We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of The Outbuildings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Outbuildings
Ranked #2 of 6 Menai Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Make tracks for Llangaffo and The fantastic Outbuildings, be welcomed with a smile and a warmth that is rare these days. A beautifully converted barn, set in the landscape with breathtaking views of Snowdonia. Relax in front of an open fire before being served a beautifully, lovingly prepared meal. Lay your head upon soft sumptuous pillows and get the best nights sleep you ever dreamt of. On waking pop your head out and look towards the glorious mountains and marvel at the magical play of light, whether it is shafts of light through the clouds that hug the tops of the mountains or the clarity of the mountain peaks against a stunning blue sky it truly is a magical place to be

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobalobajob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    23
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
130
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just spent a night in The Boy's Room at The Outbuildings. The setting is remote but beautiful. Bun, the owner, was warm and welcoming and our room was large but cosy, with every attention to detail. Lovely! Breakfast was freshly prepared in front of us, tasty and substantial. Only one minor gripe, it would have been nice to have a kettle/tea tray in the bedroom as there is nowhere at all to get a hot drink, as after all this is a B & B, not a hotel. When we visit again- which we certainly will, the travel kettle will be first in the bag!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suegre60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and you have tipped the balance - hooray _ will start doing trays again. So no need to bring your kettle when you visit next! Bun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned from a lovely weekend here. The "Boys Room" was gorgeous - beautifully decorated, large and very comfortable. We had a lovely meal here the first night and afterwards relaxed by the log fire with a drink. The only criticism I would make and for me it is quite an important one - there are no coffee/tea making facilities in the bedrooms. We stay at a lot of B&Bs and I have never come across one that doesn't offer this. You get bottled water in your room, but only for the first night! Luckily we had brought bottled water with us for our walks. I would have given 5 stars but for the lack of refreshments in the room and won't return or recommend to family/friends for this reason.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THM1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You should have had two bottles of water - apologies that you did'nt you should have done. Unless a guest asks we do not put tea trays in the rooms, we do serve tea in the sitting room in the winter and in or outside in the summer between 4.00 and 5.30 - Judith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just had a Family weekend here which had been booked for some time.we could not have asked for anywhere better. The accommodation was first class and very tasteful with stunning views over to Snowdon.Joe looked after us as soon as we arrived on the Friday and could not have been more helpful over the weekend.The pink hut is very novel and cosy we had the wood burner going to keep it warm which it was ! One problem is the sat navigations do not pick up the postcode as being this location and the taxi firm got lost trying to find us but this is only a minor point really - just beware if using to get their in the first instance !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Beautiful, as everyone says. Just two issues. We stayed in the Pink Hut. The bed & furnishings were perfect, but no tea/coffee tray or room servicing, bed not made or towels changed. Evening meal, reflected local sourcing etc. but at £30 per head we would have expected something more than ice cream for dessert on 2 nights and having to pay for coffee as an 'extra'.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Outbuildings for a little Autumn break and were both thoroughly impressed. The staff have the exact right mix of professionalism and friendliness and were able to recommend an excellent restaurant for dinner (Dylan's in Menai Bridge) too. We were greeted by Bun the owner after a days sightseeing and offered a pot of tea and delicious cakes which were all complimentary. I can thoroughly recommend this Bed and Breakfast for couples and we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Outbuildings is the perfect place to stay for everyone. There's plenty of space and privicy combined with wonderful and really friendly staff who know exactly how to make you feel welcome and relaxed. It's lovely to have your own entrance to your room...makes it feel like a little apartment of your very own and each room is really beautifully decorated with cheerful and well balanced use of colour and charm, but with a clean and modern feel. The breakfasts are specially made to order with everything you like taken into account and cooked in front of you in the airy and homely kitchen dining room. Home made, locally sourced food is also available on request for a wonderful evening dining experience in the more formal restaurant. The views of Snowdonia are amazing from all angles. I had a real treat of a stay and the owner, 'Bun', made it very special. Everyone will enjoy a stay here and it is in a wonderful position for exploring the hidden delights of the area...Can't speak highly enough of it. Vanessa, Bath.

Room Tip: All are equally comfortable and beautifully, tastefully, decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
7.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
7.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
997 reviews
8.1 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
319 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
10.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 5 in Beaumaris
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outbuildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outbuildings

Property: The Outbuildings
Address: Bodowyr Menai Bridge | Llangaffo, Menai Bridge LL60 6NH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the south-west corner of Anglesey, The Outbuildings provides luxurious and welcoming bed and breakfast accommodation. The setting is sublime - surrounded by tranquil farmland with glorious views of the Snowdonia mountains. Each of the five individually designed en-suite bedrooms has its own private outside entrance and includes a welcome tray with homemade cake or biscuits on arrival, small flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Outbuildings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outbuildings Hotel Menai Bridge
The Outbuildings Anglesey/Menai Bridge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing