We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent, interesting food”

The Straits Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
north wales
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Consistent, interesting food”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We visit The Straits fairly regularly and are never disappointed. There is always something unusual on the menu as well as crowd pleasers such as ribeye. This time it was crispy pig cheeks, on a previous occasion soft shelled crab. Two members of our party thoroughly enjoyed the oriental taster starter which tasted as good as it looked. Vegetarians are not forgotten. We were glad to see that it was fully booked the night we went.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWalesFellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    70
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gwynedd, North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food, brilliant service, highly recommend.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

As a party of 14 we booked Straits for a special birthday and the evening/food/service was excellent. The candle in the dessert was a lovely touch. We all thoroughly enjoyed the varied choice of menu and, in my opinion, second to none along the North Wales Coast. The service was friendly and efficient and the food arrived piping hot! Mouthwatering experience, can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fast becoming a favourite”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Bee to this restaurant a few times now, and it's always been excellent. I've only every been to take advantage of the fixed price menu so I can't comment on the a la carte. The fixed price menu is excellent value for money, and changes quite regularly, so despite being a few times, I have been able to enjoy choosing from a different menu each time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robkbangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale, lancs
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, brilliant service!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were on a break on Anglesey over Easter and were based just round the corner in Menai Bridge. It was my 50th and we were looking for somewhere special to celebrate it. We were not disappointed. We went on a Tuesday evening and enjoyed the midweek special of two courses for £13.95. Both starters and main courses were faultless. Choices were excellent, with some imaginative, Cajun / southern american influences upon traditional favourites. Accompanying wines and beers were good value and all in all we had a very enjoyable evening. Service was enthusiastic and friendly, and it was clear the owners and staff have a passion for their business. Highly recommended if you are in the area

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rochdalians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“different”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

very pleasant, efficient staff for whom nothing is too much trouble
delightfully different starters and mains
spacious and light

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baldeaglejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Straits Restaurant also viewed

Menai Bridge, Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Anglesey
 

Been to The Straits Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing