We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Weekend”
Review of Gazelle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gazelle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We have just returned from a really enjoyable week end at the Gazelle Hotel. The room was really nicely decorated, clean and spacious with a beautiful view from our window (room 10). Chris was exceptionally accommodating. In fact we found all of the staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really enjoyable (and plenty of it!). We had a meal on the Sunday which was also very good.
We also got to know one or two of the locals in the evening at the bar. On the whole we found this a very friendly atmosphere and would love to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Gazelle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 368 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were here for just one night with our 5 yr old over the may bank holiday and am really glad we chose this place. We had the annexe room 9 which was very comfortably furnished and the owner kindly provided us with an extra bed. The room was of a very high standard we felt. We also really enjoyed breakfast - it was delicious!
We are sorry there have been negative comments about this place- we loved it and everyone was friendly and attentive. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linhse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

went two years ago for an afternoon drink, decided go back this time for food, but wish we hadn't. We have never received such appalling service. We were seated by the door. After five long minutes of waiting and filthy looks from the two girls from behind the reception, we mentioned to ourselves as to where the menus where and one of them overheard us and brought over the menus and threw them down on the table and walked off. At that point we decided that we were not going to spend our money there and decided to leave. In a nutshell they were not very welcoming, down right rude, snooty and it seemed they didn't want our custom. When we complained and left they were non too bothered.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rcm38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Have just returned from a long weekend break at the Gazelle and it is a place you should visit. Hidden away at the bottom of a side road off the main Beaumaris road it is right on the waters edge on the Menai Straits, what a fantastic View, You can`t help but to just sit and watch the life on the water or the mountains in the distance, you could not buy a view like that. The hosts Andy and Chris give you a warm welcome on your entrance and the cleanliness and quality stands out as soon as you go in. The rooms are very well finished, very clean and again the view,Wow.
The food is very good quality and very well cooked most of the dishes on offer are locally sourced and very tasty. The atmosphere in the bar is very relaxed with interesting banter to keep the evening going. After a very comfortable nights sleep and a hearty breakfast we had a lovely walk along the shoreline taking in more of the excellent view.
This is a real hidden gem and just like us you will return again, Thanks Andy and Chris for a memorable stay

Room Tip: The rooms in the annexe have the best view
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliestaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

we were part of christening party, went down to the gazelle for the celebration after the church what a disappointment!!!! this was, the food was awful , had the hotpot the plate was swimming in grease, not enough buffet catered for the amount of people that was there.I heard someone asking for more to be put out but they said they didn't have anymore but with the amount of people there surely the numbers would have been given and to me the food for the amount of people was not enough!! and as the day went on there was 2 men shouting at each other and to me this could have turned nasty not only were they shouting at each other they were also shouting at the bar staff!! Then as we just got over that the police turned up and started to ask people what had happened which totally ruined my day, but we stayed for a while after and to be told they had run out of beer not very good, not only had they run out of beer but again i was listening to people talk about the bitter and how bad it tasted. Never again will i go there for a party or even a drink (if they had any) .that only being if i visit this area again, as for the bar staff to the waiting on staff they were fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed 20/4 in second floor sea view double.Great room, no problems with the shower, attentive management and good value.
Didnt eat dinner put breakfast was good standard fare.
Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Gazelle is the perfect location for a few afternoon/evening drinks on a summers day. However that's about it. The food here is pretty bad. The last time I had food here I had the Sunday roast and it was served cold and was cooked to a poor standard. As for the rest of the menu, it's pretty simple, dishes such as scampi and chips, lasagne, steak. But even these simple dishes can be cooked badly at times. Service is poor; the staff clearly haven't been trained to a high enough standard and don't really have a great rapport with customers. It's a shame as the Gazelle could be an excellent establishment if it served better cooked food and had a more appealing menu. They could also do with more seating in the bar area. They have an entire room used for a pool table which is only ever used by one or two locals. They could achieve a lovely spacious sitting area here if they got rid of the pool table! All said, I will still be venturing down to the Gazelle this summer for a few glasses of wine with friends, and maybe we'll give the food another go!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
0.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,023 reviews
15.6 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
327 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
741 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gazelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazelle Hotel

Address: Glyn Garth, Menai Bridge LL59 5PD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range: $88 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gazelle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gazelle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gazelle Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing