We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”
Review of The Anglesey Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Anglesey Arms
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Cardiff, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night on business. Hotel was booked by my company. Website said en suite rooms with jacuzzi baths. My room had a power shower only. I know it was only a single room but the website did not say that only certain rooms had jacuzzi baths. After 5 hours on the train I was looking forward to a soak. I had a room on the first floor at the front. Could hear the noise from the restaurant and also smell the food cooking. Also had quite a bit of road noise. The decoration in the room was very nice, the curtains were very thick but they wouldn't stay closed so I also had headlights from the cars shining onto my bed through the gap. Breakfast was very nice but evening meal was not the best I have had. Glad I was only there for one night.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is better as are rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tolblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    151
    71
    34
    33
See reviews for
117
163
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Booked this hotel just for one night but could have stayed all week. The staff are helpful and friendly with the added bonus of a carpark attendant to make sure paying hotel customers have a carparking space. The room was spotlessly clean and extremely well presented with tasteful decor and furniture. The food served in the restaurant was excellent,offering a wide menu choice at a reasonable price. The atmosphere in the bar and restaurant was relaxed but had a nice buss about the place. Breakfast time was also well catered for with plenty of polite , well turned out staff. Out and about, the hotel is well situated to explore north wales and anglesey with some nice little walks nearby along the Menai straits. I can't speak highly enough about this hotel and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I would not recommend anyone eat here!! The service was slow and the food was dry and very small portions. Very over priced. I would recommend the Bridge Inn across the road!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jlk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This Hotel has just under gone a massive refurb, it has been done to a really high specification and the rooms are really lovely. However please do not book here if you would like to get to sleep before 1am. We stayed in room 104 which was right above the bar and could not get to sleep. This is also situated on a round about which can also keep you awake both at night and in the morning. Also we felt a little neglected at breakfast time as the service wasn't great. This was a real shame as i was really excited when we arrived and the place was so lovely.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not directly about the bar area if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed just for one Saturday night on a family visit and booked the Anglesy Arms purely on location and a reasonable room rate. It is the first buidling over the Menai Bridge and easy parking is to the side and behind the hotel. Check in was easy and the room was fantastic. It was spotlessly clean and may have been recently decorated, the decor and furnishings are refreshingly creative - someone has put a lot of effort into ambience of this room and the overall result was really relaxing, nice bay window/seating also made the room feel airy and light (Room 214 - Beamaris Room).

Didn't get to eat in the restaurant as we left it too late to book and this place is deservedly busy, did manage a few drinks in the bar late on and it was still busy past midnight.

All the staff we dealt with, check in, bar staff, breakfast waitress were very smartly turned out, freindy and polite.

Would I stay there again - definately !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonLMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed here on a recent business trip for the second time in 6 months. Excellent stay and really well appointed hotel since its refurb (I stayed here years ago when it was less good!!).

Rooms are really comfy and well decorated with brand new furniture. Bed comfy. Only issue though is that if you get a room above the bar and at the front of the hotel like I did don't expect to get to sleep before midnight as the bar is a bit io a locals haunt and so unlike other deathly, soul destroying hotel bars, this one stays quite busy until late into the night. Likewise in the morning its an early start in the front rooms as the hotel overlooks one of the busiest roundabouts on the island and even the double glazed windows can't keep the constant roar of traffic out.

Bar is excellent, well stocked with a good range of beers and excellent real ales. Can highly recommend the Dragons Teeth/Breath/Wings or whatever it was called.

Food is at the higher end of good pub grub so tasty and filling and breakfast was hot and pretty good. Enjoyed the pub quiz too even though didn't even come close to winning.

All round would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are not at the front or imeediately over the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank culturevulture_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Most of our food was great. I say most because not all was up to scratch. Namely the Lasagne. In short it was way over spiced with mixed herbs or thyme. It was the childrens menu lasagne and my boy didin't touch it. The pasta was uncooked in places and some of the mince was crusty. It shouldn't have been served. The Creme brulee contained a fig. It didn't say so on the menu. It looked like an off mushroom squashed in the bottom. Apple crumble turned out to be apple and plum. All in all very good compared to last time we ate there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
1.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
997 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
16.0 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 5 in Beaumaris
718 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglesey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglesey Arms

Property: The Anglesey Arms
Address: Mona Road, Menai Bridge LL59 5EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anglesey Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Anglesey Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglesey Arms Hotel Menai Bridge
The Anglesey Arms Menai Bridge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing