We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special family weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Outbuildings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Menai Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Outbuildings
Ranked #2 of 6 Menai Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Special family weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Lovely setting to spend time with our family after a particularly stressful week. Lovely comfortable beds were very welcome and enabled all to get a good nights sleep. Good base for visiting the beaches on the west side of anglesey. Couple of niggles pre agreed seafood starters didn't appear and no soap in guest bedrooms (apart from pink hut) . Lovely food prepared by Charlie and made very welcome by Hannah. Sorry if we were a bit noisy at times we had good reason and the trip helped build the families resilience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally comfortable - Little pink hut is quirky
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wetnosewheatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for writing and I am glad you enjoyed this corner of Anglesey. I am SO SORRY that you did not have soap - we do put soap in each room little hand made pink ones made locally......... apologies that you were without - I hope you asked and got some and I will keep an eye out to make sure this does not happen again.From all of us at The Outbuildings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    22
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
123
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

What a nugget of personalised hospitality! A three night break for a special birthday made extra special by the location, staff, ambience and quaint experience!... Loved every moment.
We couldn't have wanted more; it felt as though 'it was all about us!'
THANK YOU from The Smiths, Bury.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
What lovely words, thank you and it is all about you - the guest! It was lovely to see you all relaxed, playing tennis, playing cards, sitting and reading after your days out. Just what familiy time is all about. Best wishes All of us at The Outbuildings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Located in a fairly isolated position surrounded by open farmland. Just a short drive to magnificent coastal walks.
Our room, "The Boys Room" was spacious and comfortable, though the very soft foam rubber mattress was not to my taste. My wife thought it was fine. Nice shower room with a large shower cubicle. TV and Bose Wave radio.
We weren't offered a menu, but we're told what was for dinner. They did say that if we hadn't wanted the lobster salad followed by a rack of lamb the chef would have offered an alternative, but their choice suited us fine and the food was very good.
I would certainly go back, but would ask what was for dinner!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Good morning, thank you for writing a review,all these things take time but they are so useful to other guests and we really appreciate them too! I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and my apologies you were not aware that we serve a set menu. We look forward to seeing you again. from us all at The Outbuildings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Outbuildings are outstanding!

Bun, Will, Anna and Jack were the most gracious hosts and really added to the experience. This is far more than your ordinary B&B.

We stayed in the pink hut which was a beautifully restored shepherd's hut with views over rolling fields to Mount Snowdon. The property it's self was tucked away in the beautiful countryside, but still closer enough to all the sites of North Wales.

The top highlight for us was the 'super club' on the Friday night where Francois cooked up a delicious 3 course meal accompanied with delightful wines and bountiful banter. What a night! Many a story was told late into the night...

Many thanks, love love love!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Alex! thank you so much for finding time to write a review, so glad you enjoyed your stay in The dear little Pink Hut and we all look forward to seeing you again before too long and we will do our best to get some surf or take you to some!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We chose The Outbuildings for a three night break; our first to Anglesey. We were thrilled with what we found! The views were beautiful, we watched the sunset from the terrace and the peaks of Snowdonia in the distance provided the perfect setting. The property is a lovingly restored barn and includes a number of luxury rooms, a large dining room and mezzanine, a lounge with open fire and a kitchen. Breakfast was delicious and cooked in front of you whilst we sipped fresh coffee at the kitchen table and chatted to the chef and other guests. Dinner was also a treat. We dined on nettle soup, brown shrimp canapes, lamb en-croute and elderflower ice cream. The room was clean, large and comfortable with bright, modern furnishings. All in all a great stay, would love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MforModern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for sending a review, it takes time and effort to remember to write them and then actually do it. We really appreciate your kind words, thank you. Most of all we are delighted that you enjoyed your fist trip to Anglesey and hope that this will the be the first of many. From us all at The Outbuildings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our first trip to Anglesey, this place is tranquil with lovely views, staff are friendly and most helpful, we had the granary steps room which is tastefully decorated and most comfortable.
Breakfast was served within the kitchen area, we had a very pleasant and excellent chef who also prepared and served our canapés and three course meal in the dining area on our second night which was truly lovely.
We would most certainly like to re-visit The Outbuildings if we ever decide to return to Anglesey.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank com_nurseLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write, it was pleasure meetning you and chatting, I wonder if you found some interesting spots on your way home? Francois is great so is his food and his company! Hope to see you again. from us all with best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

My partner and I chose the Outbuildings as the venue for our post-ceremony lunch on the recommendation of a family member. We were 35 people and had asked for a large spread of canapes, a main meal and a desert. The emphasis was to be on ensuring people had enough to eat without it becoming too heavy for an afternoon meal and the food was to be regional where possible.

We made contact with the Outbuildings about 3 months before the Wedding and arranged a Skype chat with the chef Francois. Francois is a Frenchman who has made his home on Anglesey and we found him to be extremely engaging and knowledgeable. There were a few requests that we asked him to accommodate on the menu and he came up with very good proposals to meet them. We settled the menu in one (long) conversation and then only spoke again to confirm the numbers.

We arrived on Anglesey the day before and went to the Outbuildings for the first time. I was born down the road and in sunshine of which I had never seen the like we were taken around the venue. It is fabulous, the restoration of the stonework is immaculate and the dining room feels spacious enough without being a void. The mezzanine would have made for a very nice area for the canapes if the weather had not been so good. As it was we arrived on the day at 12.30 to bright sunshine and had 7-8 delicious canapes on the stone terrace overlooking the Menai Straits and then sat down to lunch in the dining room. The huge windows make the whole room feel fabulously airy and warm.

The main was a Welsh steak with vegetables and, in spite of the number of diners, Francois and his team coped admirably with the cooking of the steaks (rare still warm and medium pink in the middle). Orders that had been placed ahead of the final canape were brought out as the last toast ended (15-20 minutes) and the food was excellent. The desert of a chocolate fondant with a caramel sauce and whiskey Chantilly cream completed the meal and was exactly as it should be. Sumptuous and rich but without being too much. 4 pm came round quite abruptly and we were very politely reminded that our time was up.

Objectivity is often lacking when one writes their own wedding revue but this is written with the rose tinted spectacles off. I grew up on Anglesey and have experienced North Wales at it's best and worse. This was excellent in every detail and will remain as a very special venue on a very special day.

Room Tip: We didn't sleep so this is based purely on our tour of the property. The Gypsy caravan would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
What a great review! Thank you so much for such a great and long review. It was a huge pleasure to be part of your day for us all here and we are only sorry that you had to leave - we had guests arriving and happily you had another party to move on to. We all send good wishes to you and hope you pop in when visitng your family here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
7.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfairpwllgwyngyll
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outbuildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outbuildings

Property: The Outbuildings
Address: Bodowyr Menai Bridge | Llangaffo, Menai Bridge LL60 6NH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the south-west corner of Anglesey, The Outbuildings provides luxurious and welcoming bed and breakfast accommodation. The setting is sublime - surrounded by tranquil farmland with glorious views of the Snowdonia mountains. Each of the five individually designed en-suite bedrooms has its own private outside entrance and includes a welcome tray with homemade cake or biscuits on arrival, small flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations and WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Outbuildings Hotel Menai Bridge
The Outbuildings Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing