We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Outbuildings
Nearby Hotels
The Anglesey Arms(Menai Bridge)
$108
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gazelle Hotel(Menai Bridge)
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bulkeley Arms(Menai Bridge)
$81
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maen Hir Guest House(Menai Bridge)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Menai Bridge)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Rhianfa(Menai Bridge)
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel(Llanfairpwllgwyngyll)
$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Aethwy B & B(Menai Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
202
24
11
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
24
11
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink hutboys roomother guestsshepherd's huthome made cakeshigh standardon arrivalcoffee and cakelittle touchesthe main housevery special placeget togetherattention to detailevening mealrelaxing weekenddining roomlovely place
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 245 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night with our 14 month old daughter. Beautiful setting, superb accommodation and friendly, professional staff. We stayed in the Pink Spotty Jug room which was quite spacious with enough room for our daughter to place/explore...even with the travel cot in the room. I highly recommend booking in for dinner...Francois served up a delicious smoked haddock rarebit starter followed by sage butter fillet of beef for mains and chocolate slice with toffee sauce dessert. Simply divine! Breakfast was equally yummy too. Although the Outbuildings is not a typical 'child friendly' place, the staff went out of their way to accommodate our daughter sourcing soya products, providing a travel cot etc plus there was plenty of soft grass for her to run around and explore.
It's the attention to detail that really marks this place out. From the lush interiors to Jo Malone cologne and shared histories on the wall. I would highly recommend the Outbuildings to all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, the team are great as you say and it is so nice to be acknowledged - we will have to find another barn and and convert that to one for families!! Glad the teddy arrived home safely. Thank you again from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently returned here following our first visit 18 months ago. Both visits were great and we hope to make it a regular occurrence! The setting is beautiful - feels like the middle of nowhere, but not far from the A55. We've stayed in the 'Pink Spotty Jug' and the 'Granary Steps' - both rooms are beautifully finished with big comfy beds. The only criticism was the lack of shower screen in the Granary Steps - there was a shower over the bath but difficult to use without spraying water everywhere, so we chose a room with a shower rather than a bath for our second visit. The evening meal is a set menu with beautifully and simply cooked local produce - dinner alone makes this place well worth the visit - and a delicious breakfast served in the farmhouse-style kitchen. We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write does us all good! and helps new visitors, I am looking to change the bath to a walk in shower in the Granary Steps in the winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

What an amazing place hardly a B&B! Beautifully thought out rooms and decor. Staff friendly and helpful as well as efficient and pleasant and the owner Bun was so lovely. The only small niggle is size of fridge and no shower screen especially when it's hot, shower is much more preferable to a bath, otherwise excellent. We stayed in the Button Room.

Room Tip: Worth a trip to Anglesey just to stay there !
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemaryC0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your review, they all help us along and keep us on our toes!! The fridges could do with being a bit larger and i thought i may put a guest fridge somewhere so guests can get a beer or wine if we are not about, thank you for writing hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We enjoyed a stay in 'The Boys Room'. Five minutes after arriving and seeing the room we decided to book a second night. It's the detail that really impressed me, and you only get to appreciate the good taste of the owner as you spend time there. A huge bed, firm and really comfortable. Beautiful original works by local artists (3) plus hand woven wall hanging. Books in the room, poems by Betjeman, radio by Bose, soap in bathroom from Marseille, cream woollen carpet. All kept immaculately clean. Located within a gorgeous open landscape, full of early morning birdsong and the sound of distant farm animals.
Staff that cared and were genuinely interested in making your stay the best it could be. The menu for evening meals was fixed but every course interesting and delicious. Can't remember a better B & B experience and with fabulous weather you would have to go a long way to even match this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seagull17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write. You certainly had glorious weather and hooray we still have it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked a room here for our wedding night - and what a fabulous choice. The room was enormous, the four poster bed was large & comfy, every little touch had been thought of, and the owner Judith arranged for us to have a lie in & late breakfast. When we finally surfaced at 10am they had set a table on the terrace in the beautiful sunshine for us and we sat munching our delicious meal whilst looking at the wonderful garden & views and enjoying the peace & quiet. Their lovely dog kept us company too. Perfect! We loved it so much we hope to return for our anniversary next year.

Room Tip: We had the wonderful Button Room but I suspect all the rooms are beautiful!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write - it was such a lovely morning sitting outside in the sunshine. Hope to see you on your anniversary. From us all at the outbuildings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews