We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended !”
Review of The Anglesey Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anglesey Arms
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed for two nights recently. Breakfast and service good and also evening meals on offer... very large, comfortable and modern room (214), good breakfast and evening menu choice... very good value for hotel stay of this standard, and staff and manager courteous and helpful... will be back here whenever I visit Anglesey again, Thanks to the manager who helped with info and directions to the Motorcycle "Trans Mon" track... nice place and staff you have...see you soon !

Geoff & Janet Wilson

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeofftheChef37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

I am very happy you had such a great time.
Always a pleasure to help a fellow petrol head.
I hope all went well on the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 483 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have been staying at The Anglesey Arms during regular short trips to Anglesey over the last few years. Its becoming a little home from home. The rooms are well prepared, comfortable and warm. The food has always been good, breakfast especially well done. Great location for an early morning walk along the Menai Straits, with great views of the two bridges.

Room Tip: Caemaes Bay Room has a double aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wispa133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for your review.
It is always great to share this kind of review with the team as you stay with us so often and enjoy it so much.
It always puts a smile on everyone's face!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our friendship group (6) stayed for 4 nights. The accommodation was excellent - tastefully decorated, clean and well presented. Wide choice for breakfast - including a massive full Welsh !
Evening meals were good quality and included 25% introductory discount - excellent value.
Situated next to Telfords Menai Bridge, the location suited us well - some walked in Snowdonia, some visited historical sites, some tried local walks - things within easy reach which addressed all our needs.
Staff were very helpful and friendly - especially Katie who went the extra mile to ensure our stay was enjoyable and memorable, despite our occasional rowdiness !!!
Eric, the manager was also friendly and more than willing to engage with his guests.
We had a great time - be warned - we WILL return !!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyYoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

I am so happy that you all enjoyed yourselves.
it was a pleasure looking after you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lived up to expectations from other reviews. Room very comfortable and breakfast really good. Would recommend the hotel. Nice location and quiet considering position on roundabout. perhaps a little overpriced compared to other places we have stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am very sorry you found us to be expensive, as we do benchmark our pricing against comparable hotels in the area, and endeavour to always be cheaper than anywhere of the same quality.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a last minute deal as we were visiting family in the area . Décor and furnishings are pleasantly modern (but not clinical), the rooms are very clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the food is good - so it ticked pretty much all of our boxes! If you are looking for a quiet get away this may not be the place for you as the rooms are above a popular bar and it was quite noisy; but this wasn't a concern for us at all and we slept well. We'd definitely stay here again (and the pub opposite is worth a visit too!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkDolly101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for your review.
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay last minute on Anglesey and I must say we were very very happy with The Anglesey Arms. The pub was clean, friendly and has a nice atmosphere. Our room (#108) was stunning. Very spacious, beautifully decorated with fresh coffee making facilities which was lovely. The bathroom was great, with the biggest, most luxurious deep corner bath I have ever used! The staff were friendly, polite and helpful and breakfast, which was tasty and plentiful with lots of choice was served in a lovely morning room. My only criticism is that some of the breakfast bowls were not clean and I had to look through the pile until I found a clean one. Overall, this was a super last minute find, which we would definitely recommend and return to!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janej211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, I have shared its contents with the team.

I have also reviewed our wash up area and breakfast station set up so no one else should ever encounter a dirty bowl at breakfast.

thanks for the heads up!

We all hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had an evening meal, and a room. The food is average, the fish was bland, as was the paella. In bed at 11am, real noisy room, like having a disco in the corridor. Can even hear the Dyson hand dryer in the public toilet whirring away. Not good, hope the music ends soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, I would be interested in knowing the room number you stayed in so we can identify any resolutions to the noise you suffered from.

We ask every customer upon departure if they had a good nights sleep and we record any negative responses. I have not seen any of the issues you raise here in our log so I would be interested in talking to you directly.

with regards the food, again we ask if everything was ok with your meal at the table and upon payment or processing to your room, and again in the morning on departure, I have nothing logged here either.

Our Paella is extremely popular and is in fact one of my favourites, I am suprised to hear it described as bland. Again, if we get feedback immediately we can resolve the problem and also pick out any issues to prevent them occurring for other customers.
Our fish dishes change almost daily depending upon suppliers, and again I would need to speak with you further to gain any information so I can make an assessment of what may have gone wrong with that particular dish.
I would sincerely love to get your indepth feedback .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
1.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,063 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
19.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
378 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
765 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglesey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglesey Arms

Address: Mona Road, Menai Bridge LL59 5EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range: $106 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anglesey Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Anglesey Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglesey Arms Hotel Menai Bridge
The Anglesey Arms Menai Bridge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing