We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Were we just "unlucky"?”
Review of The Anglesey Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anglesey Arms
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Overall, we were a little disappointed with our stay at the Anglesey Arms. One very positive thing we must say firstly is that the standard of the make-over that the hotel has had is superb. All the decor & fittings were of very high quality & sturdy construction. The first thing that surprised us was the size of our double room. It was really only big enough to be a single & there wasn't even room for a bedside table at each side of the bed. Maybe we were unlucky as the chart on our wall showed most of the other bedrooms to be larger but you shouldn't have "unlucky". In complete contrast, the well-appointed bathroom was a lovely size.

Whilst one might expect some noise from beer chillers/extracts when staying at a pub, perhaps again we were "unlucky" with our room as the noise from outside our window was worse than we'd ever experienced before. Luckily, it was winter so we could close the window to keep some of it out but it would have been awful in summer. Looking at the installation the next morning, perhaps the services of a good M&E engineer are required to provide proper noise attenuation to this, admittedly, vital equipment?

At breakfast again, perhaps we were just "unlucky". We went down to breakfast at 9am but no breakfast arrived until ten to ten. The reason was a large party of 16 arriving for breakfast just before us. There was only one girl serving & the poor lass was rushed off her feet. No attempt seemed to have been made by the management to cater for such a large number at breakfast time. Obviously, they may not have been staying at the hotel, in which case perhaps we were just "unlucky"? It has to be said that when the food finally did arrive the quality was very high, except that my requested poached eggs appeared to have been fried & the toast order arrived neither before, during or after the meal. We didn't bother to complain because having waited nearly an hour we didn't want any further delay as we had a long distance to travel.

All the staff we met were most polite & friendly; so, perhaps in our overall experience we were just "unlucky"?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalcHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your review.
we are an old refurbished building which means that we can only work within the confines of what we have. we have 2 grades of double room we let out. depending upon the timing of your booking you may be upgraded. on this occasion you were in our last room. unless the hotel is purpose built, every hotel has this room. I am sorry you were here, but it was our last room.
The positioning of the equipment is again due to the structure of the building. I do not recall ever having a complaint about the machine noise from that room. again I am sorry but it was the last room.

Breakfast was a fiasco due to the lack of control of a duty manager the evening before and I am very sorry this affected your stay.

kind regards
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 483 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

It was a friends birthday. We'd heard good things about the food at The Anglesey Arms, Menai Bridge and as there is plenty of parking and it's centrally located, booked a table for 11 of us.

The table was ready for us on arrival in a good position. We sat and waited. Unfortunately, nobody came to take our drink order or to offer us menus. We ordered drinks at the bar and after half an hour asked for menus. It took some time for the waitress to come and take our order. On the plus side, when our main courses arrived they were lovely.

Again the Customer Service failed when it came to ordering desserts and coffee. We waited over an hour and it was only once prompted that a girl came over to take our orders and clear the main course dishes. The puddings were delicious but the coffee was pretty poor.

Nobody came to our table to ask if we needed anything throughout the meal. We could have walked out without paying. It was almost like we were invisible. As we were putting our coats on to go, we had to request the bill as again we were being ignored. Our payment was left on the table and we had to ask a member of staff to take the money from the table, which appeared to be a bit of an effort on her part!

In fairness to The Anglesey Arms, it was a busy evening in the pub. Maybe they were low on staff, but that does not excuse the shoddy way we were treated. We didn't want to be pampered but basic customer service would have been good.

It didn't appear that anybody was in charge of over seeing the requirements of customers ordering/eating food and maybe this is something that the management need to address to be certain of repeat local custom.

On reflection I'm disappointed in my experience of The Anglesey Arms Hotel, after hearing positive comments, I had expected a lot better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SamSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We met friends for an evening meal. Our friends commented that the prices had risen since they visited last. However we felt that the meal represented good value, and the service was good. The vegetarian option was excellent.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Visited the Anglesey New Years eve. Selected the fish and chips and other members in the party selected other options from the menu. Excellent quality and portions sizes. All in all well worth a visit thanks guys

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gow768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Visited here with my elderly grandparents from London and I must say I was very happy! The food was cooked to a high standard and beautifully presented with just enough to fill you. My grandmother had the smoked salmon started and fish and chips main which she enjoyed very much as did my grandfather with his soup and steak, I had fishcakes which were beautiful and the pork belly which was to die for!
The service received from the staff was warm and friendly with nothing being to much bother for them. We were offered drink refiles at the table which was lucky as the bar was very busy. One of the local waitresses was very helpful with giving us advise of places to visit and things to do as we were down and had plenty of time for us and all our questions even though she was very busy.
Safe to say I will defiantly be returning next time I am down.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Friendofal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Booked a table a couple of weeks in advance. Busy in the bar on arrival but not at the tables. Warm welcome from Reception and our waitress. Unfortunately from there it went downhill. We were very hungry after travelling for a few hours so ordered the chicken terrine to share which was bland and the ‘piccalilli’ with it was just mini cauliflower florets. For the main I chose the rack of lamb. At £17.95 I expected a rack, not 2 fiddly cutlets which were stringy and tasteless. He chose pork belly which was ok although the crackling was overdone and very difficult to eat. We also ordered a side order of chips which were hard so I let the waitress know. She actually squashed 2 chips between her fingers at the table to test them before disappearing into the kitchen with them! A replacement bowl arrived a few mins later. Some were cooked but some were still hard. My husband managed to finish my meal as I couldn’t. In hindsight we should have complained there and then but we were so disappointed we just paid and left. We've always made this a port of call on arrival on Anglesey, never again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank bluelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Booked for our New Year's Eve early afternoon lunch and had a lovely meal. The staff where very friendly and had plenty of time even though the place was busy. The food was of excellent standard and very well presented and complimented by a very reasonably priced wine list. This was our first visit but certainly won't be our last

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Robintillbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
1.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,063 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
19.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
378 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
765 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglesey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglesey Arms

Address: Mona Road, Menai Bridge LL59 5EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range: $106 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anglesey Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Anglesey Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglesey Arms Hotel Menai Bridge
The Anglesey Arms Menai Bridge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing