We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, Delicious, Special Treat!”

Sosban and The Old Butchers Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unique, Delicious, Special Treat!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Fantastic food, lovely, attentive service, top,top quality. This intimate restaurant offeres a classy and unique dining experience. The imaginative and personal touches to tables and decor compliment the creativity of the dishes coming out of the kitchen. It is rare to find such quality within a relaxed setting as oposed to the usual, slight aloofness i often find that acompanies other fine dining experiences. The welcome and atmosphere is warm and homely, the food is fantastic- catering for the tradditional diner as well as the more adventurous. And, best of all i foud it to be great value for a most satisfying and enjoyable evening. Would definately visit again as this place strikes the perfect balance. Well done! WELL worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PiliPala30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    10
    2
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow! Wow! Wow!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This was my second visit to the restaurant with a group of friends. We had a lovely evening. Food that tantalised my taste buds. High class cooking. The service was attentive and welcoming and the restaurant had a wonderful atmosphere.The wine complemented the food and I loved the subtle suprises between the courses. Congratulations on opening such a unique restaurant with a clear concept.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LlandudnoSyrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GWYCH!! FANTASTIC!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Wedi bod yma am fwyd heno a tydi geiriau ddim yn cyfleu y profiad. Rhaid i chi fynd yna i'w drio. Mae'r fwydlen yn un bach ond yn newid yn aml er mwyn cadw diddordeb, ond mae gan pob pryd chwant iddo. Gweini gwych a chroeso mawr. Mi fyddwn yn mynd eto'n fuan, gobeithio cyn iddyn nhw newid dewis y fwydlen er mwyn cael blasu dewis arall oedd ar fwydlen heno!

My friend and I had an amazing meal here tonight. We opted to have 2 courses with view to have a third. It was hard to choose even though there was only 3 choices for starters, mains and dessert. The menu gets changed on a regular basis to keep the customers interested. Great service and a very warm welcome. We will be visiting again soon, hopefully before the menu chenges so I can try another choice for each course!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank jinsan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well different”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Having watched lots of cookery programmes especially the great british menu recently - it was great to be able to taste the types of food/menu that you see on there!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank jjibberish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My self and my boyfriend went to the old butchers for dinner a few months back, i have to say its possibly one of the nicest meals i have ever had. The owner and waitress was friendly and made us feel welcome. We ordered the 8 course taster menu and it was lovely, however we noticed that other tables who were sampling the normal menu got two extra courses off the taster menu, for free. Had i known that i would have just gone for the standard menu. All of the 8 courses were great, the Welsh Black beef was absolutely delicious. The weakest part of the meal was the pistachio cake, but it was still pretty good.

I would recommend this place to anyone, its a rare find in north Wales. Best of luck to the place, i think they will do very well.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank howzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sosban and The Old Butchers Restaurant also viewed

Menai Bridge, Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Anglesey
 

Been to Sosban and The Old Butchers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing