We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food in a cosy pub”
Review of Gazelle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gazelle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Greeted by smiley staff we were shown to our table in the window in the tastefully decorated restaurant and our drinks order was taken.our starters of soup ,and home made fishcakes was tasy and filing .Followed by the mains ,succulent gammon and a tasty chicken breast in creamy sauce .Not ones for dessert we took to our drinks through to the bar to continue our evening with the locals and chatty staff. Will be back again next week.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 377 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

stay over for a weekend and still waiting for a nice welcome or even a nice world from the miserable staff and not even one world from the owners, except for the lady who was working on Saturday afternoon .The restaurant was cold we had to ask for the heating to be switch on!3 tables booked and nothing went wright, food was cold, send the wrong steak, tasteless crème brulee, Nice bedroom with a lovely view was the only positive point.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blacklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in October. We were in Room 3 which was over the main entrance with views over the Menai Straits and Bangor Pier. Lovely spacious room and large bathroom. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and had breakfast both days. Food was excellent and the staff were friendly. Our bedroom had been refurbished and we understand the hotel was going to be closed for 2 days to finish the refurbishment, which will no doubt add to its attraction. Would definitely stay at this hotel again. We were attending a wedding a mile down the road and the only downside was that we were unable to get a taxi back on the Saturday evening as taxis wont come out for the short journey so had to walk back so just be aware of this and take a torch if doing the same thing.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan47Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This place had the best fish and chips. Staff was friendly and helpful. Desserts were amazing. The view was wonderful. Just wish the weather was better so we could eat outside. Had a great time.
Will bring my son to this restaurant when he comes in. The restaurant and lodge is approximately 2 miles north of the meaning bridge

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank rudy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my sister at the end of September 2013. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The views from the window and balcony were fantastic helped by the sunny weather. The food in the restaurant was delicious. Whilst very busy I found the team here to be attentive but not intrusive. We were being met by family the following day at lunchtime and were allowed to check out late which was much appreciated. We found this place by accident but it is now firmly on our favourites list!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 at the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fod101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We discovered The Gazelle quite by accident when we needed somewhere to pause for lunch having driven to Anglesey from Warrington. We were amazed at the wonderful vista over the Menai Straits that opened up before us! It was a beautiful day and we sat outside overlooking the water and enjoyed freshly prepared sandwiches and a refreshing drink.
We were so impressed that we inquired about accommodation and were delighted to find that we were lucky. We were allocated a lovely, comfortable room with every facility; dinner that evening was great and, the next morning we were treated to a splendid Welsh breakfast.
We intend to return and would certainly recommend a visit to The Gazelle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GortonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've stayed here several times but this was the most pleasant of all. Very friendly staff, excellent beers in a well stocked bar and fantastic local food. The Menai mussels were delicious. The room had been decorated since my previous visit and was clean and spacious with a sizeable en suite but the view - oh the view - was as gorgeous as ever. We supped a pint watching the reflected glow of the sunset over Snowdonia and listened to the curlews; hung out of our windows to watch the moon shine through the mist which then cleared to show a galaxy of stars. I woke up uber early to enjoy every moment of the sunrise over the Menai Straits. Barely a breath of wind to cause a ripple around the moored yachts. I slept with the windows open and the clean salty air gently lulled me to a sound sleep.

We were offered a generous and tasty breakfast - again served by friendly staff. This time the owner who was happy to chat during his busy morning chores. A quick drive and we were at our meeting in Bangor.

It's always a joy to stay at The Gazelle and I hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
0.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,054 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
482 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
15.6 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gazelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazelle Hotel

Address: Glyn Garth, Menai Bridge LL59 5PD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range: $88 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gazelle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gazelle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gazelle Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing