We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveler rating
435
207
103
29
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
435
207
103
29
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clock tower steam room italian restaurant on arrival four poster afternoon tea sea salt beautiful hotel sat nav set in beautiful grounds fine dining bottle of prosecco relaxing break wedding breakfast changing rooms large pool red squirrels
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 799 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip on a Monday and Tuesday night(Sept 10th/11th) with 8 rooms booked.

Reception staff were excellent!! Could not do enough for us.

The main restaurant staff were also very good and accommodating to our needs. We had a late dining request, and the chef met our needs perfectly, and it was nice to hear of the positive plans the kitchen have moving forward, looking to target a rossette. I thought it was great that the chef made himself available to discuss our requirements.Great that they have targets.

The rooms were beautiful(No 17), with character and high quality house keeping. All our guests praised their rooms.

Spa facility is well kept and fantastic.

Unfortunatley on arrival we took lunch in the clocktower with a very restricted menu, and then after ordering 5 salmons were told they had none. I accept this can happen after a busy weekend. More worrying was that we came across a waitress/bar person with attitude not befitting of such a nice establishment.I think she must have had a bad weekend.

However, the clocktower visit did not distract from the excellent attitude of all other staff we met, in a really nice stay.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
2  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is old and dated but is clean and the food is lovely, the spa and pool are very good and would recommend it to anyone. All the staff were very good and nothing was to much trouble. Location is good for touring round Anglesey.

Stayed: September 2018
3  Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tre-Ysgawen is a lovely old Manor House in lovely grounds. It has the old Manor House charm in its decor so don’t expect modern, which is what we like. First impression was quite good, although the hand rails down all the corridors did remind me of an old people’s home! Our room was a little disappointing, expected a little more for a superior room. We had our own terrace which would have been nice to sit out had we had two chairs and a table. The valance on the bed was very tired and cushions dressing the bed might as well have not been there and did not give a good impression, it was clean. I did book a fine dining meal as it was my husbands birthday but the service was lacking and the quality of the food was very poor. A rip off for £98! Waitress asked if we needed anything else when the main course was served and it was obvious that we did not have cutlery! It is quite clear that staff need more training in all aspects. Ambience needs addressing as there was none! Music when dining would be nice as muted lighting unsung the lovely lamps in the library after dinner should have been on and not left to one of the other guests to sort out! The spa was very nice and the pool lovely shame we couldn’t get any treatments booked. We decided not to waste £30 extra on breakfast!

Stayed: September 2018
2  Thank WhiteRoseSandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just got back from our third visit to this hidden gem in Anglesey. Went for a weekend break and were not disappointed.
Reception staff very welcoming. Spa fantastic. Room clean and comfortable. Food was excellent. Some concerns about breakfast and the receptionist dealt with my issue quickly and efficiently.
This hotel is a true hidden gem if you want to be made to feel special and spoilt.
Despite my issue we will be visiting again soon

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank laskeykathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

The hotel has a stately home feel to it, with grounds to explore and comfortable classical decorated lounges. We stayed in a room in the gallery area, furnished with an antique wardrobe and dressing table. The room had all the facilities expected in a hotel of this standard, and also good wifi connectivity.
The spa had the best indoor pool I've ever used in a hotel, good size and temperature. Children over 6 only are allowed in the pool, but only at certain times of the day.
We ate in "The Grill ". Excellent traditional food cooked to our taste. Very traditional decor in the dining room and very good service, finished off with coffee served in the library.
Generally a very relaxing stay and I would be happy to return.

Room Tip: If you love the traditional feel, choose room in the gallery overlooking the gardens
Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews