We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pie!”
Review of The Anglesey Arms

The Anglesey Arms
Reserve with OpenTable
The Anglesey Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 36 Restaurants in Menai Bridge
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely pie!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Our main courses were lovely,the pie was the best yet and the burger cooked pink.perfect.Lovely friendly service from all the staff and good choice of alcohol.Very dissapointed with the sticky toffee pud(not good),however we will be visiting again for sure as the menu has a great choice of starter and mains.

Helpful?
Thank maria r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    96
    54
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“review of restaurant”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Very disappointed - have been visiting Anglesey arms for last two years and always been pleased however two weeks ago took some friends after recommending it and given very poor rump steak instead of advertised Rib-eye and all meals cold - if you have run out of Rib-eye at least have the honesty to say so instead of pretending and serving a far inferior cut of meat and still charging the same price. All four steaks were as tough as old boots and as previously said everybody's meal was cold.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great start to our hiking trip”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Supper on our day in Bangor, a Sunday evening. An easy walk from our B & B; easy and scenic - over the Menai Bridge. The pub and restaurant are very much traditional - lots of dark wood, big tables and chairs, massive wooden bar. Several cask-conditioned ales on tap, which always scores points with me. The food we had was traditional as well: fish and chips, steak and ale pie, smoked haddock, bangers and mash, all nicely done and much appreciated. Oh, and sticky toffee pudding for dessert. All good. The staff took good care of us, attentive without hovering. Didn't seem overly expensive. Bear in mind though that I was just arrived from the States, and still doing the currency conversion in my head. I could be wrong about the expense. No confusion on the food though - very good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“This was memorable”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We called here because there were many signs saying how many awards it had for good food.
We can only say they were well deserved, the place is really nice and the food exceptional, top price for lunch but well worth it.
The atmosphere was pleasant as were the surroundings both inside and out, well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David4555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food shocking service!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Gave restaurant a second chance after average first visit, this visit poor service from start to finish, moody bar staff, inexperienced waitress, and general bad management. Drinks were wrong,waited over an hour for food, then only bought kids meals, waited another 20mins for rest of order. Very faulty towers!!! Did finally apologise and knocked kids meals off bill, won't rush back. Shame nice venue, good food!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anglesey Arms also viewed

Menai Bridge, Anglesey
 
Menai Bridge, Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Anglesey
 

Been to The Anglesey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing