We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Anglesey Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Anglesey Arms
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the Anglesey Arms for 3 nights with our 2 dogs, and can not find a negative thing to say about the hotel, the staff were excellent a really friendly bunch of people. The food was again excellent and value for money. Thought the rooms were very comfortable, am quite fussy about my pillows but must say I slept like a baby, all rooms tastefully decorated. The situation of the hotel was great for us with the dogs right at the end of the Menai Bridge we had some lovely walks first thing of a morning and at night and saying that never heard any traffic in the room. Would we go back!! You bet roll on September looking forward to it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your Fantastic review.
we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    151
    71
    34
    33
See reviews for
117
163
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bala, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food is nice but poor value for money, as the ultra fancy plates they use have obviously been cleverly chosen to restrict the amount of food one can present on it, in other words, the portions are very small.

For the two of us .... a starter followed by a main course and one alcoholic beverage each and we were already up to £77.60p ..... we skipped the sweet!

Found it a little uncomfortable being asked if everything was OK every 10 minutes.
We would not go there again i don't think.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
I am very sorry you didn't find your experience satisfactory.
I would love to discuss your experience with you directly especially to ascertain what were the poor value meals on the menu.
I am also perplexed as to how you were charged so much for your meals as I get to £52 as an average.
I look forward to discussing with you directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a birthday party here recently and would recommend it as a venue The staff were all friendly and attentive. We had also booked a room for the night, we had a lovely room at the front of the hotel which was large and very comfortable. Many guests commented on how helpful the car park attendant was.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your, which I have shown to the team.
It brought a smile to most of the teams faces especially Brian our car Park attendant, who is really an unsung hero.

Thanks again

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We went to The Anglesey Arms in Menai Bridge, as the prize for winning Bride of the Month, in a local paper. It was a very comfortable place to eat, for families as well as couples. The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The price was on par with a good eaterie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and congratulations on your Bride of The Month Prize.

It is great to know you had a good evening with us.

we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Was looking forward to eating here as I heard great reviews.
Menu looked great and we placed our orders.

Unfortunately it took aaaaaages for the food to come out.
The waitress came after a while and asked if everything was ok.
Fine.

She later came to clear the table, took 3 plates (out of 7)...
20mins or more later she came to clear the rest and finally asked if we wanted anything else...
"no thanks - we're kind of past it now"

she lost sales for desserts and coffee...more fool her.

Food was great but service inefficient and slow.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHughes568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
I would love to speak to you directly to review your comments.
I am very sorry we did not meet with expectation on the day.

Kind regards
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysilio, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I visited The Anglesey Arms with a bunch of friends. We had food but I found the menu to be very fish oriented and found it hard to choose something for myself (not being a fish lover). I found the menu to be very pricey and more of a show piece on your plate than actual food.
As it was busy I found some staff could cope with the stress of a busy atmosphere but I also encountered some slightly rude waiting staff and one bar man. One member of staff called Hayley was very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your review
I am shocked to find our menu didn't satisfy your needs and would love to know what you would have liked to see extra to the dishes there.
I would also like to know which meals you ate that were not of a satisfactory nature so we can either improve on them or increase their size.
As we have real chefs who cook locally sourced food it is essential any issues of this kind are dealt with by us in a detailed way.
as you will have noticed we have the saying ' if you enjoyed it tell everyone, if not tell us' in numerous areas around the building.
I look forward to speaking to you directly

Kind regards
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The staff were most welcoming, helpful and accommodating. The rooms although recently refurbished are first rate, clean modernised and with comfortable beds. The main bar/lounge area retained its character complete with a wood burning stove. The food and service in the bar/restaurant serving large portions is excellent. We would thoroughly recommend the Anglesey Arms at Menai Bridge for business trips or short stays or as a base for viewing the Snowdonia area. The one drawback is the stairs are steep for those less able!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonloon103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review
we all enjoyed your company for the period you were with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sorry about the stairs to the rooms, but you never know maybe next year............................

Kind regards

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
1.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
997 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
16.0 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 5 in Beaumaris
718 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglesey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglesey Arms

Property: The Anglesey Arms
Address: Mona Road, Menai Bridge LL59 5EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anglesey Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Anglesey Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglesey Arms Hotel Menai Bridge
The Anglesey Arms Menai Bridge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing