We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel(Llanfairpwllgwyngyll)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Anglesey Arms(Menai Bridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Menai Bridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auckland Arms(Menai Bridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Chateau Rhianfa(Menai Bridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveler rating
413
197
95
29
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
413
197
95
29
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclock towersteam roomitalian restaurantmain restauranton arrivalfour posterafternoon teasea saltbeautiful hotelsat navset in beautiful groundsbottle of proseccofine diningrelaxing breakwine listchanging roomscooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
572 - 577 of 755 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

booked the lazy summer spa day for myself and my mother end of August as a birthday treat, the staff were very welcoming and proffesional as always, spent time relaxing in the sauna,steam room ,jacuzzi and the pool. sat on the loungers with a hot chocolate what more could you ask for.
included in the price of £55.00 each was an express traetment of 25 mins i had an express facial which was lovely and my mother had a kiwi body polish which she said was lovely and she smelt lovely afterwards, also included was afternoon tea which complied of a sandwich a warm drink and a cake , i had the scone with fresh cream & jam yum and my mother had the carrot cake , the only thing is that it didnt come on the cake stand which i like as it looks nicer

I come every year to use the spa around my birthday and it never disapoints

1 suggestion maybe more than 1 toilet in teh changing rooms

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmamay111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

I am glad you enjoyed your day spa day - look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for the night on business and got a good rate on laterooms.com. If I'd have paid £180 I'd have asked for some money back. I agree with the review provided previously (£180 a room). It's a lovely building in well kept grounds with a nice spa, but otherwise very outdated with much need of a refurbishment. There was plenty of choice at breakfast, but it was a fairly average standard and the filter coffee wasn't very nice. Yet another grand location that when you peel the lid off, reveals a tired interior with substandard quality.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Rupert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thanks for the feedback, some bedrooms have been refurbished and plans are to do some more as soon as possible. I will have a look into the filter coffee as normally guests quite enjoy the coffee. One again thanks for the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have real mixed feelings about this place. The house is quite grand and dark inside, downstairs is well maintained and decorated. The staff were all amazing from check in to restaurant service. Dinner was great value at £35 per head and breakfast excellent quality, choice and quantity. The spa looks lovely, friends used the pool and sauna and said they were very good. The only think that let it down was the cost of the rooms which were very expensive at £180ish per night B&B, when they look in needed of decoration and a little modernisation. There was wallpaper coming away from the walls in the bedroom, the bathroom was very worn with no brass left on the taps and the grout having black patches. It all looked very late eighties/early nineties.

Room Tip: Check to see if there are any refurbished rooms and do check the spa out:-)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thanks for your feedback Glad you had a pleasent stay - We have refurbished some bedrooms and as you can imagine it all takes time. I will pass your comments on to the General Manager and also the maintenance team. Once again thanks for the feedback, and we hope you will visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We visited here for a day use of the Spa, the price is £30 for the whole day which I believe is inflexible as I tend to spend no more than 2 hours. An introduction of a 1/2 day Spa pass would be better.

There is an expansive gym which offers all of the equipment you would be likely to find in a commercial gym, without the crowds and a much better atmosphere. The pool is large and perfect for swimming laps, the jacuzzi is excellent although could get crowded with more than 4 people. The salt inhalation and steam rooms are fantastic, with the salt one in particular having a unique button you can press for Halen Mon sea salt. An ice fountain has also been added which is great for cooling down after using either of the above, and the cold drench experience shower which has some great smelling scents and 3 different experience to choose from.

Upon arrival towels, robes and slippers were provided. There is also a small poolside drinks only menu, however to order you must use an intercom system which meant having to go back into the changing rooms. Another downside of this system is that the drinks must be paid for right away, therefore it meant a number of trips having to first get the money and then take the change back. The water machine in the gym only had paper cone cups, these should be taken out right away as they cannot be placed down and means having to throw them away each time.

Overall the staff are excellent and the spa facilities are better than that of many 5 star hotels with an extremely relaxed atmosphere. Some comfier loungers would also be good.. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thanks for the feedback and glad you enjoyed your time at the spa. Just to comment on a few things you said. It is annoying that drinks have to be paid for straight away but in the past we have had guests just leave without paying for their drinks, which has spoilt it for everyone else. Also with the paper cones, this is due to health and saftey so plastic disposable cups aren't left lying around for guests to know over or spill over the equipment. I am glad you had a pleasent time though, and hope to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My friend and I whilst on holiday in North Wales went to Tre-Ysgawen Hall for a spa day. We booked the Taste of the Spa package. I was very impressed with the lunch and the pool and jacuzzi, steam room etc was all very nice. We had tea and scones which were reasonably priced and very nice. I had a back massage which was excellent. Most of the staff were excellent and very friendly. However, my overall impression of the place was really affected by the fact that the showers were really not nice. The had mould in them! I just couldn't bring myself to use them. Such a shame because everything else was lovely but this really let it down.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am glad in general that your spa day was good and that you enjoyed. I am however dissapointed to hear about the showers and can only apologise. I have spoken with the spa manager and staff and have asked them to review there training of cleanliness and to implement cleaning records. I do hope you will visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews