We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and very relaxing hotel”
Review of Gazelle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gazelle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location and very relaxing hotel”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Wonderful hospitality and the location is beautiful. The bedroom was of good standard and provided value for money. The location is everything for this hotel. This part of Anglesey has: history, dramatic scenery, welcoming people and an extensive variety of interesting places to visit.. We walked the Anglesey Coastal Path, shopped in Waitrose, visited Beaumaris Castle, explored islands and deserted beaches. We had a great time exporing Anglesey during the day and relaxing during the evening in the very pleasant environment of the Gazelle. Chris is a very pleasant engaging host, he works hard to make his guests stays memorable. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    90
    38
    15
    32
See reviews for
67
172
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Always wanted to eat here due to fantastic location and what we'd heard about the food. Booked a table for a Sunday treat. Arrived to be sat at a rickety table with a chair that came apart when lifted to reposition. Menu was 2 sheets of A4 left on the table - unimaginative offerings - I opted for Crayfish Salad to start my wife had Goats Cheese Salad. When served we immediately knew this was not going to be the treat we'd expected. Goats Cheese was like a rubber hockey puck that had been melted - the puck would have had more taste - served on a bed of lettuce stalks smothered in what we could only guess at as being BBQ sauce? Crayfish on an equally bland mix of lettuce stalks was was akin to pink rubber smothered in a flavourless mix of Mayo and Tomato Ketchup - both starters were accompanied by a stale bread roll that could have smashed a window if thrown!!! Very very poor - no presentation or pride, based upon the starters we cancelled the remainder of the meal and left. Staff apologised for the "food" but did manage to over charge us for the drinks before our final departure. Avoid this place - carry on to Beaumaris and go to The Liverpool Arms which is what we did.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris m, Owner at Gazelle Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your meal on sunday and hope this does not put you off for the future as we take pride in our food and service it would be nice if you returned so we could prove ourselfs properly kind regards chris massey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Tipped up here on a Friday night in the pouring rain and was offered a very comfortable room, overlooking the straits. My only grouse was that there was no bath, only a shower.
Despite the bad weather conditions, the bar area was very busy and after having a per dinner drink we headed for the restaurant which was very pleasing. We chose to eat pheasant off the specials board for our main course which we enjoyed tremendously.
We were made to feel very welcome initially by Sian and later by the other staff.
We only had one complaint - the weather!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris m, Owner at Gazelle Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you for your excellent review and we hope to see you again soon kind regards chris massey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

What a fabulous place, we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay in October. The views are amazing, looking out over the water and mountains just fab! Room was excellent. Compliments to the chef for our evening meals and the breakfasts set us up for the day! All the staff made us very welcome and we enjoyed our time in the bar with the locals. Thanks to Gail for making us so welcome every evening in the bar, we saw some beautiful places on the island recommended by her, just breathtaking. Thank you Chris and Andy for making our stay so warm and welcoming. We are sure that you will go from strength to strength with the Gazelle. There is no doubt about it we will be coming back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris m, Owner at Gazelle Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Wonderful overnight stay! Very warm welcome. Lovely room with a view to die for. Nothing was too much trouble for Chris and Andy and all the rest of the staff. We ate our evening meal in the bar and were joined by four other family members, all three courses for everyone were excellent. Breakfast was very tasty and served where we could watch the final of the Rugby World Cup. Great! We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 but we were also shown the rooms in the annexe (9, 10 & 11, I think), these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerstwo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The location must be amongst the best in north wales. Food is just average though and the service is practically non existant. Still I guess it must be worth a visit in the summer.. Park at the top though as driving up the lane and turning left is a bit of a nightmare.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

just discovered this place on a golf trip to wales with some friends from belgium-stayed
5 days loved the view -staff-food- all excellent quality
would recommend this to everybody
eric

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericsegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
0.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
15.6 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
309 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
699 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gazelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazelle Hotel

Property: Gazelle Hotel
Address: Glyn Garth, Menai Bridge LL59 5PD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gazelle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Gazelle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gazelle Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing