We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - for the second year running”

Sosban and The Old Butchers Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic - for the second year running”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We went on Saturday night for Ruth's birthday after having a terrific meal last year. No choice, and we didn't know until what we would be eating until we arrived and ordered from the excellent, shortish and and keenly-priced wine list. Service was attentive but never obtrusive, and a succession of wonderful dishes was presented - parmesan biscuits as an amuse bouche, celeriac puree with smoked apple sauce, lamb's tongues in breadcrumbs, a creamy Jerusalem artichoke rissotto with mushrooms and parmesan, and roast cod with brisket and some amazing jus. We finished with coffee after a pistachio cake, and the whole thing was very reasonable for what we had.Have to agree with the earlier review - this place will get a Michelin star some day soon. Wonderful, and highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    10
    2
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Visited the restaurant in order to celebrate the completion of my Masters degree.
I really enjoyed the concept of the restaurant and could find no faults.
Ambiance and decor was wonderful.
We whiled away 3 hours over the dinner, and enjoyed every minute of the evening.
The waitress was fantastic - welcoming, friendly and advisable, but without being over the top.
The food was delicious - absolutely no complaints.
A lovely experience and would most definitely return for a very special occasion.
The bill was £100, for two people and 3 glasses of wine. Booking is essential.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank princess87Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Michelin quality food and service at less than half the price - first star for Anglesey??”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

So glad we left this restaurant to the last evening of our holiday, as it is VERY special. So much so that I wouldn't be surprised if it was soon to be awarded Anglesey's first Michelin star.

Ok, you don't get a menu or any real choice, but you are asked if you have any special dietary requirements when booking (so the person who posted the one and only "terrible" review needs to think about that). What we were served was simply sublime - every single course, including a few "extras" like a blackberry and apple crumble lollipop as a palate cleanser, was superbly cooked and presented.

Flawless.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Jeff_in_Sheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sublime food and service”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is the second time I have eaten at sosban and there will be many more occassions to come without doubt. I love the concept of this seven course set menu. It was obvious as to the level of thought and preparation that had gone into designing a balanced meal that reflected not on the chef's talent but what nature had to offer during this early autumn period. When you book you are politely asked as to allergies or dislikes. The onus is on you to say and they do respond. You would not expect a shoe shop yo guess your size!!! I do not eat beef and my partner is allergic to peppers. Neither items were on any persons plate that evening. Fantastic not to be made the odd one out. Meal started with parmesan biscuits rolled in poppy seeds then velvety smooth parsnips soup with smoked apple puree and curried popcorn for texture with homemade smoked brioche Next was perfectly cooked cod loin on a bed a pea puree broccoli almond flakes and crushed dried banana (does work honest) . Then went on to creamy mushroom risotto with pureed apricot and fried rosemary. Then the main of celeriac puree lightly pickled red cabbage bacon and butter tender loin of venison. It was cooked to perfection pink but not a drop of blood on my plate so perfectly rested. What a treat for a non beef eater. Then onto blackberry sorbet lollipop and then sponge covered with a toffee apple sauce and apple ice cream. Brilliant and no plate envy. The service is light touch and attentive. As for the negative comments I wonder did these people go to the same place. If you love your good food then go a new culinary journey . You will not need to look on here to decide to go again. Ps best bit was watching the delight on my partners face as each spoon and forkfull was tried for the first time. Priceless thank you bethan and Steven

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
15 Thank bolgihapus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

An awful experience. We went as part of a large group that filled the restaurant. We found the food and drinks incredibly over priced and strange (onion popcorn starter followed by onion soup ect).There were no alternatives available to people with allergies and they were charged full price despite not being able to eat many of the courses. The restaurant appears to retain the heating that was installed when it was a butchers so any guests lucky enough to arrive with a coat wore them throughout the meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank 139sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sosban and The Old Butchers Restaurant also viewed

Menai Bridge, Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Anglesey
 
Menai Bridge, Anglesey
 

Been to Sosban and The Old Butchers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing