We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Truly Amazing Hotel - Coachhouse”
Review of Chateau Rhianfa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Rhianfa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Truly Amazing Hotel - Coachhouse”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel tops the lot!
Location, Venue and Accommodation is as good as it gets.
Last minute decision for a weekend break away took my girlfriend and I to The Chateau Rhianfa.
We chose The Coachhouse and to say we were pleased on arrival is an understatement.
I don't believe the photos actually do The Coachhouse justice.
Every aspect of the 3 bedroomed cottage is perfect with the attention to detail to match.
Spacious living room area with large bay windows to reveal the breathtaking view across The Menai Straights
Large country kitchen with absolutely everything you need in abundance for a self catering stay.
Upstairs has 3 good sized rooms, 2 with ensuite 1 with a large bath. The main bedroom also has a balcony which I am sure would be stunning during the summer months.
The staff are all very helpful and nothing is too much trouble well apart from the restaurant manager that is.........
The gentleman was unhelpful and unaccommodating. We quite simply wanted an evening sandwich rather than dinner. We were told that they restaurant had nothing and couldn't make a sandwich. It wasn't as if we where asking for Heston Blumanthal to reproduce an infused delicacy made from the inner thigh of Lord Anglesey just a cheese or chicken 'butty' would have sufficed.
In the morning we called up the hotel at 10.25am to inquire about breakfast and were told if we werent present in the next 5 minutes we would have no breakfast. I do appreciate you have to prepare for lunch but in this case its not what you say but how you say it.
A slight complaint was made and the hotel chose to provide lunch as a compensation.

In summary this place is out of this world and despite the hiccup over a sandwich it most definitely would not stop us returning or recommending
We will be back soon
Great stay

Room Tip: Stayed in The Coachhouse. An amazing place - highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear GoodyWirral,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chateau at last minute on Saturday, it is so nice to read that you enjoyed staying in the Coach House. I would agree that it superb.

My apologies for the comments on the dining, but I do hope that the Sunday Lunch was delicious and made a nice end to the stay.

Hope to welcome you back again soon,

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    227
    106
    39
    18
See reviews for
134
660
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed for one night and decided while we were there that we'd go back to celebrate our wedding anniversary in the summer. Right from check-in, it was clear that this hotel is something very different. We were escorted to our room (Beaumaris, room 10) by the lady who checked us in, and had a tour of some of the public rooms on the way. Clearly no expense has been spared in any room of the hotel. We wandered around the hotel exploring the chateau and the gardens - every room has surprises and there are nooks and crannies,everywhere. The wine cave particularly, took our fancy!!. Our room wasn't large but it was beautifully appointed. Lovely large windows overlooked the garden, and although there wasn't a sea view, you could easily see the Straits if you stood by the window. The bathroom was just something else - set in a turret, with two showers plus a rainfall shower - amazing!! Everywhere was spotlessly clean and presented beautifully. We didn't have dinner but the cooked breakfast was delicious, served piping hot by a very polite and attentive waitress. All in all, a wonderful experience, a gorgeous hotel in a beautiful location with very welcoming staff, nothing is too much trouble and you really do feel like a very looked after guest during your stay. We will definitely be back - and next time, we'll stay longer. Just fabulous !!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smudge382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Smudge382,

Thank you for writing your kind review of your stay at the Chateau. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that the team looked after you so well.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We spent a 'surprise' weekend at this beautiful hotel. The interiors are stunning with something extraordinaire to discover in every corner. The views from the drawing room are spectacular and the gardens leading to the sea must be a great place to be during a summer day. This is the perfect venue for a dream wedding.
Our room (a suite on the top floor) was very tasteful and elegant. All the staff was very polite and helpful.
The only disappointment was the breakfast which does not do justice to the wonderful dining room and not of the high standard one would expect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mclouka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin P, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Mclouka,

Thank you for taking the time to write you review of your recent stay at the Chateau. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay, and appreciate your kind comments about your suite, the Chateau and the team.

I noticed that you found the breakfast to be of disappointment against the grandeur setting of the room, and I would like to apologise that this was the case. We currently provide a complementary continental breakfast to all of our guests which consists of pastries, meats, cheeses, fruit and yoghurt etc. For those that wish to further treat themselves, then we also offer a Welsh cooked breakfast for a small supplement. This should have been explained by our waiting team when they greeted you for breakfast and I apologise if this was not fully explained during your stay.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Chateau very soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed at Chateau Rhianfa in the snowdonia room is was beautifully decorated, with no expense spared , Bed was extremely comfortable with top quality bed linen, the whole hotel has been tastefully renovated with attention to even the smallest detail.The hot tub is a must so relaxing,. We had a six course evening meal which was delicious as was the full english breakfast along with a massive selection continental breakfasts.The hotel is the cleanest hotel i have ever seen the house keeping staff do a fantastic job ,we enjoyed are stay so much we wished we had booked longer ,but will certainly be returning and would recommend this hotel to anyone ,we would like to thank Rosie Malin and all the staff for making are stay so special.and i would just like to say the owner of this hotel should be very proud to have such a beautiful well run hotel.

Room Tip: i have seen all the rooms as the was a bridal fair on when we stayed so were all open there all dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Michelle t,

Thank you for writing such a superb review of your stay at the Chateau.

We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable time, and appreciate your kind comments in relation to the service and hospitality of the team.

Look forward to welcome you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

5 stars and other ratings do not do justice to this hotel. The warmth of furnishing and decorations are surpassed by the outstanding hotel staff team led by Martin. A wedding reception was put together with 6 days notice due to the groom facing a series of arduous treatments for a recently diagnosed illness. However, it would be impossible to differentiate from the service the guests received, that the wedding breakfast had not been prepared for 18 months. Exceptional planning and attention to detail from Gwenno through to the fine dining presentations and accommodations for tired and easily distracted children are in my experience unsurpassed. A truly memorable day was had by all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scampi30_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Scampi30_12,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your wedding.

We really wanted to make it special, and I am so glad that we met with every expectation. It's very kind of you to mention Gwenno, and I shall certainly thank her on your behalf for the support she offered and the planning of the wedding.

May we wish the bride & groom a very happy marriage, and we would love to see them again soon on their first anniversary!



With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhuddlan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic birthday at Chateau Rhianfa. Beautiful room, great staff and good company. The dining experience was lovely and we got chatting to several couples, one of which had had a car accident on the way! Had a great time exploring the hotel and its many nooks and crannies. A wonderful experience, will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RhuddlanCeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear RhuddlanCeri,

Glad you enjoyed your birthday surprise, and thank you for writing such a superb review of your stay at the Chateau.

Staying and dining as part of the 'Chateau Dining Experience' is a great opportunity to meet other guests and make life long friends. I hope that you can stay in touch, and that we can welcome you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

After a long journey, and a car crash, it was a relief to get into the hotel.

We came an hour early due to not being able to drive anywhere else, and they were lovely about it, offered us tea and coffee, and then 10 minutes after arriving they made sure the room was ready for us.

It was my girlfriends birthday so I wanted to make it special. The head receptionist Rosie, was fabulous she helped arrange a private 5 course meal, champagne and lovely roses in the room.

Craig, our waiter for the meal was incredible, in fact all the staff were!! We met some lovely people, both staff and employees, and the hotel was flawless!

Highly recommended!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Domnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plas R, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Domnolan,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your experience at the Chateau.

Its a pleasure to read that Rosie helped you to arrange your romantic surprise, and that the team looked after you so well. I will gladly thank both Craig & Rosie for helping to make your stay so special.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best wishes,

Martin

Martin Page
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
8.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
13.5 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,595 reviews
15.6 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 5 in Beaumaris
723 reviews
20.0 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
632 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Rhianfa

Property: Chateau Rhianfa
Address: Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Rhianfa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private home until 1955, the Château Rhianfa estate in North Anglesey has undergone an extensive revamp in recent months. The Grand Hall, wood-panelled sitting rooms, Music Room, Drawing Room and Dining Room have all been carefully refurbished complete with Lady Sarah Hay-Williams' meticulously renovated painted ceilings. The opulent 42-foot Banqueting Hall at Château Rhianfa is a superb setting for lavish events and weddings in North Wales with wooden flooring, panelled walls, and breathtaking views are sure to impress. Enjoy gourmet dining with a view of the Menai Strait and Snowdonia in our award winning restaurant, Le Dragon Rouge. Elsewhere, wine cellars and tasting rooms, vaulted spa rooms, a lounge bar, as well as a private beach and tennis court is all available. The whole house has the feel of a regal hideaway making it an ideal location for weddings, business conferences, events, or your next product launch.There are also a number of cottages in the grounds, luxuriously furnished and available for hire on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Rhianfa Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing