We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

The Straits Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 36 Restaurants in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Welsh, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wirral
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Went here with my partner for the early doors menu mid-week... We had the soup for starters which was very nice... Then we ordered the steak for our main course... This was confusing as you only had a choice of steak with chips or steak with vegetables .... I questioned the staff about this and yes they confirmed that the steak only came with either and if you ordered the steak with veg then you had to order the chips as a side order !!!!! WHAT!!!! Who only orders steak with veg at the end at the end of the day ... This really pushes the price up but we did as was advised .... When the main arrived they made a mistake with 1 as we asked for no sauce on 1 of the steaks for which they had forgotten so we had to wait for another one to be cooked while mine sat In front of me going cold.... The steak in the end was beautifully cooked and was really lovely but what a real let down the so called veg was .... A table spoon of mashed up carrots and a couple of small slices of courgette ... The Chips were over cooked and again small in portion ... It's a shame as it let the whole meal down ... We had sticky toffee pudding for dessert which was nice but again small ..... We had 1 drink each, 1 being an orange juice and the bill was over £65.00.... For early doors and for what we received we found this to be not worth what we paid ... The staff are lovely but the food and price is not.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    67
    23
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Been here quite a few times, always had lovely food, staff very pleasant, defiantly should be on your list of places to go in this village

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnifferDogBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Visited The Straits on 29-10-2013. Just turned up hoping they had a table. Went with my wife and 11 yr old son. The service was impeccable from our arrival to departure. The staff could not have been more welcoming. The food was excellent. The shoulder of lamb, from the set menu, was the best lamb dish I have ever had...I'm 52 and travelled a lot over the years. We had a bottle of the house red, which had been chosen well and complimented our food. Both my wife and son greatly enjoyed their meals. So thank you Lucy and Phil and all your staff for a really enjoyable experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveDavies411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wandel
Level Contributor
305 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Worth making a special journey for this gem!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food and service at incredibly reasonable prices. Great menu (we struggled to choose!) and everything we had was very tasty. Nice size portions. We had the early set menu, very good value (but the a la carte wasn't much more). Uses local produce and has lots of daily specials (soup, fish etc - even a fudge of the day!). Staff were super friendly and helpful, checking everything was ok without being intrusive. Lovely touches like home made hot fresh rolls and refilling the water jug without being asked. Best restaurant we've found in Wales!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llanfairpwllgwyngyll
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We chose from the Early Bird menu; lovely food and good value for money.
Lucy, the owner is very organised and the service from the front of house is impeccable, efficient and friendly.
Just a minor niggle; maybe the décor upstairs could do with a bit of a makeover; it’s a bit of a blank canvas.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sianr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Straits Restaurant also viewed

 
Menai Bridge, Anglesey
 

Been to The Straits Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing