We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Pink Hut”
Review of The Outbuildings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Outbuildings
Ranked #2 of 6 Menai Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Pink Hut”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed in the Pink Hut, a shepherds hut. Our first stay in a shepherds hut and we enjoyed the experience. It was more spacious than we imagined with an ensuite shower room and lovely quality furnishings and linen. Gorgeous views of the mountains and sunset and the sheep and cows. Nice walk to the dolmen in the adjoining field. We lit the wood burning stove and it soon warmed up the hut, in fact it got so warm we opened the windows and door ! We ate in the main building, the chef Francois was very flexible and at less than 2 hours notice conjured up a delicious steak for us and adapted the starter as we didn't fancy the fish and lamb that was on the menu. Comfy beds and the duvet was so snuggly! What could have made it a 5/5 stay for us ? We were a bit intimidated by the sign at the entrance ' beware this is an oldfashioned establishment' and at times it felt more like a hotel than a B&B in the reception areas with service and surroundings being quite formal sometimes. Coffee and tea making facilities in the hut - I missed having a cuppa in my bed when I woke up. The shower was clean and hot but water drains out of the hand basin and shower very slowly so that might need looking at? Poker and more kindling for the wood burner and a brush and pan to tidy up the ash. Breakfasts- yummy fresh fruit - how about freshly squeezed juice /choice of juices. All in all, a super setting away from it all, melt in the mouth dinner, good fun accommodation. Oooh and loved the locally made soap ( stocked up at Coles in Beaumaris !!! )

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, coincidentally i had just said to Francois, Trip Advisor had been quite! Glad you enjoy the Pink Hut and that you were warm and cosy and thank you for the drain advice, actually on to that as we have had a problem with the soak away which I only discovered last week. It is difficult to know where to pitch ourselves - we are not a hotel but perhaps taking on board your comments we are more than a b and b - it is easier to be more relaxed and sit out and about when the weather is a bit warmer but i will be careful to make sure the sitting room is not too formal. Thank you so much. Bun and the outbuildings team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    22
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
124
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Outbuildings is well worth a visit if you're seeking a plush, rural bed and breakfast experience on Anglesey. The rooms are done to a high standard (with absolutely divine mattresses, as mentioned in many other reviews!) and the fact that all guest rooms feature of local art and books make the place feel like a truly bespoke Anglesey treasure. The person who deserves the highest praise is Francois, the chef. His warm and extremely welcoming presence made breakfast a true delight, and the concoctions he whipped up for dinner, deftly handling all dietary requests, were exquisite. For North Wales, the standard of The Outbuildings can hardly be faulted. However, it doesn't quite warrant 5 stars (yet) as some aspects feel ever so slightly sterile or forced. With that being said, we have no doubt that some of these corners will soften with age and experience, and we hope to return to stay amidst such tranquil surroundings and partake in outstanding meals in the future. One small suggestion that we thought would be a great asset - it would have been great if the Outbuildings offered a small number of bikes and helmets for guests to use to explore the local area, as it is so beautiful (yet not terribly accessible on foot)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank synaptoneurosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Manager at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and how right you are about Francois and his food. bikes is a great idea and actually something that we are looking into and we do offer bike storage for guests that arrive by or with bikes, sadly everywhere was very wet when you stayed. We would be interested to know what you thought was sterile so we could do something about it?? Hope to see you again soon The Outbuildings team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in the pink spotty jug room. Everything is exactly as detailed on website and in previous reviews. The room was aesthetically pleasing with a mattress that you never wanted to get up from. Peace, quiet and complete relaxation is almost obligatory.
The grounds and the drive up are breathtaking and one can only feel jealous of those having stayed when the weather is at its best.
The staff take customer service to another level. They appear genuinely interested in you and are considerate and helpful beyond normal expectations. They will happily advise and help on anything from food to what walks to do, supplying the maps in the process.
The food is delicious and whilst no choice is provided, each course is discussed in advance and I'm sure Francois, the chef would amend if there was something you truly didn't like. Each dinner is based on fresh and local produce and the menus were well balanced and completely delicious from the sweetest lamb we have ever tasted to the last of the season partridge.
Depending on guest numbers, breakfast may be taken on a communal table in the kitchen. This was delightful with the opportunity to interact with the other guests and to watch breakfast being cooked in front of you.
It is hard to fault this beautiful place and we truly had a wonderful time. If there were any areas for comment they would be that some people would expect a choice of at least two dishes for each course at dinner and there is a distinct lack of toiletries in the bathrooms. Courtesy packaged slithers of rose geranium soap is left, however no shower gel, shampoo etc. Whilst this is only a minor point, I stopped taking these to Hotels some time ago as they are always supplied in good quality establishments. These are minor points however and I mention them more for information for future guests. I would happily go back tomorrow to this very special place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Opinionsubjective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you Thank you for a great review and for pointing out the missing shampoo etc. We try to keep our prices down and all this little bits and bobs add up, the slither of soap is exactly what you say a slither because we were throwing away so much soap and I hate waste!! I will give the shampoo some thought. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Outbuildings and tell me when i will have the shampoo and conditioner at the ready!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

One word to describe this place...WOW!

From the moment you get out of your car and set foot into the main house, you enter a wonderful world of peace and tranquility and experience service which you would rarely find in a 5 star hotel.

We spent 3 nights in the quirky yet cosy Pink Hut - a delightful bright pink Shepherd's Hut, tastefully decorated inside with the most comfortable bed, a log burner to keep you warm and even your own ensuite! The view over the snow covered Snowdonia mountains was there to be soaked in.

Upon arrival Beth made us feel very welcome and that warmth and hospitality continued throughout our stay. You can't help but lay back in the comfy sofas, infront of the roaring log fires and unwind.

Meals were prepared by Francois the chef and they were excellent. Definitely not what you would expect from a B&B.

Freshly baked bread rolls each evening (we watched Francois making the dough one morning!) then the option of a starter (on the 3 nights we were there we had Poached Egg on a Beetroot and Potato Rosti, Smoked Haddock Rarebit and Carmarthen Dried Ham). Main courses were Hoggit Barnsley Lamb Chop one night, Guinea Fowl the next and Smoked Haddock on our final night. Desserts were equally tasty...especially the Chocolate Fondant. The menu changes daily depending on seasonal availablility of fresh ingredients.

Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. A great family atmosphere from the team running this 'boutique' establishment - Bun the owner, Beth front of house and Francois the chef.

Attention to detail comes naturally - afternoon tea and home made cakes when you return from your outings, discreet yet attentive, friendly service, carefully chosen background music...the list is endless.

Breakfast is 5* too. High quality local produce used throughout, and cooked exactly how you like it. One morning we had breakfast actually in the kitchen itself which was great - interacting with other guests staying in one of the other 4 rooms and watching Masterchef Francois at work!

We cannot recommend this Bed and Breakfast enough - heaven on earth and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancashirelass008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Well what an amazing review! thank you so much from us all, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
243 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We had our wonderful wedding here over Christmas - it was absolutely perfect. Firstly, the rooms were immaculate, clean and extremely well specified. We stayed in the button room and the pink hut and both were brilliant. The pink hut, in particular - even on a freezing December night - was warm and cozy. Our guests stayed in the other rooms - all were delighted with their rooms.

Throughout, the food was excellent. Francois - the head chef - consulted closely with us with respect to our wedding menu and it was absolutely perfect. Likewise, breakfast - served to order in the kitchen upstairs - was superb.

The Outbuildings is a very special place - we had a brilliant wedding there thanks to Judith, Francois, Beth and the rest of the team - look forward to seeing them again soon.

Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ALandVICTORIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review, it was a joy to work with you both in planning your wedding and everyone enjoyed working with you, makes our work all the more fun and happy. Come and visit us soon, All of us at The Outbuildings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I have a delightful couple of nights here recently. The weather was pretty awful but it was February. The ambience of this place is great; peaceful and quiet and we felt like special guests. We ate in one night and the food was very good. They catered for us as vegetarians with no fuss whatsoever. The staff were all extremely attentive (but not intrusive) and very helpful. The location is slightly inland and down some small lanes but it is within very easy reach of the fantastic Newborough area with lovely beaches, great walking and interesting wildlife. I would highly reccomend to anyone looking to escape the hustle and bustle of day to day life.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrexhamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your review and so glad that you enjoyed your stay - and how right you are about the food Francois just goes the extra step every time and it is no bother at all. Hope to see you again soon. The Outbuildings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanberis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed in the Button Room on our wedding night in June 2013. Judith couldnt have been more helpful with the arrangements as we arrived from our reception very late (or rather early!). They left us to sleep in and arranged a wonderful breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine for our first morning of wedded bliss. Breakfast was sublime & leisurely, and we were not made to feel we had to rush off at any time. Planning to return for our first anniversary, just hope the weather is as good again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojowil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Gosh June seems ages away but i do remember you sitting on the terrace quietly enjoying breakfast and soaking up the sunshine, lets hope it comes back!! Thank you for writing a review and we look forward to meeting up with you for your first anniversary. The Outbuildings Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
7.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfairpwllgwyngyll
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outbuildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outbuildings

Property: The Outbuildings
Address: Bodowyr Menai Bridge | Llangaffo, Menai Bridge LL60 6NH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the south-west corner of Anglesey, The Outbuildings provides luxurious and welcoming bed and breakfast accommodation. The setting is sublime - surrounded by tranquil farmland with glorious views of the Snowdonia mountains. Each of the five individually designed en-suite bedrooms has its own private outside entrance and includes a welcome tray with homemade cake or biscuits on arrival, small flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Outbuildings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outbuildings Hotel Menai Bridge
The Outbuildings Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing