We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful overnight stay on a long walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Outbuildings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Menai Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Outbuildings
Ranked #2 of 6 Menai Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful overnight stay on a long walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have been walking the Anglesey coast path for the last week, this was our last stopover and proved to be a real treat. We had prearranged a pick up from the coast path which was great as our tired legs wouldn't have made the extra miles. Our welcome was warm, the tea and almond cake much appreciated. We stayed in the Granary Steps which was stunningly decorated and had everything we needed. We were the only guests and so had what amounted to a 'private dining' experience - locally grown asparagus, local monkfish and delicious profiteroles all perfectly cooked. Breakfast was in the kitchen chatting to Francoise the chef which is a great idea. He even dropped us back onto our path all before 9am! We thought for the quality of accommodation and food this was very good value for money. We are already looking for an excuse to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. puts a smile on all our faces we are lucky to enjoy our work and to live on Anglesey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    22
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
122
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Wow! what a beautiful place this is. On arrival up a country lane the streeses and strains of everyday life drops off your shoulders. This little gem of a B&B is set amongst extremely picturesque and well kept grounds. With views far and wide, over to Snowdonia from one lawn, you really do feel like you have found that little slice of Paradise. The buildings themselves are done to an extremely high standard, as are the rooms within. We stayed in the Pink Spotty Jug, which was delightful. On arrival we were greated by the lovely Bun who showed us to our room which was modern, light and airy whilst retaining a cosy feeling, complimented by beautiful furnishings and some delightful homemade cake. Contrary to what you may have read in other reviews, there certainly is tea and coffee making facilities, accompanied by beautiful china cups and saucers! We decided to stay for the evening meal and we were NOT disappointed. All food is locally sourced, and the homegrown Asparagus was to die for. This was followed by one of the best Racks of Lambs I have ever tasted, melting in the mouth. The final treat of the night was the homemade sticky toffee pudding which was divine! there is an extensive wine list, with something for eveyones taste. The service, from Beth throughout the night, was second to none. After dinner we curled up on the large comfy sofas in the guest lounge with a blazing wodd burning stove and a gin & tonic to finish a perfect evening. We had the most comfortable night of sleep, with a huge comfy bed with only the sounds of the sheep to be heard. In the morning, breakfast is served in the kitchen which is a real touch of ingenuity. a Beautiful large modern kitchen with a huge country styled dining table and a Kings breakfast to suit. Again, all served magnificently.....all in all, I can honestly say one of, if not the, best accomodation I have stayed in within the UK. Bun who runs it really has thrown her all into it, and it shows! I cant wait to return...........

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are good! take your pick!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thompsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The only "bread and breakfast" about this place is the price. The building itself is beautifully restored converted from a dilapidated barn. The food is good from the very friendly chef. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The surrounding landscaping is tranquil and beautiful. Perfect for a break away from the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HongWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We hired huey the vw campervan for our honeymoon. We brought him back a day early as the weather wasn't great and stayed in the pink hut. The pink hut is just as described in previous reviews and it certainly different! We loved it, especially the log burning fire! Our favourite part of the whole stay was the dinner which we had in the outbuildings... It was truly amazing and we will remember it forever! This is such a unique venue. Judith the owner has maintained the character of the barn and has furnished it with brilliant taste. We will definitely be back and would recommend to anyone who is a little bored of hotel rooms which all look the same!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauracalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Button's room for two nights. The room was lovely and spacious and well furnished and the bed was large and so comfortable. The little touches made a difference like tea tray with fresh cake daily, water and mints . Just a couple of points but not criticisms: The little fridge was a nice touch to keep the milk fresh but it was a little noisy at night time so we turned it off, a mirror near to an electric socket would have helped with hair drying and the TV in the corner was a bit small for the room. Moving onto food: must admit I was a little concerned that the dinner menu was set, but worry not, the food was delicious and beautifully prepared, even had food we had not eaten before like Hake and Guinea Fowl which were lovely. I did get the impression though that an alternative would had been provided if the menu had not suited, as Hilary the Chef was very nice and discussed the menu at breakfast time. Breakfast was eaten in the fabulous kitchen at a communal table and cooked to order, a novel idea which we didn't relish, however it was fine and I can understand the thinking behind it. Perhaps given the choice though some people might prefer to eat downstairs at seperate tables.

Overall this weekend was one to treasure, the peaceful location and accommodation were very special as was the cuisine and outstanding friendliness of the staff.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jellyfloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in the Pink Hut. Although very compact the hut was cozy with a full double bed, shower room and log burning fire.

The outbuildings are in a lovely location and are definitely worth a visit. The breakfast and evening meal was lovely. At breakfast the guests sit around a farm house table and eat together. This did not bother me but it might bother others.

I suggested a couple of slight improvements to the hut to Beth. They include a mirror in the main part of the hut where there is a bare wall. The only other mirror is in the bathroom. A bigger sink would be a real benefit but we did manage. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the hut but if you go to the main building someone will make you one at no extra cost.

All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaLittleborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write, Francois is kneading as I write homemade bread will be on the breakfast table most days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at The Outbuildings for three nights, dinner bed and breakfast. They had put together a package that involved two days of bird watching.
I am not a bird watcher, my bird watching level is robins, blackbirds and in spring looking out for the first swallow.
What a super package.
The accommodation was of the highest level, warm (the weather was freezing) comfortable and homely. The food was very good quality, well cooked and we looked forward to our dinner each evening. I was not sure why we were served wonderful homemade bread each evening and shop bought bread for breakfast. The homemade bread was fabulous.
The bird watching was run by Nature Bites and I thoroughly recommend them, they were knowledgeable, professional and we had a very interesting time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yumyumCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your feed back mirror is a great idea, will try and find a suitable hut mirror, basin alas cannot be enlarged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
7.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outbuildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outbuildings

Property: The Outbuildings
Address: Bodowyr Menai Bridge | Llangaffo, Menai Bridge LL60 6NH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the south-west corner of Anglesey, The Outbuildings provides luxurious and welcoming bed and breakfast accommodation. The setting is sublime - surrounded by tranquil farmland with glorious views of the Snowdonia mountains. Each of the five individually designed en-suite bedrooms has its own private outside entrance and includes a welcome tray with homemade cake or biscuits on arrival, small flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations and WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Outbuildings Hotel Menai Bridge
The Outbuildings Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing