We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really super place”
Review of The Outbuildings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Outbuildings
Ranked #2 of 6 Menai Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

What an amazing place hardly a B&B! Beautifully thought out rooms and decor. Staff friendly and helpful as well as efficient and pleasant and the owner Bun was so lovely. The only small niggle is size of fridge and no shower screen especially when it's hot, shower is much more preferable to a bath, otherwise excellent. We stayed in the Button Room.

Room Tip: Worth a trip to Anglesey just to stay there !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemaryC0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your review, they all help us along and keep us on our toes!! The fridges could do with being a bit larger and i thought i may put a guest fridge somewhere so guests can get a beer or wine if we are not about, thank you for writing hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 237 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We enjoyed a stay in 'The Boys Room'. Five minutes after arriving and seeing the room we decided to book a second night. It's the detail that really impressed me, and you only get to appreciate the good taste of the owner as you spend time there. A huge bed, firm and really comfortable. Beautiful original works by local artists (3) plus hand woven wall hanging. Books in the room, poems by Betjeman, radio by Bose, soap in bathroom from Marseille, cream woollen carpet. All kept immaculately clean. Located within a gorgeous open landscape, full of early morning birdsong and the sound of distant farm animals.
Staff that cared and were genuinely interested in making your stay the best it could be. The menu for evening meals was fixed but every course interesting and delicious. Can't remember a better B & B experience and with fabulous weather you would have to go a long way to even match this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seagull17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write. You certainly had glorious weather and hooray we still have it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked a room here for our wedding night - and what a fabulous choice. The room was enormous, the four poster bed was large & comfy, every little touch had been thought of, and the owner Judith arranged for us to have a lie in & late breakfast. When we finally surfaced at 10am they had set a table on the terrace in the beautiful sunshine for us and we sat munching our delicious meal whilst looking at the wonderful garden & views and enjoying the peace & quiet. Their lovely dog kept us company too. Perfect! We loved it so much we hope to return for our anniversary next year.

Room Tip: We had the wonderful Button Room but I suspect all the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write - it was such a lovely morning sitting outside in the sunshine. Hope to see you on your anniversary. From us all at the outbuildings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed in the pink hut for our 23rd wedding anniversary. OK so those staying in the main building gave us a little smile when we went for dinner but - hey it was great fun! The hut is beautifully decorated. OK its a bit of a squash in the shower and there is no room for lots of clothes but with a tv and log burner, it is so romantic. Visiting the dining room the Food was delicious, the duck divine. Breakfast en famille in the huge bright kitchen was super. Really enjoyed the visit, and If staying, a visit to the national trust beach at Newborough is a must!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Oh sorry this is late replying but we are so glad you liked the glorious Pink Hut! It is bathed in sunshine as i write. Thank you for your review the encouragement and priase is great. From the outbuildings team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a fabulous setting with wonderful views. It was a little off the beaten track but so quiet and so very dark at night.
We were a little disconcerted by the very laid back manner of this place at first but then settled into it. This was almost perfect with only a few points to mention.
On arrival one of our group asked to borrow an iron which we didn't think was an unusual or unreasonable request but this seemed to be something of an imposition and, strangely, was not accompanied by an ironing board so she had to iron on a towel on the floor.
We had arranged to dine in on our first evening but were not aware that this was a fixed menu nor knew in advanced what the menu was - I have since checked their website and it doesn't advise of this and feel that it should be made clear. Fortunately most of the menu was agrreable to our group apart from the starter for 2 and it was a shame that no alternative was available.
We we were up until the wee small hours playing cards and when the last of the staff went home we were told to feel free to stay as long as we wanted which was ideal.
All rooms were spacious and individually decorated and our 'The Boys' room lived up to its promise from the website description. The large bed was so very comfortable and our large powerful shower was a delight.
Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked. On the second morning we ate in the kitchen which was much better as we were able to chat to the chef and other guests round the large kitchen table.
I would stay here again and recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: The Granary Steps is on the ground floor and has a stable door which made the room a little cold at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griffle1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the outbuildings and i am sorry we took so long to respond, we do offer a set menu chosen each morning and you should have been made aware of this when booking, i thought i when we emailed you so many apologies from me. We will keep an eye on the Granary Steps stable door being cold - this is the first time that has been reported so i will watch out. We hope to see you again and thank you for coming to stay and writing. from us all at the outbuildings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My Husband and I , joined by an old work colleague of my husband , enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Outbuildings, we stayed in the Button room , and the gentleman with us stayed in the Granary Steps. Both rooms were decorated to the highest standards, and with really comfy beds.
We stayed had dinner on both nights , and both the dinners and the breakfasts were excellent. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, and Cocoa the dog was a delight. We would highly recommend The Outbuildings , and hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and apologies that i have not responded, it seems ages ago now since chatting with you in the sunshine on the terrace. We hope that you can get back sometime and love from Cocoa!! she has just returned from doing what spaniels do best chasing a pheasant!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Blissfully quiet and stunning views: a perfect place to stay. The staff were incredibly helpful and accommodated my early starts without a fuss (I am a birdwatcher!). I cannot recommend The Outbuildings strongly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write, we all enjoyed your company as did Cocoa who was delighted you had breakfast outside!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
7.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,058 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
483 reviews
8.1 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
14.9 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Maen Hir Guest House
Maen Hir Guest House
#3 of 6 in Menai Bridge
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outbuildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outbuildings

Address: Bodowyr Menai Bridge | Llangaffo, Menai Bridge LL60 6NH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Menai Bridge
Price Range: $91 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the south-west corner of Anglesey, The Outbuildings provides luxurious and welcoming bed and breakfast accommodation. The setting is sublime - surrounded by tranquil farmland with glorious views of the Snowdonia mountains. Each of the five individually designed en-suite bedrooms has its own private outside entrance and includes a welcome tray with homemade cake or biscuits on arrival, small flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Outbuildings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outbuildings Hotel Menai Bridge
The Outbuildings Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing