We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL VIEW BUT A BIT TIRED”
Review of Gazelle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gazelle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Great Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL VIEW BUT A BIT TIRED”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night. On entering the hotel it seemed more like a homely pub. We stayed in a room which overlooked the Menai straits, this was a superb view. The room was on the small side (compact). The bathroom was larger than average, however there was a drain smell and the windows had been left open for a reason, after spraying some perfume around it was ok. There was no bath only a shower cubicle. A small tv sat on the window sill and we could not receive all the channels. My son stayed in the single room opposite and had what was described as a garden view, this room was very disappointing as the garden view was non existent, he could not see anything only a huge overgrown bush which made his room very dark. Maybe a local gardener could cut back the shrubs!! The small tv on the widow sill did not work at all.
The lunch I ordered in the in the bar was fabulous, the service was excellent.
Overall the hotel is looking very tired in places and it seems that some updating has taken place, however with a lot of completion in the local area I feel that the hotel common areas could do with a little updating.
We were made to feel very welcome and I would stay at this hotel again, hoping that a programme of updating had taken place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    90
    38
    15
    32
See reviews for
67
172
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel has a wonderful view, peaceful and relaxing but within easy reach of Anglesey and Bangor. Perfect for parents visiting students but wanting some time away, Chris and Andy are so welcoming. We have been 5 times and always had a welcoming visit. Would recommend highly

Room Tip: The 3 rooms set apart from the hotel have best views, private and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 061212n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
203 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

tiny roadsign led us to a most beautiful setting and a little gem of a pub.

nice clean outside seating with large lanters on tables and a small covered area next to the front of the pub too.

drinks were pretty standard but of good quality.

food was good on the whole and would recommend, apart from cottage pie which wasnt so great.

would like to go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for one night, and had a nice room, clean and tidy. We had supper, and the food was good, better than standard pub-food. Of course the settings was very nice down by the peers, and the staff did all they could to help. So all in all recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed at the Gazelle for two nights! We stayed in the annex building next to the main hotel and were not disappointed - Lovely cosy room with a lovely view across the Straits! Food was great - nice to see some different and tasty vegetarian option! The location of the hotel is perfect, the view is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hels F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We found The Gazelle whilst looking for somewhere to go out for dinner, as we were staying in the area. We tried the place out on a Tuesday unchtime, before returning for dinner on a Friday evening.

Lunchtime, I had a lovely portion of Menai Mussels, which were cooked in a white wine and cream sauce with flaked salmon. The salmon added a nice touch. Menai mussels are not huge, so dish was very enjoyable. My husband had their own battered fish and chips, haddock this week. On Tuesday, his food was fantastic. However, when he had the same dish on Friday, the fish was quite dry.

The rest of our party had their homemade Cottage Pie. It was OK, but my son said that it was 60% potato to 40% meat, and nothing special in the flavouring. I had Scampi and Fries. The chips here are all home made and chunky. Very nice indeed. Puddings on both occasions are not home-made, but are good sized portions. The cheese board which we did not sample, is all Welsh cheese.

The pub is a Robinson's pub, and we tried both the Unicorn and the HB brews. Both beers are very well kept. I would suggest if you order halves, ask for the 'jug' type glass as the straight glasses are served short due to their use of a sparkler on the handpump. The jugs are oversize.

The service is what looses them a point. On Tuesday, the lass behind the bar was great. On Friday, a different girl started serving us, and she seemed a bit under pressure. When asked what the specials were, she said they were on a board in the bar. Yes, but I was not in the bar. Eventually, she went to check. Similarly, when another waitress asked what cheeses were on the board, the answer was 'Dunno.' from one of her colleagues, who seemed oblivious that she might be asked because a customer wanted to know.

So overall, pretty decent food, particularly the Mussels. Good beer also. The car park is accessible via a very narrow, steep road, or you can park at the top and walk down the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoPilsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Beautiful setting but we were refused service for lunch at one minute passed the 2.30pm deadline by the chef. The manager was quite unable to roll up his sleeves and cut a simple sandwich either. Even if the chef works to rule, this is an hotel so you expect someone to try to be helpful! Nor did they recommend or suggest anywhere else to us to eat but we fortunately found several hotels and inns in Beaumaris that were providing food later that same afternoon. This type of experience is rather typical in the area and has happened recently to several friends and adds to the feeling that it is very rare to find anyone who is prepared to even consider going a little out of their way to promote their businesses- and they wonder why they fail! ( not sure how to rate non existant!) the impression one is left with is utterly workshy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
0.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
15.6 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
309 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
699 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gazelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazelle Hotel

Property: Gazelle Hotel
Address: Glyn Garth, Menai Bridge LL59 5PD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gazelle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gazelle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gazelle Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing