasant once we all got use to the communal dining situation.
However breakfast was disappointing - no fresh fruit and a very over cooked full welsh breakfast!
To conclude; the hotel is beautiful with lots of interesting and lovely original features. The setting is stunning and on a sunny day the views are lovely. The public rooms are very nicely presented and comfortable, and the staff are welcoming, friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea and if you like a bath - make sure the room has one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear lomasteam,

Thank you for writing your kind review, I am delighted that on the whole you had such an enjoyable stay at the Chateau.

Look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We booked this one night stay with travelzoo.We had been before to Chateau Rhinafa and loved it, hence our second visit.
This time was to be a very different experience. We arrived about 5pm to find the car park full of trademen's cars who were preparing for a wedding the next day. we there fore had to park on the overflow parking which is accessed by a very steep and badly surfaced road. We or rather I had to lug our case up a number of floors to the reception area to check in.
We were allocated the Telford Room, the only room in the basement, so no views of the stunning vista Rhianfa commands across the Menai Straits, stiil not everyone can have a view we thought. If we'd known what else the room had in store for us we might have thought differently. The room was nicely appointed with a huge soft bed and a lovely ensuite. However it faced a wall at a distance of about 6 feet so there was little natural light.
We had our 5 course tasting menu in the Drawing Room. The food was quirky and very "chefy" small portions artfully arranged and mostly very tasty. The dessert was a baked egg custard with a scoop of strawberry sorbet, and balsamic vinegar. The fumes from the large quantity of balsamic were very strong and off putting( i had a tablespoonful of balsamic on mine, far too much).Lots of people left it. We found it delicious but we were unsure about the balsamic vinegar.

As we had been up very early that morning we retired to bed about 10.30pm. We were kept awake by the clattering of pans and dishes from the kitchen which was next door and by the lift which was on the other side. About 11.30pm this noise settled down. We were then kept awake by a very noisy and rude bunch of 6 "guests" who were screaming and shouting in the games room close by. At 12.10 I rang reception to aks them to remove them or at least ask them to be quiet. They left very noisily. I think if a hotel knows it has a boisterous group in , then they should keep tabs on their whereabouts after quiet time which in most hotels is 10.30-11pm.
By then I was so wound up I could not sleep at all. The noise from the kitchen resumed at 6am, destroying any prospect of sleeping.
The staff were great and pleasant and helpful, the hotel is a wonderful building and the setting is simply superb, but none of this can compensate for not sleeping.
Breakfast was lovely, cooked to order and delicious.
The irony is that we booked this stay for a rest from a stressful and very busy period of work, we returned home more tired than ever.

Room Tip: Do not accept the TELFORD room unless you don't need to sleep. The best rooms are those with a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Janice M,

Thank you for returning back to the Chateau and your kind comments about the dining experience and the hospitality of the team.

I would however, like to apologise that the noise generated by the Kitchens alongside fellow guests in the games room disturbed your peace.

Please contact me directly the next time that you stay so that I may personally assist you with your booking.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We got married at Chateau Plas Rhianfa on 28th June 2014 - a truly special and unique venue, where we get goosebumps every time we visit.

It's beauty would be lost, though, if the staff didn't uphold the sky-high standard. We can truly, hand-on-heart say that every single staff member provided exceptional service throughout our weekend from Friday to Sunday. In fact we were made to feel like the family of the Chateau rather than customers, which is a truly unique experience.

Most wedding venues struggle to uphold the same high standard during large group events, but the Chateau was outstanding on all counts. All of our guests have nothing but the highest praise for the staff, the venue and the fantastic catering, down to the very little details, all the wedding planning assistance and going the extra mile with our last-minute requests. Nothing was too much trouble.

I hope the Chateau receives Michelin Star status as per their 2014 nomination - it would be fully deserved.

We will be back for our anniversary, unless we can find an excuse to visit before then!

Jo & Ray
Married 28th June 2014

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wireless_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Wireless_jo,

Delighted that you and your guests had a wonderful wedding at the Chateau.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We arrived on 7th July 2014 as part of a dining experience from Secret Escapes. There was no-one in reception and we had to wait five minutes before anyone came.
The room was not ready for another hour, so we were asked to explore the hotel and grounds at our leisure, or maybe visit the bar.
This place seems to have more rooms to sit in, including many little niches and nooks and crannies than anywhere else I have stayed. There is little flow between rooms, and we met up with other couples who were as confused as we were on where to go. We found a bar, but a senior person could not find a barman for a few minutes, so we just sat around. £10 for a pint and a spritzer is quite steep as well.
After the drink, we explored further, going up and down stairs and along alleys. We found further bars and rooms, all with no-one in, including staff. In the end, my wife could go no further as her hip started playing up.
The staff all looked a little nonplussed as indeed we were, as to how to get around. The hotel is basically done upside down, with the main rooms on the top floor (to make most use of the views) and the bedrooms below, with the leisure facilities a further floor below. .
We were shown our room and we were a little disheartened that our room faced the rear cliffs and 2 metal garden sheds for storage. We spoke to other guests and it seems their rooms were a lot better view-wise. Oh, well, luck of the draw.
We all met in the first room for the "Dining experience". This was started with canapés and Prosecco - that's 2 courses of the 7 done!
We were all shown to the main dining hall which is very splendid. Then followed other courses in the nouveaux cuisine style. Some worked, some didn't ( note to chef - the cucumber foam on the Gin and Tonic jelly just didn't gel together. The jelly was great, but the foam ...... - this was from at least 3 couples we spoke to after).
There was quite a lull between courses, so after starting at 7pm we actually left the dining room at nearly 9.30pm, so we were glad to get to bed after a long day and all those STEPS!
The room was very large and the bed was comfortable, but it seemed that staff were working until nearly midnight outside our room.
We also spoke to other guests who had stayed for previous nights. Apparently the "Dining experience" is the only food available in the evening, and there is no a-la-carte menu.
Breakfast was a normal one, however the cooked breakfast could have done with some fried bread and hash browns, but this is a small niggle. Don't say that this was a Welsh breakfast, as I have had Welsh breakfasts elsewhere with white pudding and fried bread.
I think the overall opinion of myself and my fellow guests was that Plas Rhianfa has still not found it's true identity, and some rooms would be better suited to being a bar than drawing rooms, etc. The views over the Menai straits are lovely with the setting sun, and the hotel is not too far from Beaumaris (in the car anyway).
Unfortunately, both my wife and I were so looking forward to a break away from a very hectic home life, and we found ourselves confused and tired at the end of the day. Perhaps this experience is not for us. We like to stay in up-market establishments when possible, but Plas Rhianfa wasn't for us. The best staff were the ones at breakfast.

Room Tip: From what we hear, the rooms labelled "William" and "Kate" are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frostyrhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Frostrhyl,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and at the same time I would like to apologise for the areas that you found of disappointment.

We always use our customers comments to continuously improve the Chateau, and I thank you once more for your detailed review.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

At £240 a night b&b and after reading the hotel literature we expected something a little bit extra. Whilst the facilities looked impressive the hotel lacked soul and atmosphere. However our biggest gripe was our room, it had no view other than a flat roof and it was small. To get into the toilet we had to grapple with a folding door which almost touched the bed. Do not accept room 12. The only positive were the breakfast staff who were excellent.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a view of the Menai Strait
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Peter H,

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay, and have noted your comments in reference to the bedroom. Each room is individually designed at the Chateau and they vary in size and of course view.

On a lighter note, thank you for kindly mentioning the friendliness of the breakfast team. I shall ensure that I congratulate them on your behalf for their hospitality.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a lengthy review as I have many things to comment on!
First the positives
1. Stunning location with fabulous views of the straits and we were blessed with gorgeous weather.
2. Our room was called the stables and it was truly fabulous. A self contained apartment overlooking the straits and the tennis court.
3. Dinner on the second night was wonderful and the dining room has stunning views.
4. Cheerful and pleasant staff.
If the following could be addressed this hotel would be 5 stars:
1. Disorganised staff with orders being forgotten. Our wine was forgotten on the first night and a number of oversights make it somewhat frustrating.
2. Although the chateau is described as a hotel the management describe it as a 'venue' and it seems to lack clarity for guests e.g afternoon tea served three times a week. A 5 star hotel would provide food throughout each day and I'm sure they would make a profit.
3. The staff although lovely, lack the knowledge you would expect in this type of establishment.
4. The wine cellar is not celebrated and on both evenings none of the staff had any knowledge of the wines. A sommelier would be a bonus and generate income.
I would love to return when these points have been addressed and I hope the chateau succeeds. It is a unique place and with a few tweaks could be utterly fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareBSheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear ClareBSheffield,

Thank you for writing your review of your recent stay at the Chateau. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay including the stable flat, the dining experience and the hospitality shown by the team.


We will continue to focus on the training of the team, and hope to welcome you back again very soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
8.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
22.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
14.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Rhianfa

Property: Chateau Rhianfa
Address: Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Rhianfa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private home until 1955, the Château Rhianfa estate in North Anglesey has undergone an extensive revamp in recent months. The Grand Hall, wood-panelled sitting rooms, Music Room, Drawing Room and Dining Room have all been carefully refurbished complete with Lady Sarah Hay-Williams' meticulously renovated painted ceilings. The opulent 42-foot Banqueting Hall at Château Rhianfa is a superb setting for lavish events and weddings in North Wales with wooden flooring, panelled walls, and breathtaking views are sure to impress. Enjoy gourmet dining with a view of the Menai Strait and Snowdonia in our award winning restaurant, Le Dragon Rouge. Elsewhere, wine cellars and tasting rooms, vaulted spa rooms, a games room, and lounge bar, as well as a private beach and tennis court is all available. The whole house has the feel of a regal hideaway making it an ideal location for weddings, business conferences, events, or your next product launch.There are also a number of cottages in the grounds, luxuriously furnished and available for hire on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Rhianfa Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing