We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Outbuildings
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Menai Bank Hotel(Caernarfon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Celtic Royal Hotel(Caernarfon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Boy Inn(Caernarfon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Port Dinorwic(Y Felinheli)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
201
24
11
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
201
24
11
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink hutboys roomb bother guestsshepherd's huthome made cakeshigh standardon arrivalcoffee and cakelittle touchesthe main housevery special placeget togetherattention to detailevening mealrelaxing weekenddining room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 243 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My family and I have just spent two nights at the Outbuildings and we loved every minute of it. The grounds are immaculate and the rooms are just beautiful. As we were a party of nine, we occupied every room available and each one was as tastefully decorated and as spotlessly clean as the last. Such a treat. We dined in twice and thoroughly enjoyed our food.
We were also able to have a game of tennis as bats and balls were provided. Great fun on a summer's evening even though we were all hopeless!!
Thank you to all the staff, young and not so young(!) for such a lovely couple of days which we will always remember fondly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Well, we arrived later than planned due to car playing up and were met by the family offering to help us unload (much appreciated, but unnecessary) as we had a 2 year old and 2 month old... The room was beautiful, with a lovely big bathroom, and gorgeous little teddy on the toddler bed delighted our two year old. Lovely tea tray with homemade cake and other goodies, delicious breakfast in the morning before we headed to the ferry about half an hour away. We just wished we had had more time and had stayed longer. We may well use it as a base for a future holiday, and it would be idyllic as a wedding venue or just a big party, i honestly can't rate it highly enough, and no, I have no links at all to the place! Oh and they let our (admittedly well behaved) border terrier sleep in her basket in the room rather than the car, so extra brownie points for that, although they may not thank me for saying so! Just perfect! Keep on doing what you're doing - Stylish, comfortable and well thought out. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrietF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

A fantastic and warm welcome on arrival from all of the staff at The Outbuildings on a sunny Saturday afternoon. I have never stayed anywhere quite like this before and I can honestly say that I have never eaten such delicious food - the brownies are incredible! Breakfast is served in the kitchen by the very friendly, knowledgable and excellent chef. The main building is beautifully done, warm and welcoming and very tastefully decorated. We stayed in the fantastic and romantic Pink Hut - a private outbuilding all of its own.

Would highly recommend a stay here. The food is creative, personalised and very impressive. The bed was so comfortable I slept all morning! We will be back!

Room Tip: The Pink Hut is excellent for younger couples
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haveshoes_musttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed in April 2011 when I was 36 weeks pregnant!

Absolutely stunning location and pretty isolated. All you can hear are the birds and the sheep! Breakfast was good but for the price we had paid, we expected the spread and the portions to be bigger and better.

The rooms were well appointed and spotless. Loved the decor, and the complimentary cakes/ muffins we would find in our rooms every evening. All in all it was a fantastic weekend for us. I would love to come back but given the price, I would be tempted to look for a cheaper alternative or some place as expensive but offering better value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Granary steps, but believe the best is The Boys' Room.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingParomita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Hidden away in rural Anglesey (Ynys Mon) lies The Outbuildings- a barn conversion set up with it's bright pink shephers hut out front. A wonderful restaurant and truly stunning lounges and bedroom, this is Wales' best kept secret. You will feel special from the minute you are welcomed by Anna and by the natural features of the conversion balanced with modern and bright, tasteful furnishings. Open fires, wooden floors and floor to ceiling windows with views across open fields, with snowdonia as a backdrop. When you finally drag yourself to bed, you will be engulfed by cosiness. A soft bed and feather duvets and pillows, the pampering does not stop. Homemade biscuits, fresh milk and boutique toiletries in the contemporary bathrooms. What more could you want? With peace and tranquility and the warmest welcome, I will be back v v soon. Thank you all. A true gem. Thank you for the fairtrade coffee too!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonsi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews